We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Nearby Hotels
La Kruger Lifestyle Lodge(Marloth Park)
US$111
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kruger Boutique Hotel(Marloth Park)
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$49
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$283
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casterbridge Hollow(White River)
US$258
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Promenade(Nelspruit)
US$57
US$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
97
163
105
43
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
163
105
43
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmalelane gatethe riverdinner buffetmain buildingdeluxe roomliterally minutesmain assettwo couplesbreakfast packshippos and crocodilescape towngame drivesperfect viewgolf courseleopard creeksafaripark
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 439 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

The lodge has an authentic 'game reserve' feel with modern luxuries. The staff were friendly and accommodating for the most part (although I am sure there would have been more bounce in their steps if we were staying in a suite). Facilities are plentiful in the lodge itself (pools, braai area, fire pit, viewing deck overlooking Crocodile River). An extra charge is set for use of some facilities. Very close to Malelane gate, a few hundred meters. Rooms are cozy and comfortable, cleaning and turn down service included. No wifi. No personal braai area.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Bradelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKL_Manager, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and writing a positive review for Pestana Kruger Lodge, we always use our guests feedback with the rest of the team for training and to ensure that we are able to deliver the special guest experience that we are striving to achieve.

We are busy with some new and exciting projects at the property and we hope to see you back again soon.

All the best
Colin Firstbrook
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

This hotel does a great job of providing a beautiful stay where you can connect with nature. This is not a luxury lodge but it is a economical place with great amenities. Each family gets their own home which has a tv, AC, and bathroom. Our home had a main bedroom area with large windows and a bathroom with tub and shower. It was not the most luxurious as it is in need of renovation but it was clean and comfortable. The staff can be a little slow but it is manageable. The lodge is perfect if you are here to go on a safari. There is a company on site who can take you for a safari so you don't even have to book well in advance to experience Kruger National Park.

There is a main reception area where they have a bar and fresh juices with beautiful views of the Crocodile River. We saw many elephants, hippos, and crocs from the balcony. We were lucky to experience A Boma Dinner at the lodge where they had set up a beautiful fire under the African sky, We enjoyed a sumptuous buffet and delicious fresh juices. Overall, it was a great experience and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a lodge for a great price.

Room Tip: Try to stay closer to the main reception lodge - it is more accessible to the pool area as well!
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonalib4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKL_Manager, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2017

Dear Sona

Thank you so much for your review.

First let me thank you for staying at Pestana Kruger Lodge.
The Lodge is currently undergoing a lot of positive improvements and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I will share your feedback with the rest of the team in our ongoing training sessions. We are working hard towards trying to achieve service excellence and provide memorable experience for all our guests.
I would like to thank you for your support and I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back into the hotel.

Kind regards
Colin Firstbrook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

We mingled with nature in the tranquility of the wild. We spent 3 nights of rest to celebrate our 14th anniversary with the #Loveofmylife the place is lovely with lovely people serving us. Our room was overlooking the crocodile river every morning greeting with the sound of running water in the nearby stream coupled with the sounds of rhinoceroses. We enjoyed just a quite time. The only downside was that we didn't have access to internet in the rooms and we could access it at the dining/reception area thus it was difficult to get in touch with the kids. My wife went to the spa which she enjoyed very much. Thank you for the hospitality and allowing those monkeys to monkey around it made it more fun to see them being allowed to be natural in their habitat

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank clementnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKL_Manager, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Dear Guest

First let me thank you for staying at Pestana Kruger Lodge and for taking the time to complete our Survey and feedback to us on your experience at the property.
The Lodge is currently undergoing a lot of positive improvements, from New linen in all our rooms to improvements in various other areas with more positive changes planned for 2017 and 2018. Along with these changes comes a new management team with myself the New General Manager for the property.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I will share your feedback with the rest of the team in our ongoing training sessions. We are working hard towards trying to achieve service excellence and provide memorable experience for all our guests.
I would like to thank you for your support and I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back into the hotel.

Kind regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

he worst hotel I have ever stayed in
The general manager should be fired- he is rude , abrupt and un accommodating
They are trying to rip off the guests at every opportunity - charge R 34 a tomotoe juice ( 250 ML) , kids have to pay R 55 to go on a water slide that is part of the facilities , if you want to eat in the boma they charge you R 3500 venue hire when you a guest in the hotel .
The kitchen is filthy - health and safety hazard
the hotel needs a complete overhaul - its more like a camping facility -
Bathroom and towels are run down , dirty -
Dont waste your money !!!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kirsty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKL_Manager, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Dear Kirsty

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we regret not having met your expectations.
Unfortunately, as we have explained, we made your sunset Safari booking as per your request, and we even tried to find you when you did not show up at the scheduled time. Unfortunately the Park has a 100% cancelation policy, outside of our control, and we could not do anymore to help you nor accommodate a different solution.

Thank you for your request for a private party at our Buoma, as explained this exclusivity requires the renting of the venue, which was not accepted by you, we understand, otherwise we offer a Buoma experience on a weekly basis for R350 per person.
Regarding the cleanliness of our open kitchen, we follow all health and safety regulations, but also take pride in caring about our clients’ satisfaction and well being, so this is very important to us.
Thank you for your feedback

Pestana Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

We had a very pleasant stay at the hotel. From the hotel terrace we saw some hippos and rhinos. The staff was very friendly and did a great job with helping us to book a walking tour at Krüger Nationalpark. Furthermore we had delicous food.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank the_traveller_2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKL_Manager, General Manager at Pestana Kruger Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Dear Guest

First let me thank you for staying at Pestana Kruger Lodge and for taking the time to complete
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I will share your feedback with the rest of the team in our ongoing training sessions. We are working hard towards trying to achieve service excellence and provide memorable experience for all our guests.
I would like to thank you for your support and I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back into the hotel.

Kind regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews