We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Thulamela(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hazyview Cabanas(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rissington Inn(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
aha Casa do Sol(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aan de Vliet(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bambuu Lakeside Lodge(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

BTV Guesthouse(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
US$258
US$202
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 55% below average rates

The price you found is 55% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$450/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
336
18
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
18
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh flowerskruger national parkpanorama routeperfect hostsdecanter of sherrylittle touchesturn down servicesouth africamoment you arrivefriendly dogswarm hospitalitybeautiful spotlittle piece of heavencooked breakfastvery special placehazyview arearental car
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2017

After traveling the whole day it was a real treat to arrive at Plumbago Guest House and to receive the warm welcome from the wonderful Ilara! The property is beautifully situated with a stunning view and is convenient for an overnight stay before you head to the Kruger National Park. The room was wonderfully appointed and the special touches, including the "Africology" toiletries, made our stay extra memorable. We had arranged to have our meal "on site" that night and together Ilara and Robbie provided a 5 star meal. Wowzers! Right from the Kudu Carpaccio to the Kingklip and finishing off with the poached pear - yummalicious! Every attention to detail was covered, - chilled glasses for the bubbles to the hot plates for the main course to name a few. I would definitely recommend a stay at Plumbago - food for the soul. Thank you Ilara and Robbie! :)

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalTravelingGnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plum1mp, Owner at Plumbago Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

WoW!!!!
What an awesome review - THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU !!!!
we are delighted that you were so happy in our home.

We do hope to see you again soon! so we can do more for you :-)
all was done with love

wishing you a wonderful 2017
x ilara Robbie Staff and Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Perfect location, super service and wonderfull rooms. Breakfast was one of the best we got in Africa. Ilara & Rob are perfect hosts. The garden and pool are also very nice with a great view, They were very helpful with information and we will certainly come back to this location.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hansduijst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plum1mp, Owner at Plumbago Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Dear Hans,
thank you so much for the lovely review - we hope to see you again soon!
wishing you all a wonderful 2017
regards ilara Robbie and the Plumbago Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

What a pleasant surprise it was to find this cozy place tucked among the acres upon acres of banana and macadamia nut plantations.Our hosts iLara, Robbie and their 3 dogs gave us a warm welcome. The food was excellent and the rooms were first rate. Dinner and breakfast were simply divine.

Our daughter left her jacket in the closet and iLara so graciously went out of her way to mail it to her. Knowing how far the nearest post office was, this was no small favor. Now that's what I call going the extra mile. Robbie played ball with my 8 yr old son and taught him how to catch flying ants. It was a wonderful and memorable experience for all of us.

If ever you're in that part of South Africa, it's a place definitely worth staying. We look forward to our return.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guo Xing L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plum1mp, Owner at Plumbago Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Hello All :-)
So lovely to read your message thank you!!
I hope the jacket is nearly there ....
We loved having you in our home and i hope you viisit us again in the near future.
Robbie need the exercise - hahhaaaa
take care and a happy 2017 to everyone!!
ilara Robbie and The Plumbago Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017

This was an excellent place to stay.
The location was perfect to be based centrally for all our activities.
Mike the owner made sure all our needs were met and he checked up on several occasions before and during the trip to make sure were sure of our arrangements. And to see if he could offer any further assistance
We will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jamesdZ7941EP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plum1mp, Owner at Plumbago Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Dear Guest
thank you so much for your wonderful words -
We are glad you were Happy at Plumbago Guest House.
Your very kind words are much appreciated.
We loved having you in our home - and hope we see you again soon in the near future.
Take care - wishing you a wonderful 2017 full of laughter and good health.
warm regards,
ilara Robbie and The Plumbago Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017

We were lucky enough to stay here for two nights, just after Christmas. We were welcomed by Ilara and Robbie and their three dogs. They showed us the property and our two suites and made us feel right at home. The amenities were wonderful and very environmentally friendly. Tea and coffee facilities in the room and also a mini fridge which came in handy. We were given useful tips on what to see and where to eat. Breakfast was a treat! Lovely to look at and in a warm and inviting setting. Ilara baked some gluten free bread for me and it was the best bread I have tasted in a long time! I would definitely love to come back some day!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic, beautiful views and very private, you can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NiqueSlied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plum1mp, Owner at Plumbago Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Dear All
thank you for your wow! words - this is much appreciated xx
making the bread for you was a great pleasure - I hope you had enough ... after you left us to see you though for the next few mornings.
We hope to see you all soon again - take care and keep in touch
Happy 2017 to everyone
warm regards ilara Robbie and The Plumbago Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews