We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cloverleigh Guest House(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Beach Villa Wilderness(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Anchorage Wilderness(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Boardwalk Lodge(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Xanadu Guest Villa(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$65/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Clairewood(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$78
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wilderness Hotel(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$53
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
296
34
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
34
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsview over the lakegreat hostsguest housegarden routemeandering riverhoneymoon suitebig balconywonderful viewsmallest roomsouth africadelicious breakfaststayed for nightsmake you feel at homemuesliwilderness national parkfriendly ownerssmall pool
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We had been 'warned' that one night would not be enough in this B&B whose greatest asset clearly is the hospitality of its hosts. Thoroughly enjoying talking to them, we actually delayed our onward journey by a couple of hours.
The house is on a main road which means a bit of traffic noise, and the price of accommodation is a little above standard, but the following make up for this:
- cleanliness
- view over the lagoon out the back decking area
- free wireless internet
- kitchen utensils

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veepka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

We certainly had a good laugh together so thank you for staying with us and it was really good to hear the saying " far out" again, havent heard that for years!!!
We wish you all of the very best for 2013 and thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We stayed at Interlaken this November 2012. During our travels in South Africa we haven't experienced any better B&B than Interlaken. It has the best view you can possible imagine directly from your room while enjoying very nice breakfast from Kevin. The rooms are very modern, well furnished and make you feel at home. The very friendly and kind guests make the stay even better and enjoyable experience. Great value for superb quality!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_Hutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Hi Peter, apologies for the delay in replying to you, it is really hectic here this time of the year!
Thank you for all your help with our IT, you are officially called " one of the google 3" ! It was an absolute pleasure having you stay here and we enjoyed the South African braai just as much as you did!!

We wish you all of the very best for 2013 and we hope it will be a good year for you!!

Cheers
Elsie and Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

My wife and I stayed at Interlaken in January 2010. We had a fantastic stay, having already stayed at 2 other great B&B / Hotels in Wilderness. The owners were great hosts and breakfast had one of the best views I have had the pleasure of enjoyng. The guest house has a spectacular vista out over the lakes, and the pool view makes for an eye opening cool off. Our room was well equipped and very homely. Interlaken offers a fabulous location, great hosts and excellent value for money. We have travelled extensively and I would not hesitate in recommending this guest house to anyone staying in Wilderness, South Africa.
Please ignore date below - date in text correct!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GUYSwansea_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

Unfortunately our old brains cant think back so far, however, thank you for the review and we are pleased that you still remember our stunning views!!!

Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Kevin and Elsie are impeccable hosts -- from the first day of our arrival to our departure they ensured that our stay was to the highest of standards. The room was very modern, tidy, well equipped and above all homey. But what made this place stand out over all other places we stayed in South Africa was the view.

Interlaken has an outstanding view of the Island Lake in Wilderness. I don't think anyone would get bored with this view.

There is a small pool which is great for winding down after a long day of hiking. Kevin and Elsie invited us to experience a real (and amazing!) South African braai here, which completed the experience. We had an amazing time here!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svetstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the South African braai and our gorgeous views, it was lovely chatting to what we call the " Google three"!!!

Thank you for staying with us and dont forget to bring your mom here some day!!!
We wish you all of the very best for 2013!!
Regards
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Kevin and Elsie have an amazing spot over looking the Touw River. We stayed 2 non-consecutive nights on the way to and from our eastern cape game park experience. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious but that all pales in comparison to the view and the generous deck you have to enjoy it from.

Kevin and Elsie recommend Zucchini for dinner. It's about 5km down the road but Elsie happily offered her services as taxi driver. We ate there both times and weren't disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karl_elisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2012

It was a pleasure meeting you and have all of you stay here, the taxi drive meant that you could really enjoy your dinner, have some good S.A wines and as your fellow countrymen would say " no worries"!! Thanks for your review and we wish you all of the very best for 2013!!

regards
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews