We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Interlaken Guest House
Ranked #9 of 60 Wilderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Turning off the N2, you might be slightly taken aback that just 100m away is a piece of paradise! The view from the decking of the river and the lake is worth five stars alone.

On top of that your hosts are superb, arranging dinner reservations and giving tips on what to do in the area. We had the newly fitted out “honeymoon suite”, which was clean, fresh, spacious AND had the best view ever.

Kevin cooks a great breakfast too! Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Hi Russell and Nicky,

We are so glad to hear that you had such a good time here..... we feel very priviledged
to live in such a beautiful place and be part of the National Parks area!
It was an absolute pleasure hosting you in our piece of paradise and thanks so much for choosing us!
All of the very best to both of you,
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

Spent 2 days with Ilse and Kevin. One of those places that you say to yourself "I must come back here to spend more time". The hospitality, kindness and care is unparalleled, and the lake views are breathtaking. Make sure you have at least one dinner at the guest house prepared for you by Ilse and Kevin; it will be a dinner you will remember for a long while. Highly recommended for couples due to the romantic, tranquil ambiance. Endless activities in the immediate vicinity as well as it is right on the Garden Route. If you book directly through their Website, as we did, you can negotiate 2 complimentary bottles of wine ... ;)

Thank you,
From: Yaniv, Issi, Ron, Alon, Avihai and Aaron

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is to die for, but so are the other 3 rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Hi guys,
Thanks so much for your lovely review and you are all welcome to come back to this beautiful place and country any time!
We enjoyed serving you a good meal, lovely to see you all enjoying yourselves so much.
It was our pleasure to host you in this lovely place and we really missed you when you left..... it was way too quiet !!
Thanks for choosing Interlaken and we really hope to see you all again sometime!
Big hugs
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We stayed in this fabulous guest house in March ( sorry for the late review!) and had the honeymoon suite which had the most amazing view. The room was huge with plenty of space to chill out, a small kitchen area with everything you needed. The best part of this guest house are the hosts, they were so welcoming and Kevin made the best breakfast ever! They made you feel like old friends. Would I recommend this place? absolutely.

Room Tip: If you have the honeymoon suite you have the whole floor to yourselves for extra privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Jane and Kevin,
Better late than never as the saying goes !!
Thank you for giving us this lovely review, it is precisely because of nice guests like you that we really enjoy what we do and care about our guests!
It was such a pleasure serving you breakfast and seeing you enjoy yourselves so much!
We hope you will be back some time!
Big hugs
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We had a very friendly and warm welcome by Elsie and Kevin. Modern house with clean rooms. Superb location with view over Island Lake. Small pool on the terrace with fantastic view. We had a delicious braai (bbq) on 31 december. Super breakfast with fresh fruits.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pieter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear Pieter and family,

I am sure that the evening of the 31st December here at our guest house must be very different to what you normally do in Belgium!!
Having a South African braai on the terrace overlooking the lake..... It was a real pleasure serving you and seeing you all enjoy your meal so much. Thank you for choosing Interlaken Guest House.
Kind regards
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We stayed in Interlaken Guest House from 31-12-2016 until 2-01-2017.
Elsie and Kevin really make you feel at home, from the first contact by phone. We appreciate sincerely the warm hospitality we felt, the uncomplicated frankness, the nice rooms and beds the lake view and everything else.
On New Year's Eve, Elsie and Kevin prepared a typical South African 'braai' for us. With nice sunny weather and a lake view, it was really unforgettable!
We wish them all the best, for their family, children and grand children too.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kristieng2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterlakenWilderness, Owner at Interlaken Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Hi Kristien,
Please accept our apologies for taking sooo long to reply to you!!
It was an absolute pleasure having your family stay with us and it was special to serve you a typical South African braai on the 31st..... very different to your normal 31st of December in Belgium!!
As soon as you arrived it felt like family coming to stay, really lovely!
We are going to be blessed with another granddaughter early in January.... we cant wait to meet her!
Thanks again and hugs to your lovely family!
Kevin and Elsie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilderness hotels
5.6 km away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
5.5 km away
Wilderness on Sea B&B and Self Catering
5.4 km away
Haus am Strand - On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Wilderness Manor Guest House
Wilderness Manor Guest House
#1 of 60 in Wilderness
505 reviews
5.6 km away
On the Beach Wilderness
On the Beach Wilderness
#2 of 60 in Wilderness
290 reviews
3.9 km away
Serendipity
Serendipity
#10 of 60 in Wilderness
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Interlaken Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Interlaken Guest House

Address: 713 North Street | PO Box 110, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Wilderness
Price Range: $83 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Interlaken Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering unsurpassed views, Interlaken's well-appointed suites lead on to sun-splashed decks which overlook both the lake and mountain. Here, guests can relax and luxuriate in a mellow ambiance that only home can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Interlaken Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing