We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moontide Guest Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moontide Guest House
Ranked #5 of 59 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2017

This is a wonderful spot for a few days of rest and relaxation. Maureen and Jan are wonderful hosts who make sure no detail is overlooked. They offer helpful suggestions on dining and activities. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. They are individually decorated and feel like home. I did not want to leave the Boathouse ever! There are canoes and a paddleboat to use to explore the Lagoon. Breakfast either in the dining room or on the balcony is wonderful. Service is very attentive and friendly and the menu selection is great. Normally I do not stay in a B&B but Moontide is more like a visit with a very good friend.

Room Tip: Boathouse is recently decorated and has its own, private 'dock' seating area for sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017

The place was amazing. We had everything that was needed. Maureen and her staff were friendly and ensured that we were comfortable and we had an amazing weekend.
Indeed it was a little bit of sunshine.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sindisilem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

such a beautiful place. Decorated by people with an excellent taste. Very friendly and helpful hosts and delicious breakfast. We also enjoyed the canoe to take a trip on the water. Sorry we had to leave...

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 856robbyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

I was lucky enough to visit this gorgeous guesthouse again this month.
Just beautiful, and it has been awarded the Best Luxury Hideaway of the Year by the prestigious international coffee table book, The Luxury Travel Guide.
Well deserved, congratulations!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wendyallison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Moontide Guest House was one of our favorite stops in a month of travel in South Africa. It's the perfect balance of luxurious and comfortable, with very friendly and efficient staff and hosts. I had messed up the date of our stay (only one in a month!), and we arrived a day after scheduled. The staff at Moontide were understanding, courteous, and found us an alternate cottage with no extra cost and no fuss. The property is very pretty and well decorated, the cottage we had for 4 of us was spacious, comfortable and clean, and breakfasts out on the patio overlooking the lagoon and watching the birds, were a delight. The real highlight was the location, though, and the boats provided for open use on the lagoon. Kids and adults loved that, and we also loved the short 5 min walk to Wilderness's main beach. This is really a "can't go wrong" place!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ursula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
1.2 km away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
0.2 km away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 59 in Wilderness
485 reviews
0.4 km away
Beach Villa Wilderness
Beach Villa Wilderness
#3 of 59 in Wilderness
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
372 reviews
1.3 km away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 59 in Wilderness
276 reviews
0.3 km away
Dune Guest Lodge
Dune Guest Lodge
#4 of 59 in Wilderness
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moontide Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moontide Guest House

Address: 444 Southside Road | Wilderness, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $148 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moontide Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Touw River, in gardens that flow into its tidal waters,Moontide comprises 8 en suite bedrooms each with private patios leading into the luxuriant garden. All rooms are equipped with TV, bar fridge and tea/coffee facilities. Breakfast is served under the 400 yr old Milkwood trees, and the Wilderness beach, renowned for its beauty, is one minute's walk away. Activities include horse riding, traling whale watching, biking and canoeing. Many golf courses nearby.Birder's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moontide Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moontide Guest House Hotel Wilderness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing