We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bushriver Lodge(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$84
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$378
US$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Timbavati Safari Lodge(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
US$100
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Belgium Inn(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blyde Mountain Country House(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Baobab Bush Lodge(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blue Cottages Country House(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
US$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Becks Safari Lodge(Hoedspruit)
US$865
US$836
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$401
US$384
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
AM Lodge(Hoedspruit)
US$724
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
25
24
8
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
24
8
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2009

We stayed here in october 2009 for one night on our way to Kruger NP. We had room #4 because we especifically asked for it when we saw the pics online. It was huge! There was a shower and a bath tub, and the bed was large and comfy. The complimentary sherry bottle was a very nice touch. The rate included a 3-course dinner and breakfast, and we really enjoyed the food (we tried ostrich for the first time!).
It is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chufina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

I loved staying at Zuleika, a beautiful lodge which is located on a lemon farm. I had an absolutely beautiful room and the staff was great. The receptionist spent half an hour helping me contact the tour agencies near Hoedspruit, which I thought was really nice. They really cater to your ever need there.The food is delicious and they have the most adorable and friendly dogs I have ever met. You get extremely good value for your money here - I can only recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klute72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

I absolutely loved staying at Zuleika Country House. The people are the most friendly people in the world and they really make your stay as comfortable and homey as possible.
We felt at home from the first minute we arrived and I think we will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrietjeJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2009

After reading the previous review I felt compelled to write as my experience at Zuleika was completely different to theirs. Unfortunately, we were only able to stay one night during our most recent trip to South Africa in November 2008. We wished that we could have stayed longer.
The accommodation was very clean and comfortable. Our room, one of the deluxe with canyon views, was very different to the normal style of bland hotel accommodation on offer. It was a mixture of African rondavel and colonial elegance. The stone bath was in the large well furnished bedroom. There was a four poster bed with mosquito nets (which we did not need) a large shower, AC and a lovely outside area for sitting and enjoying a sundowner in the evening. The outdoor restaurant was where we enjoyed an excellent evening meal and a fabulous breakfast. The swimming pool was unusual in design but provided a perfect respite from the African summer heat. The water appeared very clean and we were the only people swimming, so it felt like our own private pool.
The couple who manage the hotel were hard working and discrete, but available if needed. I never saw the dogs in the restaurant, but enjoyed their company in the large well tended gardens.
My only negative comment could be that the road to the property was a little rough, but this probably helps slow down reckless drivers.
If you want a bland style 'Holiday Inn' experience, do not stay at Zuleika. However, if you want a taste of Africa, stay here and enjoy its uniqueness and its peace and solitude. Good food, reasonable bar prices and a gorgeous garden setting with great views. I would have no qualms about returning, but I would stay for longer next time.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

Upon arrival we were told that the room was not yet ready (noon) and we were given some friendly advise as to where we could go for lunch and do some sightseeing. Upon our return at app. 3pm the room was ready and we were brought to it but were only given sparse explanation about facilities etc. The room was decorated in a rather alternative style. Several broken bulbs throughout and only one bedside lamp was working since there was only an adapter on one side of the bed. It is a family room and yet besides the bed there are insect poison capsules (for the insect repellant machine) that can easily be mistaken by kids for turndown chocolates or sweets. Two dogs and a cat are all over the place and even walk between your legs when having dinner. Shower was very dirty (drainage cover was covered in hair of at least six previous occupants), a piece of soap of a previous guest was stuck agains the wall... Fridge and kitchen set up is nice, the milk that was placed attentively in the fridge had turned into yoghurt however. Poolwater is brown and we were worried that it would not be good for our kids to swim in, but according to the management it was fine... Umbrella's were down and can impossibly be opened by one person alone. When asking for help a friendly lady was sent that has never seen an umbrella before. For a personal styled B&B the management should inspect more rooms and be more present!! The dinner ( afixed menu that was included in the price) was a poor performance, the waiter did not know what was served and had to ask the kitchen every time he served a course. Starter was nice; main course was oxtail?? Not a very popular dish in a set menu and when there is no sufficient light to actually see what you eat is becomed annoying.. Upon check out the bill still had to be prepared and the manager had to phone other people to get a simple invoice established. I observed that the 4 star Grading certificate in fact dates from Jan 2007. All in all this could be a great place but the rooms need to be clean and the staff need to be trained better or the owners / management need to show more personal attention.

We planned to stay for 2 night but checked out after one because we were rather disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nuynis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews