We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cloverleigh Guest House(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$50
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Beach Villa Wilderness(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Anchorage Wilderness(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Boardwalk Lodge(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Xanadu Guest Villa(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$64/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Clairewood(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$78
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wilderness Hotel(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$53
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
296
34
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
34
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsview over the lakegreat hostsguest housegarden routemeandering riverhoneymoon suitebig balconywonderful viewsmallest roomsouth africadelicious breakfaststayed for nightsmake you feel at homemuesliwilderness national parkfriendly ownerssmall pool
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Spent 2 days with Ilse and Kevin. One of those places that you say to yourself "I must come back here to spend more time". The hospitality, kindness and care is unparalleled, and the lake views are breathtaking. Make sure you have at least one dinner at the guest house prepared for you by Ilse and Kevin; it will be a dinner you will remember for a long while. Highly recommended for couples due to the romantic, tranquil ambiance. Endless activities in the immediate vicinity as well as it is right on the Garden Route. If you book directly through their Website, as we did, you can negotiate 2 complimentary bottles of wine ... ;)

Thank you,
From: Yaniv, Issi, Ron, Alon, Avihai and Aaron

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is to die for, but so are the other 3 rooms...
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Hi guys,
Thanks so much for your lovely review and you are all welcome to come back to this beautiful place and country any time!
We enjoyed serving you a good meal, lovely to see you all enjoying yourselves so much.
It was our pleasure to host you in this lovely place and we really missed you when you left..... it was way too quiet !!
Thanks for choosing Interlaken and we really hope to see you all again sometime!
Big hugs
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We stayed in this fabulous guest house in March ( sorry for the late review!) and had the honeymoon suite which had the most amazing view. The room was huge with plenty of space to chill out, a small kitchen area with everything you needed. The best part of this guest house are the hosts, they were so welcoming and Kevin made the best breakfast ever! They made you feel like old friends. Would I recommend this place? absolutely.

Room Tip: If you have the honeymoon suite you have the whole floor to yourselves for extra privacy.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Jane and Kevin,
Better late than never as the saying goes !!
Thank you for giving us this lovely review, it is precisely because of nice guests like you that we really enjoy what we do and care about our guests!
It was such a pleasure serving you breakfast and seeing you enjoy yourselves so much!
We hope you will be back some time!
Big hugs
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We had a very friendly and warm welcome by Elsie and Kevin. Modern house with clean rooms. Superb location with view over Island Lake. Small pool on the terrace with fantastic view. We had a delicious braai (bbq) on 31 december. Super breakfast with fresh fruits.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pieter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Pieter and family,

I am sure that the evening of the 31st December here at our guest house must be very different to what you normally do in Belgium!!
Having a South African braai on the terrace overlooking the lake..... It was a real pleasure serving you and seeing you all enjoy your meal so much. Thank you for choosing Interlaken Guest House.
Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We stayed in Interlaken Guest House from 31-12-2016 until 2-01-2017.
Elsie and Kevin really make you feel at home, from the first contact by phone. We appreciate sincerely the warm hospitality we felt, the uncomplicated frankness, the nice rooms and beds the lake view and everything else.
On New Year's Eve, Elsie and Kevin prepared a typical South African 'braai' for us. With nice sunny weather and a lake view, it was really unforgettable!
We wish them all the best, for their family, children and grand children too.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kristieng2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Hi Kristien,
Please accept our apologies for taking sooo long to reply to you!!
It was an absolute pleasure having your family stay with us and it was special to serve you a typical South African braai on the 31st..... very different to your normal 31st of December in Belgium!!
As soon as you arrived it felt like family coming to stay, really lovely!
We are going to be blessed with another granddaughter early in January.... we cant wait to meet her!
Thanks again and hugs to your lovely family!
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

A modern property with a beautiful view over the lake. The shuttle bus into town for the restaurant was ideal. The hosts were helpful and the breakfast was lovely. The room had everything you could need including comfortable seating on the terrace.


  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Travelduchess2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Please accept our apologies for such a late reply.....Thanks so much for taking the time to give us a review and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay as well as the stunning view.... we are truly blessed to live here!
Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews