We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gecko Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$239
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aan de Vliet(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$108
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$110
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
aha Casa do Sol(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Highgrove House(Hazyview)
US$201
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sanbonani Resort(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$582
US$563
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$138
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
98
77
32
13
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
77
32
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskruger parkkruger experiencecomfortable bedspanorama routesouth africastayed for one nightevery eveningthe riverbeautiful groundstwo nightsevery morningphabeni gateanjabackpackerslodgeaccommodationsafari
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2015

I had a wonderful stay at Gecko Lodge. From the way we were greeted on arrival, to the choice of our table and service at dinner and breakfast, through to being waved off as we hopped back on our bikes for the next part of our trip we were perfectly looked after. I loved my room with it's gorgeous decor, the most comfortable bed I slept in on a 2 week tour (taking in 7 other lodges). The swimming pool was so welcome. the whole lodge has a really tranquil atmosphere and is set in beautiful grounds. Dinner was delicious. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Odette79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeckoLodge, Owner at Gecko Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2015

Thank you very much for your excellent review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you enjoyed your Bike ride to Graskop as well ?! Well done !

We hope to see you again :-)

Warm regards
Gideon & Anja
Gecko Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

We had a great stay at gecko lodge. Room is large, romantic and clean. Personnel is very friendly and food is delicious. We also appreciated the good and comfortable beds. Located near Kruger park and panorama route. Overall a highly recommended place to stay!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Tsjitske Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeckoLodge, Owner at Gecko Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Gecko Lodge! we are sooo happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again one day :-)

Kind regards
Anja
Gecko Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

We have a wonderful stay in this lodge with wonderful African braai and a African dance performance, this was fantastic. If we get back we will join again 100%! We never forget this trip. The tips we get was really helpful for the future travel! Thanks a lot !

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeckoLodge, Owner at Gecko Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the Traditional Dance group! we are looking forward to welcome you again :-)

See you hopefully soon
Gideon and Anja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Very friendly and helpful staff. We left very early every morning to go into the park and got packed breakfasts. Lovely location. Very clean rooms. There are security guards on duty at night and they are very visible, so very safe location. Swimming pool was an added bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martie31280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anjab7266, Owner at Gecko Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2015

Thank you very much for your review and thank you very much for staying at Gecko Lodge!
It was an absolute pleasure to have you and your family for the Long weekend :-)

we hope that we will see you again!

Kind regards
Gideon & Anja
Gecko Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights, when we arrived it was still not dark so we walk around, there is a big field of macadamia trees along the path that goes to the river, where probably there are crocodiles and hippos, we were not that lucky to see them. We had dinner in the restaurant, 3courses menu for R150. Really great. And we got a packaged breakfast for the day after.
After visiting kruger park we arrived at the hotel and surprise!! BBQ and after a traditional SA dance, really great!
Breakfast in the morning was not outstanding, but the overall experience was great

Stayed: September 2015
Thank Pepusina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anjab7266, Owner at Gecko Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
also good to hear that you enjoyed our Macadamia Trees and the Dance Show, it is a very festive evening indeed :-)

Hope to see you again
Kind regards
Anja, Gecko lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews