We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zuleika Country House
Nearby Hotels
umVangati House(Hoedspruit)
US$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Unembeza Boutique Lodge & Spa(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
US$156
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Vuyani Safari Lodge(Hoedspruit)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Becks Safari Lodge(Hoedspruit)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
25
24
8
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
24
8
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2009

I absolutely loved staying at Zuleika Country House. The people are the most friendly people in the world and they really make your stay as comfortable and homey as possible.
We felt at home from the first minute we arrived and I think we will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrietjeJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

After reading the previous review I felt compelled to write as my experience at Zuleika was completely different to theirs. Unfortunately, we were only able to stay one night during our most recent trip to South Africa in November 2008. We wished that we could have stayed longer.
The accommodation was very clean and comfortable. Our room, one of the deluxe with canyon views, was very different to the normal style of bland hotel accommodation on offer. It was a mixture of African rondavel and colonial elegance. The stone bath was in the large well furnished bedroom. There was a four poster bed with mosquito nets (which we did not need) a large shower, AC and a lovely outside area for sitting and enjoying a sundowner in the evening. The outdoor restaurant was where we enjoyed an excellent evening meal and a fabulous breakfast. The swimming pool was unusual in design but provided a perfect respite from the African summer heat. The water appeared very clean and we were the only people swimming, so it felt like our own private pool.
The couple who manage the hotel were hard working and discrete, but available if needed. I never saw the dogs in the restaurant, but enjoyed their company in the large well tended gardens.
My only negative comment could be that the road to the property was a little rough, but this probably helps slow down reckless drivers.
If you want a bland style 'Holiday Inn' experience, do not stay at Zuleika. However, if you want a taste of Africa, stay here and enjoy its uniqueness and its peace and solitude. Good food, reasonable bar prices and a gorgeous garden setting with great views. I would have no qualms about returning, but I would stay for longer next time.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

Upon arrival we were told that the room was not yet ready (noon) and we were given some friendly advise as to where we could go for lunch and do some sightseeing. Upon our return at app. 3pm the room was ready and we were brought to it but were only given sparse explanation about facilities etc. The room was decorated in a rather alternative style. Several broken bulbs throughout and only one bedside lamp was working since there was only an adapter on one side of the bed. It is a family room and yet besides the bed there are insect poison capsules (for the insect repellant machine) that can easily be mistaken by kids for turndown chocolates or sweets. Two dogs and a cat are all over the place and even walk between your legs when having dinner. Shower was very dirty (drainage cover was covered in hair of at least six previous occupants), a piece of soap of a previous guest was stuck agains the wall... Fridge and kitchen set up is nice, the milk that was placed attentively in the fridge had turned into yoghurt however. Poolwater is brown and we were worried that it would not be good for our kids to swim in, but according to the management it was fine... Umbrella's were down and can impossibly be opened by one person alone. When asking for help a friendly lady was sent that has never seen an umbrella before. For a personal styled B&B the management should inspect more rooms and be more present!! The dinner ( afixed menu that was included in the price) was a poor performance, the waiter did not know what was served and had to ask the kitchen every time he served a course. Starter was nice; main course was oxtail?? Not a very popular dish in a set menu and when there is no sufficient light to actually see what you eat is becomed annoying.. Upon check out the bill still had to be prepared and the manager had to phone other people to get a simple invoice established. I observed that the 4 star Grading certificate in fact dates from Jan 2007. All in all this could be a great place but the rooms need to be clean and the staff need to be trained better or the owners / management need to show more personal attention.

We planned to stay for 2 night but checked out after one because we were rather disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nuynis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2008

Spent 2 nights at Zuleika - good base for exploring area - accommodation "African" style (not luxurious but clean, comfortable and with good food).

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2008

We stayed at this place during our honeymoon in South Africa. It was a wonderful hidden getaway. The property is beautiful- we had a great time exploring the area around the house and playing with the dogs that lived at Zuleika. Sadly, we were only able to stay there for one night but the dinner and breakfast the next morning were delicious! The room was huge- very clean and spacious. The bathroom was so unique- I loved the stone shower! It was a wonderful experience. If I am ever in South Africa again, I will definitely stay at the Zuleika Country House again!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerseycitygirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews