We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Selati 103 Guest Cottages(Malelane)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rio Vista Lodge(Malelane)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Buhala Lodge(Malelane)
US$257
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Belvedere-on-River(Malelane)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barnstormers Rest(Malelane)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kruger View Chalets(Malelane)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hhusha Hhusha(Malelane)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
86
25
12
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
25
12
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskruger national parkcrocodile rivercooked breakfastone nighttraditional south african foodnothing is too muchthe ownerpersonal touchviewing deckmalelane gategame comingthe perfect hostall sortspool tableplace to staybeautiful viewa lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2017

The River House Lodge is located in a very special place, on the river bank.
The public areas and the garden are very nice and taken care of, Everything is good until the minute you enter the room : the beds are old, the blankets are like in the British Army 50 years ago. The room is not clean! There are walking insects all over. In the bathroom the same, not clean and not welcoming.
We were staying there for 3 night, we paid a lot of money and we were completely disappointed! i cannot recommend this lodge

Room Tip: all room are the same, except size of the room
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chayuta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan141158, Owner at River House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear Chayuta, Thanks for your nice review, so sorry u had bad experience, wish I could get "old Blackest" from British Army , would have been nice collection for River House since the rest of the lodge was ok and clean . Hope the rest of your holiday in South Africa was wonderful !!
Kind regards,
Johan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Once I started looking for an accommodation, the River House Lodge caught my eye right away. Upon arrival, the greeting was really nice. We got shown around and brought up to our room.
We have gotten the room, with the best view, looking right at the river and Krueger National Park. The room was very big. As a welcome, a fruit basket was waiting for us.
The River House Lodge is decorated with so much love. A lot of things to look at.
A refreshing dip into the pool was great, especially looking right at hippos in the river.
Dinner was very yummy and service really friendly.
Night spotting for animals from the deck was great and adventurous!
Perfect night sleep, really quiet and felt super safe.
Breakfast as well was really good and a lot to eat.
Also had a nice conversation with the owner, which was really pleasant.
Such a pitty, we had to move on, but if we are going to be back, we will be back at the River House Lodge for sure.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view towards Krüger National Park
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinkerbell111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan141158, Owner at River House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Dear Tinkerbell !!, A review like this makes my staff and myself so happy !!! we all work so hard to make our guests - (then friends) feel welcome and convertible in our house !!! So nice to hear that all was fantastic and that u enjoyed every moment !! Hope to see u and all your friends soon, This is the type of review that people must read before they book at an "old fashioned " Guest House with "traditional food"
Thanks again Tinkerbell
Kind regards,
Johan ( Daf)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Not our first visit to River House, and definitely not our last. As always we had a lovely stay and made new friends in the coziest bar in the lowveld. Food was great and felt completely at home. I would recommend River House to anyone wanting to visit the lowveld / Kruger.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BraamBeukes001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan141158, Owner at River House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Braam , Thanks for the wonderful review , it was so nice to see u 2 again , and the nice evening with Linda and her husband, did u ask the big question in the bath ...??? Hope to see u soon.
Kind regards,
Johan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed 5 days in this guesthouse and had a great time. The location is absolutely perfect. Sometimes animals walk from the Kruger Park at the opposite side through the river to the lodge. Just in front of the lodge there were always hippos in the water. You could observe them from the deck or from your lounger seat at the pool. Every evening we got a lovely 3-course menu, delicious. We also found it very convenient that we didn’t have to go out to a restaurant in the evening. In the morning they serve traditional South African breakfast, too much for me, however, as a Belgian I must admit the fries were very good. (lekker!) The bar in the guesthouse is very cosy. The owner and his staff are very friendly and helpful. This lodge is top value for money!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LindaBelgica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan141158, Owner at River House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Thank you Linda , the two of u were just wonderful guests , I loved the way that u had no problem to do a lot of translations for me - just at the write time !! write place !!, u saved my life - Hoedspruit and Malelane ....!!! Thanks for the beautiful review and I'm glad that you love my "old fashioned" house/ lodge with the "traditional food" made by Maruis. Hope to see u soon !! found the black bag and will post it back to u.
Kind regards,
Johan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

With my wife we could stay some days at the River House Lodge.
The overall property is arranged in a very nice way where you can feel the personal touch of the owner and the love for details from him. Everything was prepared nicely in a great way. The decoration of the house with all those collector's items is overwhelming.
Definitely worth to mention is the deck overlooking the river. Sitting there with a drink and watching the animals on a short distance is certainly a highlight of our overall holidays. The safari to Kruger Park was another highlight.
I should also mention the pool, the garden, bar, the great food and certainly the very personal way of the complete team being the perfect host.
Thanks to Johan for the great time!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gunterq2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan141158, Owner at River House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

All that I can say is: thanks !!, thanks !! , to receive a review like this , makes u feel : that my staff and myself would keep on walking that extra mile , with a smile for all our guests !! So glad that u enjoy every moment @ River House and hope to see u and all your friends soon.
Kind regards,
Johan & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews