We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (817)
Filter reviews
817 results
Traveller rating
626
147
28
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
626
147
28
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstone cottagethe riverboat housepatio overlooking the lagoongarden routeoutdoor showerwilderness lagoonguest houseour honeymoonbreakfast is servedlovely placetwo nightslocal restaurantsbeautiful settinga real treatstayed longera wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
273 - 278 of 817 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed a relaxing excellent four night stay at the Moontide Guest House in October. Located far enough of the main road so as not to be disturbed by traffic noise by night or day and close enough that the centre of Wilderness was only a 15 minute walk away. We found it to have a great location, nestled alongside the lagoon with its idyllic view, tranquil setting, and with the lovely weather, time just slipped by as we lounged on the private jetty by the water. No additional request was too much trouble including a late check out with extended use of the room and all facilities. Very slight noise pollution in the bedroom in the early morning as we had a bedroom close to the kitchen..... but then who wants to stay inside when you have what the local area has to offer. Attentive staff and friendly management ensured we had a lovely time. Thanks for a lovely break. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank W2912MYmichaelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015

We have spent recently a weekend at Moontide Guest House and can only recommend this beautiful spot on the Lagoon. Being in this industry myself. makes it very easy to spot a well run Guest House. Good Management filters down to every staff member and the service we received was excellent at all times, to say the least. The personal service we received from the owner Maureen and her right hand Tim and Jan was warmhearted, welcoming and it made us sad to say good bye after a 3 nights stay. After getting a tour of the property I can say that the cottages are beautifully decorated, cozy and in a great condition as the entire property is. The Breakfast is delicious and Tim’s Eggs Benedict sauce is to die for. Not being a fan of staying at the same accommodation twice, Moontide will definitely be the exception and will remain our 1st choice whilst staying in Wilderness. Thank you for making our stay the perfect mini holiday. Warm regards Ancilla & Marius

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AncillaNCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015

We had a very nice stay here. The location is one of the most beautiful we have ever seen, next to the lagoon. Good restaurants nearby, seaside as well. The staff is very friendly and warm, were very kind to our little one. They gave us good recommentdations for day trips.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 515bertc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2015

We were greeted by friendly staff, 2 friendly dogs and a shy one and even a wild bird ate our of my hand. What a magical place. The furnishings are quaint and beautiful. Amenities like hand-made soaps were a wonderful touch. The location is quiet, peaceful and lovely. You cannot go wrong with this place. We chose Wilderness over Knysna and we are so glad we did. We appreciate nature to nightlife any day. The helpful staff made reservations for us at two different restaurants that were delightful as well. We were in the Moondance suite, the Wi-Fi was best at the little patio outside our room. Loved every moment and enjoyed the complimentary sherry served at night. Thank you Moontide for a wonderful stay.

Stayed: September 2015
Thank gregntommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

The Moontide Lodge is a must if you are going to stay in Wilderness. It is a quite beautiful lovely place. With friendly staff and a wonderful host. Tim was helpful from before we even arrived and was ready with advice and information throughout the stay. The Room was wonderful clean and pleasant, bathroom great. The breakfasts a feast with lovely fresh food. It was just the best place for a relaxing stay and the views are fantastic. Thanks to Tim and his staff for make our three days in Wilderness a wonderful memory.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be great.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VPVerwey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews