We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Beach Villa Wilderness(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cloverleigh Guest House(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
The Anchorage Wilderness(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Boardwalk Lodge(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Xanadu Guest Villa(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$65/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Clairewood(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
US$77
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wilderness Hotel(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$54
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
36
5
4
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
5
4
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictoria bayminute drivethe perfect hostfresh fruitgarden routewilderness beachattention to detailmagdageorgebalconyviewsloungebraaiparadisebirdshosts
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2017

What a position! All that you could wish for for a few days stay. Very comfortable accommodation and fantastic breakfast every morning. Hennie was the perfect host and lovely to talk to. Around the area are great restaurants in Wilderness and a lovely beach and cafe down in Victoria Bay. Also some good walks.
Certainly a very enjoyable stay

Room Tip: Best views
Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank erikagraves47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HilltopCountryLodge, Owner at Hilltop Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thank you for your kind words.
Regards
Hennie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We spent a wonderful fortnight at Hilltop - it truly is a stunning place with magnificent views. The owners are attentive, helpful and are delightful company. Yes, it is slightly quirky - you are staying in someone's home, with all that that entails. So, if for instance you are not happy with eating your breakfast while four monkeys watch you intently from 5 yards away, then perhaps you should consider staying at an anonymous and anodyne hotel down the road. Hilltop is special. We were lucky to be able to have a self-catering option, which meant staying in a separate cottage with its own secluded setting - but still with astonishingly beautiful views down Wilderness Bay. Would we stay there again? You bet!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

What a beautiful place to stay for our last few days in South Africa. I'm sat on our balcony overlooking Wilderness Bay and we really don't want to leave. The grounds are stunning with beautiful birds serenading us and Mr Quail and his family parading around - its paradise. Perfectly placed for Victoria Bay, (great for body boarding), George and the great restaurants in Wilderness. The rooms are perfect - we have got the King Suite and our friends are very comfortable in their deluxe room. Lovely shower, spa bath and toiletries. The beds are extremely comfortable and there's a room safe, tea and lovely coffee with fresh milk every day. We've enjoyed our breakfasts of delicious fresh fruit and yogurt, followed by boiled eggs, warm croissants, toast, jams, teas and coffee. Meats and cheeses are also available.
Hennie the owner has been a perfect host (there's a wonderful sense of humour hiding there) and whilst his wife Magda has been indisposed the irrepressible Hilda has been wonderful. Many thanks to all the staff for their attention and particularly for the Malawi rendition of 'Happy Birthday' on my husbands birthday. Memories to cherish. We shall miss you and hope to be back.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Christine Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

We booked for four nights in January 2017 and extended for a further two as we felt so comfortable here. Originally built 19 years ago and run ever since by Hennie & Magda Schoeman the Hilltop is a gem of a place. Every part, whether interior or exterior, is beautifully maintained and presented and Hennie, who is well travelled and thoroughly engaging, is hands on in ensuring that nothing goes amiss. Magda was unfortunately recovering from an operation during our stay and we did not meet. The view from all but one room is lovely, overlooking the full expanse of Wilderness beach from up on high at the George end. There is a decent pool set in a sun deck with the same fabulous view and a large double grill stone braai is adjacent for which a kit is provided of tongs, gloves, cutlery, crockery and condiments if you wish to get your own food and use it. A large mall with large Woolworths and Pick and Pay is 10 minutes away just off the N2. We cooked three times and enjoyed it immensely. We had room 5, the largest at 50msq, that had a private balcony and was wonderful, but rooms 1-4, ground and 1st floor, are a perfectly fine 35msq also with individual but adjacent patios or balcony. Rooms 7 & 8 are large 80msq family rooms with patios and loft areas. All have the same fabulous view. Only room 6 misses out on the view. Housekeeping is exemplary. The attractive lounge has a range of board games together with books and interesting pieces and a lovely fire for the winter months. Wifi was not lightning but perfectly adequate for mail and web browsing. Breakfast is served on the covered patio with the view. Downsides? Just 2. To eat out at the numerous good restaurants in Wilderness is a 10 to 15 minute drive and breakfast is a bit of a dismay to any decent red blooded Anglo Saxon! Croissants, fruit, cheese, cold meats, cereals, juice, toast and the offer of eggs might suffice for our continental cousins but a "full English" is really the only way to start the day properly. Having said that, the breakfast was beautifully done, the drive straightforward and neither anywhere near a sufficient drawback to detract from a wholehearted recommendation of Hilltop Country Lodge as a fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianB144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for peace tranquility and 1st class service then this is the place,the owners simply cannot do enough for you, lovely clean rooms with comfy beds tea and coffee facilities plus amazing views over Wilderness beach, continental breakfast served which is more than ample to set you off for the day relaxing by the pool or hire a car and get out and about, good shopping mall about 15 mins away or drive along to the beaches, if you are planning a trip to George then I would advise you to stay here you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews