We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for price”
Review of Camps Bay Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camps Bay Retreat
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Arrived after travelling 16 hours with 3 kids to be told we didnt have a reservation! Booking had been cancelled. Confirmation email received 8/11/2016. I have checked through my emails and have definitely not received any since 8/11/2016 which they stated. More effort should have been made to contact me. Took over an hour to sort but got 2 rooms together.
Unable to stay 4th night and sent to an apartment across the road. We were booked into 2 studios there. Thankfully the lady on reception was very nice and said we only needed one so that saved us $4000 Rand.
Very expensive for what it is. Not great spa facilities and pools are very small and dirty. Facilities wouldnt compare to most hotels at similar price range. £300 per room/night. Alot smaller grounds than expected.
Crane blocking view but this is temporary obviously. Building work in villa next door so very noisy especially after long flight from London and wanting to rest.
Charged extra for kids hot chocolate in am - this is ridiculous for prices paid. Wifi had to be paid for! havent heard of this for years.
Tennis court nice but wouldnt put lights on in evening.
Dogs a nuisance. Grounds too small so they were constantly under your feet. Not pleasant as they jumped in and out of stream/mountain pool and then shook themselves over you. Also jumped in and out of swimming pools to clean off. Not relaxing...
Very nice spacious rooms across rope bridge. Close to main strip.

Room Tip: Across rope bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarryBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton C, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Dear LarryBelfast,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your experience. We are disheartened to read that you did not have a pleasant experience at our beautiful hotel.

We will follow up on how your booking got lost and out all the preventative measures in place to ensure this does not happen again. Regarding the Wi-Fi, we have reconsidered and now offer all out guests complimentary, uncapped Wi-Fi.

Our property is 4 HA in size; our dogs have ample space to roam about. They usually leave guests alone when they get told off and it is strange that this was not the case with you.

Again, we apologise that your stay failed to meet your expectations; we have rectified the items deemed necessary.

Kind Regards,
Camps Bay Retreat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2017

Camps Bay Retreat was our first accommodation during our trip around Cape Town and it already set the bar very high. The rooms were great, the service was very kind and the location is a blast. Highly recommendable !

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brunel_andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Good day

Thank you for the review.

We are elated to hear you enjoyed your first hotel stay in Capetown and truly hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

hope to welcome you back in the near future.

kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

A Truly beautiful hotel the service was good and the majority of the staff were very friendly.The deck room was super,many thanks to VICTOR who looked after us.We loved the gardens and the secret walk to the gate that led to the main road and on to Camps Bay.My only moan......booked a facial and the time was changed.Thats ok.But when you arrive and they fob you off because a regular or special guest has taken your appointment its quite upsetting, you thought the service was genuine.!!!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul and sheena h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

HI Paul & Sheena

I am elated to hear you enjoyed our hotel.

My apologies to hear that your spa appointment was not done according to plan.
This issue will be address with the Spa so that we can improve on the standards provided.

hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

We spent 5 days here in the main house. The room was spacious and well maintained although we had an ant problem which took 2 days to get treated. The food at breakfast and lunch was very good and the staff in general pleasant and helpful. However if things get busy it takes a long time to get served and for the food to arrive. I was never aware who was actually managing the hotel. The staff on reception were as helpful as they could be. They also make it difficult to use any taxi service other than MGM who are contracted to the hotel. They have a minimum charge of 200 Rand which on the two short journeys we made was much more expensive than a London black cab so beware. We did nevertheless enjoy our stay but small things can be very aggravating

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tony032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Very mixed. For my first night I had a deck house room which I loved - unfortunately arriving early in the morning after a very delayed flight no-one pointed out it had a terrace and I was too tired to take in that it did! I should have arrived at the hotel the morning before.
I wish I had known about the terrace as it would have been perfect for recovering from the journey on rather than the somewhat noisier area by the main pool. The shower leaked all over the bathroom and despite asking several times for towels and cloths to mop it up and a repair, neither happened. Breakfast is good. Drinks and lunch service terribly, terribly slow.

One thing I really liked was the very cozy library which has a terrific range of books to borrow and enjoy. This would be a good place in rain! Also a very well maintained tennis court which we used.

When I returned my daughter and I had a suite in the main house. Although this is decorated in a colonial style which some would find sumptuous and luxurious, as a bit of a minimalist I found it a bit overwhelming and I much preferred the newer room in the deck house. We were smoked out by the regular
barbecue so could not use our covered balcony in the evening to watch the sunset. The air con was incredibly loud and we didn't know how to turn it down. Reception staff had left by 23.00. We were reluctant to leave windows open so settled for air con and did not sleep very well.

Charge for wifi in a 300 GBP a night hotel seems outrageous - this was the only hotel or guest house in South Africa in ten nights who charged for wifi.

Service ranges from fabulous - Andrew and the maids who were wonderful - to incompetent and rude, especially some of the bar and restaurant staff. No-one seems to really know what is going on at this hotel.

The legendary dogs and owner were not in evidence and perhaps had the owner been there, things would have been better. I wouldn't stay again as despite the wonderful view and location, it's too expensive for the service. I fear it is trading on its past reputation which is a shame as it could be absolutely wonderful and many people love it.

Room Tip: Deck house quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelledLondon6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.3 km away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
682 reviews
0.7 km away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,167 reviews
1.1 km away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.3 km away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
4.6 km away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camps Bay Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Retreat

Address: 7 Chilworth Road | The Glen, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: $404 - $917 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camps Bay Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camps Bay Retreat Luxury Boutique Hotel is a sanctuary for the soul, set on four acres of lush green nature reserve. With a mountain meditation pool, thickest of trees, waterfalls and streams, it is a peaceful paradise, where meditative moments are waiting to be had. Views stretch across the ever-changing Atlantic Ocean and along the peaks of the Twelve Apostles Mountain Range, from the Deck House and The Villa. The estate has features such as four pools, a tennis court, a spa and a fine dining restaurant. Dine in the old world splendour of the original manor house, where Von Kamptz Restaurant's executive chef creates a daily menu of gourmet fare, combining a symphony of fresh ingredients from local markets. Food is paired exquisitely with celebrated wines from the region, best experienced as part of a candlelit three course affair! Spoil yourself with a choice of massages, treatments and facials at the spa. Spend the day luxuriating in the spa, relaxing in the sauna and being revitalized with a deep tissue massage. A refuge for the body and a haven for the mind, you'll unravel and surrender to the tranquility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camps Bay Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Hotel Camps Bay
Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Retreat Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing