We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moontide Guest House
Ranked #5 of 59 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

We unfortunately stayed for only one night but had a lovely stay in the 'tree tops' room. Very friendly and helpful staff with great suggestions for activities and restaurants in the area. Would definitely recommend staying here!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank jellehoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 235 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed a relaxing excellent four night stay at the Moontide Guest House in October. Located far enough of the main road so as not to be disturbed by traffic noise by night or day and close enough that the centre of Wilderness was only a 15 minute walk away. We found it to have a great location, nestled alongside the lagoon with its idyllic view, tranquil setting, and with the lovely weather, time just slipped by as we lounged on the private jetty by the water. No additional request was too much trouble including a late check out with extended use of the room and all facilities. Very slight noise pollution in the bedroom in the early morning as we had a bedroom close to the kitchen..... but then who wants to stay inside when you have what the local area has to offer. Attentive staff and friendly management ensured we had a lovely time. Thanks for a lovely break. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank W2912MYmichaelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015

We have spent recently a weekend at Moontide Guest House and can only recommend this beautiful spot on the Lagoon. Being in this industry myself. makes it very easy to spot a well run Guest House. Good Management filters down to every staff member and the service we received was excellent at all times, to say the least. The personal service we received from the owner Maureen and her right hand Tim and Jan was warmhearted, welcoming and it made us sad to say good bye after a 3 nights stay. After getting a tour of the property I can say that the cottages are beautifully decorated, cozy and in a great condition as the entire property is. The Breakfast is delicious and Tim’s Eggs Benedict sauce is to die for. Not being a fan of staying at the same accommodation twice, Moontide will definitely be the exception and will remain our 1st choice whilst staying in Wilderness. Thank you for making our stay the perfect mini holiday. Warm regards Ancilla & Marius

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AncillaNCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015

We had a very nice stay here. The location is one of the most beautiful we have ever seen, next to the lagoon. Good restaurants nearby, seaside as well. The staff is very friendly and warm, were very kind to our little one. They gave us good recommentdations for day trips.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 515bertc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2015

We were greeted by friendly staff, 2 friendly dogs and a shy one and even a wild bird ate our of my hand. What a magical place. The furnishings are quaint and beautiful. Amenities like hand-made soaps were a wonderful touch. The location is quiet, peaceful and lovely. You cannot go wrong with this place. We chose Wilderness over Knysna and we are so glad we did. We appreciate nature to nightlife any day. The helpful staff made reservations for us at two different restaurants that were delightful as well. We were in the Moondance suite, the Wi-Fi was best at the little patio outside our room. Loved every moment and enjoyed the complimentary sherry served at night. Thank you Moontide for a wonderful stay.

Stayed: September 2015
Thank gregntommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.2 km away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.2 km away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 59 in Wilderness
486 reviews
0.4 km away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 59 in Wilderness
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
374 reviews
1.3 km away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 59 in Wilderness
276 reviews
0.3 km away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 59 in Wilderness
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moontide Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moontide Guest House

Address: 444 Southside Road | Wilderness, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $147 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moontide Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Touw River, in gardens that flow into its tidal waters,Moontide comprises 8 en suite bedrooms each with private patios leading into the luxuriant garden. All rooms are equipped with TV, bar fridge and tea/coffee facilities. Breakfast is served under the 400 yr old Milkwood trees, and the Wilderness beach, renowned for its beauty, is one minute's walk away. Activities include horse riding, traling whale watching, biking and canoeing. Many golf courses nearby.Birder's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moontide Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moontide Guest House Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing