We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance and decor.”

Old Town Italy Umhlanga
Ranked #12 of 128 Restaurants in Umhlanga Rocks
Description: Old Town Italy Umhlanga is an italian-style deli and restaurant serving authentic Italian pizzas, pastas and more.
Restaurant details
Description: Old Town Italy Umhlanga is an italian-style deli and restaurant serving authentic Italian pizzas, pastas and more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great ambiance and decor. Forget ordering the average breakfast items and ask for the cannoli. Mind blowing! They are simply incredible! Crispy and crunchy with a nutty shell and the filling is a subtle lemon zesty cream concoction that is the perfect hint of sweetness and oh so fresh! Its been a while since we tasted something with a brand new taste profile. Most people went out of their way to be kind like the hosts and the guy at the bakery. Our waitress not so much.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Denishree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Life&Brand, Owner at Old Town Italy Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Ciao Denishree,

Thanks for the awesome review of Old Town Italy Umhlanga. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our Italian-inspired deli.

We hope to have you join us again, soon.

Kind regards,
Old Town Italy Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Slippery slope people. The 2020 change of ownership is proving as unwelcome as the Cape South Easter. I’ve always been a huge fan of this place and the brand, but after a dodgy meal a few weeks ago, and a frankly awful ‘fresh’ (read frozen and reheated) ciabatta, I’m compelled to review again. It seems Old Town’s brilliant in house bakery has been shut down and the new owners are shipping part baked bread all the way from Cape Town before reheating locally and passing off as fresh. Misleading sales direction, bad product and never mind the environment!! You will lose customers this way. Guaranteed.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Notdonaldtrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Life&Brand, Owner at Old Town Italy Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Notdonaldtrump,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are extremely disappointed to hear about your experience with us.

We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to address the issues you experienced during your visit with you directly. Kindly provide us with this feedback, along with your contact details, by following this link https://oti1.goreview.co.za/goreview-crm?revid=tawpXb so that we can ensure any necessary changes are made.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,
Old Town Italy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2021 via mobile

A pretty place with reasonable food and coffee but very lacklustre service, staff wander around as if lost and forget orders.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank MikeSViljoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2021

Great ambiance here. The menu had a good selection. The service was reasonably attentive. Could be a bit more prompt. The food was excellent. Well worth a visit

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Life&Brand, Owner at Old Town Italy Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2021

Ciao Peter F,

Thank you for your grande review of our Old Town Italy Umhlanga. Great ambience, food and service are what we strive for - glad you experienced just that.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
The Old Town Italy Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2021 via mobile

Firstly the bakery is to die for especially the cronut. I love the deli section. Great quality of ingredients. A must visit when in Durban. The style of the place is amazing with quirky details.

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank NicoleC5899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Life&Brand, Agency / Consultant at Old Town Italy Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2021

Ciao Nicolec5899,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Old Town Italy Umhlanga. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our Italian-inspired deli.

We look forward to many more memorable experiences with you.

Kind regards,
The Old Town Italy Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Town Italy Umhlanga also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Old Town Italy Umhlanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.