We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zuleika Country House
Nearby Hotels
umVangati House(Hoedspruit)
US$271
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$248
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bushriver Lodge(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
US$91
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nyaleti Lodge(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$524
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Vuyani Safari Lodge(Hoedspruit)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Becks Safari Lodge(Hoedspruit)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
25
24
8
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
24
8
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Do not use the map pin on Google Maps to find this hotel as it is NOT by Hoedspruit aerodrome. It is just off the R531 - we were in good company, apparently, in not finding it! Each room is a chalet set in well-kept gardens with a huge variety of plants, orchids, grasses, all leading down to a pond at the bottom of the slope. The view is fantastic - especially from chalet number 6. We had dinner (set menu) our second night and the food was very good - well cooked and presented. Breakfast was equally good both in choice and quality. We had a safari tour booked but the drive to Orpen Gate took one hour (in an open safari vehicle, so very windy and very uncomfortable). Far better to drive yourself to the gate and meet the guide there - especially as we had an 80 year old with us who would not have survived the journey to Kruger if she had not been installed in the cab beside the driver! 4 poster beds with mosquito nets make you feel like you are in a princess' bed. The bath is enormous and there are nice touches such as bath salts in a pot, some nougat sweets by the bedside and some schnapps for those who like a bedtime snifter.... Plenty of hot water and good water pressure with seating on the verandah outside each chalet all make for a really comfortable stay. Nice blinds, plenty of windows, aircon and mosquito plugs. The basket in the wardrobe contains a torch, candles and matches in case of power failure and plug adaptors. There is even a room spray should the need arise! These are all nice touches which show the managers of this property are prepared to go the extra mile. I cannot comment on the pool as I never saw it. Apparently there were 14 other guests on the property but we did not hear nor see them Tranquillity itself.

Room Tip: Chalet 6 has by far the nicest view and is furthest away from other guests.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annakatrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuleika C, Manager at Zuleika Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for the lovely review and for taking the time to go into detail about the facilities. I apologise about the Google Map pin being in the wrong location, the pin was placed by an Tour Agent. I have placed a pin in the correct location but it reflects as Pin B. I have also reported the pin on several occasions to Google Maps as inaccurate and asked the agent to remove it but have had no success yet. I will keep trying until I get a response. I hope you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you again during your next visit to the area.

Kind Regards,
Megan Griffiths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Zuleika is what you would imagine a guest house in South Africa to be. The grounds are beautiful and the view of the mountains are stunning. The staff was very professional and the food was absolutely delicious. The room we stayed in (#5) was very nice. This is a lovely 4 star property.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichiganTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuleika C, Manager at Zuleika Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for the lovely review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will return to sunny South Africa in the near future and visit us again.

Kind Regards,
Megan Griffiths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Dear Altie,

Thank you to you & your staff for making us so welcome. Lovely appointed accommodation in a beautiful setting with outstanding table. Would not hesitate to repeat the experience and look forward to seeing you very soon

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MvanderBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuleika C, Owner at Zuleika Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Meagan.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay, we are happy to hear that the service, rooms, meals and surroundings met all your expectations. We enjoyed having your family here over the weekend and we hope your son will enjoy Hoedspruit. We definitely look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
Altie Scholtz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at Zuleika on our way from Blyde to the Kruger Park. What a lovely experience. Quirky rooms and garden. Our room, though small, had everything we needed. Wonderfully clean and filled with all sorts of amenities. Much to our surprise, we were the only guests for dinner. But quietly we enjoyed the breathtaking view, surroundings and absolutely delicious food. What a treat. And the winelist offered some excellent choice.
Breakfast the next morning was served on the veranda. Loads of choice to get us started.
Can really recommend staying there.
One small note, please provide us guests with some more detail on activities in the immediate surroundings. I believe Hoedspruit is well worth the visit for more than one night.

Room Tip: Room with a veranda
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimoneMeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuleika C, Manager at Zuleika Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for the lovely review. We can definitely provide you with details of the excursions available in our area. There is plenty to do and keep you busy for a few days. Please feel free to email me at zuleika@tiscali.co.za and I will send you our excursions file. We also have an excursions file in reception for your perusal. We hope you will return for a longer stay in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Megan Griffiths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

What a gem this place proved to be with excellent room facilities and very good food. The garden is attractive with a large pond and stunning views across to mountains in the distance. We stayed here for 2 nights and found it to be very comfortable indeed. I would highly recommend this place for a stop over.

Room Tip: Take a dip in the pool - it's worth it
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuleika C, Manager at Zuleika Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

We greatly appreciate your positive feedback. Thank you for choosing to stay at Zuleika Country House and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards,
Megan Griffiths

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews