We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Nearby Hotels
Aan de Vliet(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$254
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$239
US$213
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highgrove House(Hazyview)
US$384
US$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$110
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
aha Casa do Sol(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$110
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sanbonani Resort(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$582
US$563
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
61
135
59
31
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
135
59
31
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstir frynice hotelbuffet dinnerkruger national parkhotel lobbybuffet styletour groupoutdoor poolthatched roofbig roomeach morningspent two nightsrooms are cleanwi fibeautiful groundscomfortable staynumbi gate
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

Spent 2 nights using this as our tour group's base for our tour of Kruger National Park. It is a very beautiful hotel with very large rooms. We had 2 double beds with end seats, a larger than usual refrigerator, a nice desk, and a relaxing chair. There was a small balcony, but beware of leaving the door or any Windows open as the monkeys are rather aggressive. One of our group forgot for a short time to close hers but returned soon enough to keep one from invading,

The grounds are beautiful with a great view and very nice pool. The dinner buffets were excellent. I talked with a chef who was grilling outside and he told me that the venison he was serving was Impala but that sometimes he used kudo.

The only negative was that their internet and tv was down for he time we were there. They were working to get it back up.

They also can arrange tours of Kruger if needed.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank zrealtopcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

If you understand that the location of the hotel is remote, then the property is great. It is a quick 25 minute ride to Kruger Park and it is well maintained. The dinner buffet was very good. The issue will be the shower, which leaks out into the bathroom floor because of the lack of a full curtain/door and the AC was very noisy. The WiFi is only available in the lobby, bars and restaurant areas. But great customer service and great location for Kruger Park.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018

The best part of what we liked at this hotel was the outdoor grounds out back. Very scenic, we took some nice photos with the beautiful views. We wished we could have enjoyed that longer, but we had arrived later in the day and only had a short time to explore before it got dark. The room was spacious, but two things we did not like was sand/dirt from outside when you used the patio doors to come back inside and we had trouble with a leaky shower. The floor was quite wet in the bathroom and then mix that with the sand/dirt from outside and we had to wear shoes the whole time after showering and before bed. We were not "happy campers", but we were traveling with a tour group and we stayed only one night. We did not complain, because we were leaving, but it bothers me that the people who clean do not tell maintenance about the showers that leak onto the floors, quite heavily. Otherwise everything else was just average. We had breakfast the next morning and that was also just ok. Thankfully, the rest of the hotels on our trip touring were all much better. To the hotel people in charge, check on those rooms after they are serviced, to see what is going on.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sandra n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

Internet only in public areas & the night we were there it was out completely. It would seem as if Marriott could do better. Yes, this is South Africa but Radisson seems to have figured it out. Buffet was pretty good. There was roast beef, whole chickens so you could get white meat, beets, roasted potatoes, butternut squash soup, acorn squash halves, stir fry like a Mongolian BarBQ, green beans, impala, fresh fruit cocktail, coleslaw, bread pudding, blueberry ice cream, choc ice cream, rolls, choc tarts, lemon tarts, & more. Rooms were nice sized. AC wasn’t on when we arrived but it cooled down fairly quickly. Nice thick towels.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank retired43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed here to be near Kruger with our 3 year old. It was very convenient for driving to the park, and they will pack a breakfast for you if you want to get an early start. The view at the hotel is lovely, and there is a nice pool and playground to keep kids and adults happy. The food was good, but nothing amazing. We would recommend this for people wanting some relaxation with easy access to Kruger.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank zack52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews