We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay with my wife”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Elephant Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Centurion
Reviewed 20 November 2016

We attended a Christmas function and stayed over at the hotel. Good breakfast and well appointed rooms. One issue with the door design which is constrained and leads to a problem pulling your bags through. Large bed and easy to use safe in wardrobe. All you need for a night away.

Room Tip: Best to be on the top floor - plumbing can be a bit noisy on the first foor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2016

Recently I had the pleasure of visiting the Royal Elephant Hotel in Centurion. I was part of a delegation that had attended the Cooperative Financial Institutions (CFI) Indaba (Conference). Before this I had just heard about this venue and I had never visited it until then. It is situated to the west of the N14 north along the M10 west. This is a beautiful and well cared for facility with electronic and physical security which is surrounded from east, north and west by wild natural forest and it is bordered by a river on the northern side. There is however a new residential development on the South, not a major set back though. The surrounding is clean and well kept.

The staff here are humble and sociable people who do not just see a tourist or visitor but another human being.

The rooms in which my colleagues and I were accommodated are en suite, large and well ventilated with a view to their beautiful garden. In the bathroom you are spoilt for choice, they provide both a bath and a shower. The bath comes handy on the day you really feel worn out, you could run your bath, add bath salts, which are provided for your comfort, relax and let your body soak in the water for those who prefer a sip of wine before bed, this is just an ideal moment. Otherwise you can take a quick shower and go on your way or to bed. I would have preferred the electric socket to have been nearer to my bed than where it is right now.

The restaurant is also big, you could be served on the ground level area or in the cellar- like arranged setting both of which offer a comfortable place to dine.
I am not a culinary guru, however, your choice of fruits, vegetables and various meats is wide. If you are around Pretoria or Johannesburg, it is ideal for those romantic evenings to rejuvenate your love.

They have standard size conferencing facilities that could accommodate about 30 people, but they also have a big enough facility for your bigger conference accommodating between 100 and 150 persons. The latter is well equipped with the sound system and monitors for those who may be seated at the back of the room, to feel part of the conference.

What impressed me most was the landscape as you exit the bigger conference hall from the north side, it slopes towards a serenely flowing river, with beautifully manicured lawns if you are a nature lover. Just as well the hospitality shown by the staff is commendable. I think that I may have to go back there sometime with my family and leave the city buzz and hustle, to take in all the beauty and quiet of the environment.

Room Tip: Generally quieter except the South where there is a busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Zwelinjani T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Our company had a 2 day conference and team build at the Royal Elephant. The rooms were great with the most stunning bathrooms. The food was to die for. I will go there again for sure. There is a small pool as well for a relaxing family visit.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Thank Bernz2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We had a full day conference at the Royal Elephant Hotel and Conference Centre. The hotel is easily located with numerous and visible signboards closer to the hotel. The Conference Centre facilty that was allocated to us were one of the bigger ones seeing that we were a big group of people. The grounds of the hotel is massive with a surrounding lake. Needless to say that there were a lot of mosquitoes that came from the lake and it was annoying once we sat down to have lunch. We were allocated the outside section of the dining area close to the lake and the stench that came form the lake was unbearable especially when we had our lunch. The hotel of course had no control over that but given the fact that they could smell the bad odours, they still put us in the outside dining area. The food was up to standard but we could not enjoy it due to the smell coming from the lake. The staff were visible and helpful to an extend.

Room Tip: Insist on eating inside the restuarant, far away from the lake with its mosquitoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

It was a "walk in" booking and they had a room available, as I expected from a place with such a star rating. At R400 for two people for breakfast I find it a little overpriced. Even one of the front desk staff agreed with me. The room was adequate but no turndown service was forthcoming and the air con wasn't even on, making the room stuffy as we walked in. Only 1 teaspoon with the complimentary coffees. And in the early morning the tv went to "pc" mode with no way to turn it off even. Staff were friendly though but for that price you'd expect a bit more attention to detail.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Craigh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centurion
8.9 km away
African Pride Irene Country Lodge
25.1 km away
The Venue Country Hotel
The Venue Country Hotel
#3 of 3 in Hartbeespoort
20 reviews
28.5 km away
Kassaboera Lodge
Kassaboera Lodge
#1 of 1 in Schoemansville
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 km away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#27 of 67 in Johannesburg
202 reviews
4.5 km away
Leriba Hotel
Leriba Hotel
#6 of 10 in Centurion
99 reviews
23.8 km away
Zulu Nyala Country Manor
Zulu Nyala Country Manor
#1 of 1 in Chartwell
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Elephant Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Elephant Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: Corner Willem Botha & Wierda Streets, Eldoraigne, Centurion, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Centurion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Centurion
Price Range: $246 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Elephant Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Elephant Hotel & Conference Centre situated on the banks of the Hennops River in Centurion, exemplifies tasteful North African elegance combined with exceptional, discreetly personalized attention to detail. We have gathered inspiration, stories, recipes, furnishings and embellishments that have embodied the essence of Moroccan living, hospitality and creativity over the ages. We have ten fully equipped conference venues accommodating groups ranging from 5 to 500 delegates seated cinema-style. The hotel boasts 40 luxurious rooms for our guests to rejuvenate with an upmarket restaurant, bar / poolside and lounges where guests can dine and relax. Royal Elephant cuisine is a medley of Moroccan, International and African cuisine. At her restaurant and bar, guests are treated to centuries' of interaction between Morocco and world cuisines and drinks, under the direction of celebrated Executive Chef, Andrew Hammond. The breathtakingly dramatic Zagora Grill Room restaurant serves a delicious fusion of South to North American, Moroccan and Mediterranean cuisine and is ideal for breakfasts, lunches and dinners. Royal Elephant is the perfect venue for adding a touch of "Magic and Style" to a bride and groom's Wedding day. With a beautiful thatch chapel and various reception venues, the tranquility, picturesque location and elegance of Royal Elephant, provides a natural but very romantic atmosphere to make dreams come true! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Royal Elephant Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Elephant Hotel And Conference Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing