We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly dull because...”

Garden Route Horse Trails
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Remarkable horse trails into the indigenous forests of the Garden Route National Park. Occasional sightings of wildlife. All are welcome whether novice or expert rider. Trails range form 1,5 hours to the most popular 3 hour waterfall trail. Come swim with the horses or enjoy a picnic at the waterfall. Bookings are essential. Safe, well trained, bombproof reliable horses. Come for a relaxing walk or adventurous full gallop through the beautiful scenery. Open 7 days a week 365 days a year form sunrise to sunset.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

It was us (family of four, kids aged 6 and 9) and a youngish couple. We didn't get beyond a walk because the couple were pregnant and didn't want to trot. 2 hours at walking pace is not so great - be aware you will be going at the pace of the weakest rider therefore, and if you don't know the whole group, this might be a problem. We are not very experienced, but the odd trot would have made it a lot more interesting! Also we did not do the 3 hour ride as we were worried kids would be bored - the shorter rides seemingly have less interesting scenery than suggested by the other reviews - we were mainly in an unvaried wood. There are some good reviews of the guides here - unfortunately ours was very quiet indeed. By the sounds of the other reviews you can have a great morning or afternoon with these guys but alas we didn't - hopefully some tips to get the best out of your ride.

Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRHorseTrails, Owner at Garden Route Horse Trails, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Hi Jon D,

Terribly sorry you thought it was a "dull ride". Bookings are made according to experience of riders for Safety reasons. As you mentioned, u are "not very experienced" thus you were accommodated as a "not very experienced" group. We do encourage trotting and cantering on all rides for all levels of experience but do have to take safety and confidence of all the riders into consideration. That being said over-confident riders can be danger to their own safety and I unfortunately trust in the vastly experienced guide to make the decision whether riders will be able to control their horses and themselves during trotting or cantering. This decision can be made quite quickly if you are an experienced rider as we can easily predict whether u will be ending up in the mud face first or maybe worse just by watching you mount the horse. The "pregnant couple" (2months), were actually experienced rider's, they were at the back of the group that did not mind riding with inexperienced riders so I don't think the decision not to trot of canter was their doing, more likely the guide decided not to be intimidated into going faster by an quarrelsome, overconfident, totally inexperienced rider for his own safety.
The shorter rides scenery may be different to the longer rides but I can unfortunately not move the indigenous forest closer to the farm, beauty is in the eye of the beholder, and most of us think the gum tree and pine forest rides are also beautiful.
Elias, the guide, is actually a very talkative, interesting and funny person, maybe he just did not get a chance to speak due to very chatty and boisterous rider. All this being said we try to cater for all and try to keep all happy and satisfied, unfortunately safety is our first priority towards all, adults and children, even if they think they are John Wayne. Best Regards, Ryno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2016

I had been to two other places before (on the Garden Route and in the Drakensberg mountains) but this 3 hour ride was definitely the best experience. Beautiful woodlands, very good and well cared for horses, and a very friendly guide. We, a group of 3, did also a lot of cantering which we enjoyed a lot.

Thank Susan_vecina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRHorseTrails, Owner at Garden Route Horse Trails, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Thank you very much, it was a pleasure riding with you

Regards,

Ryno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

My husband and I booked a 3hr trail ride and had the time of our lives! The horses were absolutely beautiful and so well looked after, they were sensible and yet super fun and forward going, they clearly love their job! Our guide was brilliant and took such great care of us. The forest is a stunning place to ride, with lots of spots for a canter. Excellent value for money.

Thank LouiseD883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRHorseTrails, Owner at Garden Route Horse Trails, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Thanks

Great having you here for the ride

Regards,

Ryno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We booked a ride on Sunday. I rode on the back of the beautiful Rain and my husband rode Maximus. What beautiful horses. The trail we went on was stunning. We tried a trot and a gallop but we were first time horse riders and didn't manage too well. The guide was amazing. He helped us along nicely and we eventually got the hang of it. Our horses were well behaved. Rain loves to eat and must have eaten all the grass along the way. A real mischievous horse ... perfectly suited to my personality. It was an absolute adventure and we will come back once we get a bit more experienced and do the waterfall 3 hour ride. We got some lovely photos too .. some taken by the more than willing guide !

Thank Janine8729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRHorseTrails, Owner at Garden Route Horse Trails, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Thanks for the review, Rain loves to munch yes as the grass is probably tastier in the forest. Best Regards..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Brilliant trail ride. Great guide and fantastic owner. The ride was great with walking, trotting and galloping through the forest. Highly recommend this place.

Thank staceyhiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRHorseTrails, Owner at Garden Route Horse Trails, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Pleasure having you here for the horse ride, Thanks a mil, Regards, Ryno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Garden Route Horse Trails also viewed

Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 

Been to Garden Route Horse Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing