We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$159
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
36
35
8
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
35
8
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmoroccan themerain showerseafood buffetclose to homemeeting venuemany waysbusiness tripservice was excellentzagoraconferencefoyeracjohannesburgbathloungecateringriver
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

With close access from the highway connecting Peetoria and Johannesburg lies Royal Elephant Hotel & Conference venue. An ideal business venue for conferences, meetings and workshops. The cater for both small and large number of delegates. On premise accommodation can be provided for delegates from outside of Gauteng. Catering matches their top quality restaurant on site.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Shailendra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

Great food and friendly service ! Best fillet steak I have had in a long time.
The room is perfect as well. Good location as well and easy access to airports. Will definitely recommend to stay here and eat here.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

Stayed here for four days on a business trip. All in all a great stay - great majority of personnel were very friendly and helpful, food was very good (although buffet was a bit generic), the meeting venue comfortable and fit for purpose and the room was very comfortable, spacious and quiet.
My only gripes were very (extremely!) slow service during a set menu dinner and the room where I stayed only has a very small window, which makes the room a bit dark and stuffy (I prefer natural light and fresh air).Wi-fi also seems to bomb out during peak times.
Will return w/o much hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger window or door if you prefer and opposite side to road will be quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TsamayaSentle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

We were bumped by the African Pride Irene lodge (apparently because it was overbooked) to this hotel. Although it was an upgrade we would never have chosen to stay there ourselves as it was even further away from the airport and was one of these large faceless conference centres. It has been decorated in a modern take on Moroccan style. We had a large bathroom with bath and shower with no door, but the shower was a rain shower and water sprayed all over the floor which became very slippery when wet. The lights on either side of the mirror above the basin were of such low wattage that it’s impossible for a guy to see to shave or for a woman to put on makeup and it was the only mirror in the room.
We had dinner in the restaurant but the was so salty that it was almost inedible. I couldn’t finish my starter (baked aubergines) because it was so salty and my husband sent his steak back to the kitchen for the same reason. Although the staff offered to change it for him he’d lost his appetite by then. The restaurant had recently changed from a traditional paper menu to a tablet menu, which we found very difficult to navigate.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank travellerin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

This is a great hotel, bar and restaurant. If you in the city and want to eat and drink in a place which feels far away, this is the place to go to. The bar is warm and cosy in winter with a fireplace or sit outside in the courtyard during summer. The cigar lounge is also wonderful making you feel as though you in an exotic hideaway.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kamal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews