We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
52
93
48
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
93
48
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews picnic spot safari tent rest camp northern section camping area small camp far north game viewing antelope species small shop caravan park rooms are very basic communal cooking large fridge peace and quiet lovely deck shower toilet
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2018

Well run camp. Shop a bit small and no magazines available. Small and friendly and we had a lovely stay in the camping site. Making lots of friends as everybody talks to each other. The monkeys are the only ones to be watched. The staff try their best to keep them at bay but they still manage to grab the odd fruit and sandwich. Like the one guy said to me as I said there goes your lunch with a giggle " its not a joke" ha ha. The elephants were very angry when we were there especially one female with a very bent tooth. This group also made a charge for us on a drive. Lovely to sit in the hide and come so close to the animals. Ablutions clean and staff very friendly. Saw beautiful lions too.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank heineraudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

This is a great camp to get away from the noise and congestion found in the bigger camps. Loved the way the historic look and feel was kept. The safari tents are amazing with some of the best views in the camp. This camp might not offer the great game viewing found in the south of the park but more than makes up for it in bird and plant richness, character and plain old peace and quiet.

The only minor irritations were the less than attentive front desk staff and the occasional whiff from what smelled like an overworked sewage system.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank phumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Love this camp - very peaceful! Beautiful base to travel on lovely drives!
Unfortunately no view of the park from the accommodation. There is a waterhole at the camping site - great sightings of Elephants
Accommodation very basic. Combination little rooms/safari tents and family houses. We would recommend the safari tents - really special!

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Leighbl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

we were on a holiday of tranquility and this small well run camp was just what we needed. rooms are very basic, with outdoor communal cooking arrangements, but the restaurant was an alternate option which we chose and food was good and reasonably priced. did some much needed washing at a bargain price of R8 for the washing and R5 for the tumble drying. lovely rock pool - most enjoyable as the weather was rather hot

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

A small rest camp in the northern section of Kruger National Park. Rooms and 6-7 safary tents are available. The safary tents have beautiful decks with outdoor kitchens and private bathrooms. Fans but no Air Conditioning. The kitchens are well appointed. A bit of a walk from the parking lot to the cabins but that allows for a very private setting. The tents are surrounded by short trees so there are good opportunities to see birds. During our 2-night stay we saw Whooly-tailed bush babies and an Aardvark right next to our deck. Many birds also. Punda Maria has a restaurant with ok but not special food , a short trail that takes you very close to the perimeter fence, a waterhole that is lit at night. This waterhole is in the campground and there is an area to sit and enjoy the visiting animals. We did a night drive with Promise, an excellent female guide. Learned a lot during our 2.5 hour drive.
The rooms are separate from the tent area, they are small but clean and have AC, refrigerator and a kettle for boiling water. This is a restcamp worth staying at.

Room Tip: Safary tents are great but don't have air conditioning. warm in summer
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarracenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews