We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Westin Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
US$173
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$106
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Parliament Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$52
US$44
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveller rating
249
492
139
25
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
492
139
25
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong streetpedestrian mallhi expressst georges mallcentral locationper daygreen market squaregreenmarket squarecompany gardenswalking distancereception staffstayed at this hotel for nightstable mountainnight lifebreakfast buffetdouble bedrooms are small
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 909 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2017

The reception staff were very helpful and we were very appreciative of an early check in after our overnight flight.
The room was not large but had all facilities. Breakfast buffet had good choices. Location was very good with the handicraft markets outside and the ATM close by. The hotel offered a security person to accompany us to the ATM but we found there were security guards outside the ATM enclosure.when we needed to use. The manager was very kind when I had a robbery of a gold chain in the street and arranged for the police to come to me so I could give my report.
My impression was this hotel was a great place to stay, with easy access to shops and restaurants.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank JanCba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear JanCba
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your experience during your recent stay. I am so sorry to hear of the unfortunate incident regarding your gold chain but I am pleased to read that my management assisted you with this matter.
Many thanks for your kind comments relating to the impression that you have of the hotel.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

This was a nice experience to be in a location in down town cape town near to the shopping area and different nice restaurants in the area
The hotel hospitality was excellent
The valet parking guys helped directing us to the entrance and helped parking our car in a busy area of down town
The reception was very helpful and knowledgable of all the attraction and arrangements
Breakfast was very good
Rooms are very well equipped also

A very nice experience with a fair budget

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Osama K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Osama K
Thank you so much for the very favourable review of our hotel. I am so pleased to read that you had a nice experience during your recent stay with us. Your kind comments relating to the team is much appreciated and will be shared with them as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre a leader in excellence.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Well it's a city centre hotel run by a chain.

If you want wifi that doesn't run out within 10 mins of arrival, become a member of the IHG group of hotels club. It will give you unlimited wifi and points against further stays.

While it seems unfair to give only 3, I'm harsh on these things.

The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast was ok too. Good selection of hot and cold.

It just lacked atmosphere and the location is downtown, where as the action and beauty is at the waterfront.

The waterfront is about 20-30 mins depending on how fast you can put one foot in front of the other. Try and find something down there.

Parking is a reasonable R40 a day.

Otherwise can't complain

Stayed: June 2017
2  Thank happysuffolkgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Dear happysuffolkgirl
Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. I am saddened to read that the hotel did not meet your expectations as we usually receive such good comments regarding our location and facilities of the hotel. Being part of a brand certainly ensures that you know before hand what you can expect when staying with us.
Many thanks for your kind comments relating to the friendly and helpful team.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

The good: Hotel is clean and safe. Breakfast is pretty good for a Holiday Inn Express. All staff are fantastic. Location in heart of city is convenient and central . The bad: The room is very basic if you are comparing it to Holiday Inn Express in North America. The mattresses are hard, insufficient plug points. You can hear street noise even on the 10 th floor. My room was cold even with heater on. Staff really were excellent in doing what they could to help with these issues! Once outside the hotel you need to be vigilant and street wise and hide valuables. Did not walk around at night, but felt safe driving in and out at night. parking really helps with that.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Dear Michele G
Many thanks for your review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. My apologies for the issues that you experienced such as the basic room and the lack of plug points. I am pleased to read that you found the staff to be fantastic and excellent in doing what they could you assist you with the issues that you experienced.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Great hotel to stay at and all the Staff where lovely, everything you need is walking distance and the price is reasonable, I stayed here for 13 nights and would stay again. I previously stayed at a different Hotel

Just minor, there is a bit of noise outside as the market stalls where opening and that singing lady was not Pleasant noise to make in the morning.

The breakfast was Great, you can have much egg and bacon and coffee as you want :)

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Joseph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear Joseph O
Many thanks for the outstanding review. We welcome all feedback that we receive and I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your 13 day stay with us and that you would stay again.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews