We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Bijoux Hotel is truly a Jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Clarendon Bantry Bay
Ranked #1 of 7 Bantry Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2017

We have stayed here twice now and wouldn't stay anywhere else when in the Cape Town environs. It is the most friendly and relaxing hotel to stay in. The rooms are fantastic, the service is excellent and the breakfasts are really incredible. They include everything you could ever want with the buffet changing daily. Afternoon tea is a must with a different cake to enjoy every afternoon. Lunches can be ordered as an optional extra. Truly a super place to stay enjoy Cape Town.

Stayed: November 2016
Thank 96falcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay at this beautiful intimate boutique hotel. The views overlooking the ocean are spectacular. The staff is attentive and welcoming. The decor is luxurious down to the last detail. I would definitely return and highly recommend a stay here.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

WOW! What a great location and what incredible views over the Atlantic. You cannot beat that sunset and if it was Whale season what a great sight that would have been. We were maybe a month too early to witness the Whales in the Bay. Our rooms were at the Pool and with a breathtaking view, one cannot ask for more to be honest. Rooms are immaculate as expected with a sleeper couch which I was quarantined on by my wife as I was sick at the time. :). The Owner is also hands on, her name is Shirley and she will make you feel very welcome from the moment she sees you, the same can be said about the staff of course. The staff are extremely kind and wonderful beings and one person that Stood out was Andrew our lovely server at Breakfast, great personality and he goes the extra mile to make you feel special. We stayed two nights and the next morning we went for breakfast he knew exactly what we like and don't like so we had less time chatting about our order and more time to joke and chat about normal things. :) Location is great as it is a mere 10 minutes to the Waterfront for example so you can Uber it or Self drive. Many restaurants in the Bantry Bay area but your choices for restaurants are really endless as Cape Town is full of wonderful places to eat. I will go back to Clarendon in the future as they are busy with new refurbishments over this winter so I cannot wait to see the new look. Thank you guys, you really made us feel very special indeed. We really were sad to say good bye and wish we had stayed 5 nights. :)

Room Tip: If you are a family we were with a 8 and 17 year old I would recommend the lower level rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ryan George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017 via mobile

Our warm welcome on arrival from Tamsin set the tone for our four day stay, I knew instantly I would want to leave!!!
The lobby, the lounge area and the breakfast balcony open out literally into the ocean below, breathtaking!!
And then this is your room, it is OMG all over again! Spacious, spacious, spacious, with views pouring out to sea from the balcony and a bathroom bug enough to hold a dance in
Tamsin and her management colleagues were brilliant with restaurant recommendations, checking up with tour operators for time checks for the next day, and being there for any whim we may have. The breakfast team provided and served the most delicious and satisfying options.
The Bantry Bays location is very handy to Table Mountain, for the cable car or if you are doing a recommended hike, even closer for the precarious but "must do" Lions Head, on route to the Cape and only minutes for the CBD and the lively waterfront.
It was all too difficult wrenching ourselves away from this beautiful property, a return visit to CapeTown will not go without staying here again.
You have our highest recommendation, and we congratulate you on providing such excellence in the hospitality industry, you do CapeTown proud.
Oh, and the sunsets, they are worth the stay if for no other reason!!! Night after night of golden glowing entertainment!!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2017

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at The Clarendon Bantry Bay.

I was really happy to read that we delivered a service that met your expectations and that Tamzin had such a positive impact on your stay with us. I have passed your praise to the whole team, who were equally delighted to hear it. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, and it motivates us to work even harder when our high level of service is acknowledged.

The team at The Clarendon Bantry Bay is looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

What an incredible way to kick off our South African adventure. This boutique hotel is an absolutely perfect place to stay in Cape Town complete with attentive and helpful staff, delicious breakfasts and a view that can not be beat. We chose to spend more time in the hotel just to enjoy some bubbly on our balcony overlooking the ocean or swimming in the pool. The staff was so helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had the best stay. Would HIGHLY recommend and when we go back to Cape Town, we will absolutely be staying here agian!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2017

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Congratulations once again on your recent marriage! I trust that your day was filled with happy memories of the past and bright hopes for the future.

Thank you very much for choosing The Clarendon Bantry Bay as your destination of choice for your honeymoon – we are delighted to be a part of your very special memories.

I would really like to thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay, sharing your experience with us and other travelers.
It is the fantastic team that I am lucky to have here that makes The Clarendon Bantry Bay a very special place to work and for our guests to stay in. I have passed on your very kind words to them and I hope they we will have the chance to meet your expectations again in the very near future.

Many thanks for staying with us; we look forward to welcoming you back on many future anniversaries.

Warm regards,
Abraham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry Bay
0.0 km away
Compass House
Compass House
#6 of 6 in Bantry Bay
234 reviews
0.2 km away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
319 reviews
4.3 km away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bantry Bay
315 reviews
0.5 km away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
1,103 reviews
2.4 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Bantry Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Bantry Bay

Address: 158 Kloof Road, Bantry Bay 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Bantry Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry Bay
Price Range: $439 - $1,154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Clarendon Bantry Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small boutique hotel in the best area of Cape Town. Close to beaches, shops and restaurants. 7 Mins drive from the V & A Waterfront. 10 Mins to the City Centre and 5 mins to Camps Bay. We have 2 resident chefs, parking and free wi fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clarendon Bantry Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarendon Bantry Bay Hotel Bantry Bay
The Clarendon Bantry Bay Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing