We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
4
17
16
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
17
16
15
14
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2018

neat clean and tidy rooms with friendly housekeeping staff - air conditioners works well and the game casually walking past our door was really a great experience. The central pool was clean and well maintained. The breakfast experience not so great - the F&B manager who was having a smoke with another staff member whistle to a waiter to clear our plates and then without washing his hands went on to stir the food and handle cups - perhaps a course in basic hygiene might be call for. The chef was chatty and interacted well with the guests - perhaps some brown bread under the bacon would remove some of the grease.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenMatthews1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations552, other at Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences after your visit at Bakgatla/Manyane and Pilanesberg. We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced during your stay.There will be follow up on what you have raised in your review and hope that this will convince you to change your mind about another visit to our resorts. Once again,thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

There is a limited choice of accommodation around Pilanesberg and we chose Baktagla as based on our last experience, large lodges in the park are really overpriced for what they have on offer. Basically, the accommodation in Bagkatla had everything we needed on a rainy night, our chalet was reasonably clean a equipped with all we wanted. One of the lights did not work, but it had been fixed by the staff in an hour or so, so no complaints there. Unfortunately the surrounding woods are full of lose cats and in the morning we had some cat droppings or our terrace and subsequently on our soles as we had no idea there is some. Also their in room booklet does not give proper information on Pilanesberg park (actual entry fees are higher to these stated down there). On the contrary, breakfast was quite good in Baktagla..

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManaPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations552, Guest Relations Officer at Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences after your visit at Bakgatla Resort and Pilanesberg. We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced during your stay and hope this will convince you to change your mind about another visit to our resort.Once again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We stayed at Bagatla Camp site from Thursday 5 October to Sunday 8 October.
On our arrival when we checked in at the camp, the lady at reception gave us a notice that there will be a big party on the Friday evening and they apologize up front for the noise and inconvenience. I don't have an issue with the party but please notify campers in advance. We go to Pilansberg to enjoy nature and to be away from all the noise. We took leave from work to go and rest - not to be caught up in the middle for a party.

On Thursday evening the people that camped right next to us played their music soo loud until after 12 the evening. No action was taken against them.

It rained a lot over the weekend, and the bathrooms and showeres were full of mud. No one was there to ensure that the showers were cleaned on a regular basis.
Only a few toilets in our bathroom actually flashed.. the others did not have water. When the wind blew you could smell the terrible smell coming from the bathroom a mile away.

The kitchen where you need to wash the dishes were always dirty. You first had to clean the basins before you could start washing dishes. And everytime we got there morning or late afternoon there will be 3 - 4 workers sitting on the concrete table in the middle of the kitchen area playing on their phones.. no business in cleaning at all.

We will not return to Bagatla any time soon, and I will surely not recommend anyone going there to camp.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hanlie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestrelations552, Guest Relations Officer at Golden Leopard Resort - Bakgatla, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Sir/Madam


Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences after your visit at Bakgatla Resort and Pilanesberg. We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced during your stay.We will do follow up on what you have raised in your review as your feedback is very valuable to us. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We had a great time here, the safari guides were very informative and we were lucky to see lots of animals including lions, elephants, rhino, and even a leopard which was fantastic.

The accommodation is good but it was so hot in the upstairs sleeping area, no air con and the fan doesn't make much difference.
We missed having wifi as it was difficult to book and confirm onward travel plans.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating throughout.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lids123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2017

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for taking time to share your experiences after visiting Bakgatla.We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay.We will attend what you have raised in your review as your feedback is very valuable to us,and hope that this will convince you to change your mind about another visit to our resort.Once again,thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

My family and I love to start the New Year in a quiet space away from it all, so we always go camping the first week of every New year and this year was no different.

We particularly like to camp at Pilanesburg Bakgatla gate due to its good stands size, (electric and non electric), it's clean ablution facilities (toilet paper always provided) and good ground staff that keeps bins empty, braai stands and the pool clean at the start of every morning.

The sites will set you back between R150-R250pd depending on the size of family and whether electrified or Not. And there's a kiosk for the last minute things such as toiletry, braai wood, ice and cool drinks. Oh and of course a restaurant for those evenings when you feel like a dining like a king.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Refilwe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2017

Dear Mr/s Refilwe M

Thank you for taking time to share your experiences after visiting Bakgatla Resorts.The fact that you mentioned our resort without doubt,we love to read that you have enjoyed all the services you have been offered.Wish to host you again in the future.Once agai,thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews