We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
39
36
8
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
36
8
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rain shower moroccan style grill room close to home meeting venue many ways lovely bathroom business trip service was excellent zagora conference pretoria foyer inspired ac catering premises
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

Great food and friendly service ! Best fillet steak I have had in a long time.
The room is perfect as well. Good location as well and easy access to airports. Will definitely recommend to stay here and eat here.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

Stayed here for four days on a business trip. All in all a great stay - great majority of personnel were very friendly and helpful, food was very good (although buffet was a bit generic), the meeting venue comfortable and fit for purpose and the room was very comfortable, spacious and quiet.
My only gripes were very (extremely!) slow service during a set menu dinner and the room where I stayed only has a very small window, which makes the room a bit dark and stuffy (I prefer natural light and fresh air).Wi-fi also seems to bomb out during peak times.
Will return w/o much hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger window or door if you prefer and opposite side to road will be quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TsamayaSentle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

We were bumped by the African Pride Irene lodge (apparently because it was overbooked) to this hotel. Although it was an upgrade we would never have chosen to stay there ourselves as it was even further away from the airport and was one of these large faceless conference centres. It has been decorated in a modern take on Moroccan style. We had a large bathroom with bath and shower with no door, but the shower was a rain shower and water sprayed all over the floor which became very slippery when wet. The lights on either side of the mirror above the basin were of such low wattage that it’s impossible for a guy to see to shave or for a woman to put on makeup and it was the only mirror in the room.
We had dinner in the restaurant but the was so salty that it was almost inedible. I couldn’t finish my starter (baked aubergines) because it was so salty and my husband sent his steak back to the kitchen for the same reason. Although the staff offered to change it for him he’d lost his appetite by then. The restaurant had recently changed from a traditional paper menu to a tablet menu, which we found very difficult to navigate.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travellerin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

This is a great hotel, bar and restaurant. If you in the city and want to eat and drink in a place which feels far away, this is the place to go to. The bar is warm and cosy in winter with a fireplace or sit outside in the courtyard during summer. The cigar lounge is also wonderful making you feel as though you in an exotic hideaway.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kamal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

What a lovely hotel but questionable service.
We arrived just before 13:00 on Saturday18 Feb and had drinks outside then we moved inside to the lounge/library and after a while had to ask for service. We then had coffee served - but the stunning lounge with Persian rugs and huge decorative elephants was a walk through for the noisy staff with their brooms and buckets. This lounge/library was next to the bar where the staff had their own loud conversations - we had to close the door between the lounge and the bar to be able to hear ourselves talk. When we left at about 16:30 we went to reception to ask for our bill.
The kind man at reception could not find anyone to answer his phone call. Eventually he saw another staff member upstairs and asked him to send someone to attend to us.
The friendly bar manager came to reception and told us that we must go without paying but I could see that he struggled to grasp out request for a bill.
We insisted on paying.
The bar manager could also not understand my request for a bill. He really struggled to figure my request to pay for the fact that we had 2 smoothies, 2 sparkling waters with lemon and 2 coffees. He first gave me a bill for 1 smoothie and 1 coffee and 1 sparkling water.
I get the feeling that there is a language barrier. He was polite but just failed to really grasp English.
If this is the quality of staff and management then this lovely hotel will suffer great financial losses.
It is really one of the most beautiful places in Centurion with absolutely amazing décor.
We would love to go there again and trust that management will employ people who will be able to interact with customers.

Room Tip: We did not sleep at this hotel but the ambiance and the setting is excellent. There was no traffic noise.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ohoty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalElephantHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Elephant Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Dear Ohoty O

Thank you for the feedback received and for taking the time to write this review, we really appreciate it!

The feedback we receive is of utmost importance for us to “experience what the guest feels”, note the shortcomings, and continuously strive for higher standards.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Royal Elephant Hotel & Conference Centre.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews