We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering
Nearby Hotels
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Villa Wilderness(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$105
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dune Guest Lodge(Wilderness)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haus am Strand - On the Beach(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphin Dunes Guesthouse(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Xanadu Guest Villa(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$131
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
95
12
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
12
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfreshly baked muffinsloft apartmentbird songgarden routegravel roadsmall touchespeace and quietthe main housewonderful settingrelaxing holidaylovely accommodationfelt like homeamazing placehome away from homepleasant staybeautiful viewrod
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2015

My family of four stayed in the cottage. Really enjoyed our stay, far enough out of town for peace and quiet but close enough to Wilderness to pop in to town for a meal if you want to. The cottage is very well equipped for self catering. Fantastic views of the lake. Really enjoyed our stay and would like to go back again.

Room Tip: Wifi did not work well in the cottage at all, had to go up to the main house for wifi. Minor inconvenience. Cottage great for self-catering.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2015

What an amazing and peaceful place, with every detail taken care of by Hydie and Rod, the gracious hosts. We are spending a few days in the white and blue themed cottage, which is extremely comfortable and with an amazing view over the lake. Every detail has been taken care of by our hosts, from fresh fruit on arrival and flower arrangements in each room, to stacked wood for the fireplace on chilly evenings. The garden surrounding the property is a dream. The unspoilt beach is a couple of minutes' drive. A hidden gem in this beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MichZanetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2015

We SO enjoy sharing guests' appreciation of the natural beauty of this area, and the peace of Beside Still Waters.

We certainly hope your family will visit again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2015

I was fortunate enough to spend a month in the Loft and found it really difficult to leave. The setting is incredibly peaceful, nestled on a beautiful, well-cared for property overlooking the Langvlei Lake. The over-riding experience is one of tranquillity that settles deep into the marrow of your bones. What a privilege to be able to watch sunrise every morning over the lake, each one unique in its splendour! The birdlife is prolific with many hours spent looking through binoculars, lulled by the peaceful sounds of nature. Hydie and Rod were incredibly kind, engaging and thoughtful hosts, with many stories to tell. The unit was very well appointed and comfortable, with beautiful filtered water for drinking and my skin and hair appreciated the rain water fed into the shower. This is a gem and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gayle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2015

One of the real privileges of a long-term guest is the opportunity of more than just Hi's & Bye's

One is conscious of the gift of time & being able to share something of each other's life journeys & love of Nature, Peace & Beauty.

We greatly valued that slice of time. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015

My wife and I spent 5 enjoyable and relaxing days in the cottage, with wonderful views over the vlei and its fish eagles - was a very chilled base from which to explore the wonders of the local area.

My only issue was that the online brochure said the cottage had DSTV and wifi internet, neither of which it had when we were there, which was somewhat disappointing as we had some work to do. If you can live without either of these for a few days, which we just about did, it will be a relaxing and rewarding experience!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PeteBFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2015

We're delighted that you enjoyed your time here and once again apologise that the Wi-Fi had not been successfully connected to each unit by the time you arrived. Although Wi-fi is on the property we recognise that it is vital to have it in each individual unit and we're finalising that - at the moment.

We also apologise for the error on our website with regard to DSTV. We removed that some time ago in favour of a good choice of DVD's but failed to remove the erroneous information from our website. Apologies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2015 via mobile

We booked the whole cottage which was a perfect size for a group of 4 adults and 3 young toddlers. Rod and Hydie were excellent hosts and made us feel extremely welcome. The setting is wonderfully tranquil with serene views from a beautiful garden or balcony with varying sights and sounds of birdsong throughout the day. The house was well equipped and furnished to a high modern standard. There was lots to do locally around wilderness and also the kingfisher trail that was a short walk from the house. All in all a brilliant choice of accommodation and we very much hope to go back one day.

Stayed: March 2015
2  Thank ImpressedCustomer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod M, Owner at Beside Still Waters B&B and Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015

What a delight to know that two families could spend time together here & revel in the local beauty while watching their toddlers gambol!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews