We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for a city visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #49 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while visiting Cape Town. Although not on the waterfront, the hotel is located downtown, close to many of Cape Town's tourist attractions (Castle of Good Hope, Company's Gardens, Bo-Kaap, Long Street, Iziko Slave Lodge, etc.).
Room was standard Holiday Inn Express (no surprises here) but was lacking storage place (no cupboard to store clothes, but rather just some shelves and open hangers).
As I am an IHG reward club member, got free WiFi which was fast and very good.
Breakfast was fine and dining room was comfortable.
Staff was extremely polite and helpful.
Highly recommend staying here if you don't mind not being on the waterfront and want a decent hotel in the city centre.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank RannTel-Aviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear RannTel-Aviv
Many thanks for the wonderful review of our hotel. I am so pleased to read that the location suited your requirements. Your very kind comments relating to the team is much appreciated and will be shared with them.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2017

The reception staff were very helpful and we were very appreciative of an early check in after our overnight flight.
The room was not large but had all facilities. Breakfast buffet had good choices. Location was very good with the handicraft markets outside and the ATM close by. The hotel offered a security person to accompany us to the ATM but we found there were security guards outside the ATM enclosure.when we needed to use. The manager was very kind when I had a robbery of a gold chain in the street and arranged for the police to come to me so I could give my report.
My impression was this hotel was a great place to stay, with easy access to shops and restaurants.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank JanCba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear JanCba
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your experience during your recent stay. I am so sorry to hear of the unfortunate incident regarding your gold chain but I am pleased to read that my management assisted you with this matter.
Many thanks for your kind comments relating to the impression that you have of the hotel.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

This was a nice experience to be in a location in down town cape town near to the shopping area and different nice restaurants in the area
The hotel hospitality was excellent
The valet parking guys helped directing us to the entrance and helped parking our car in a busy area of down town
The reception was very helpful and knowledgable of all the attraction and arrangements
Breakfast was very good
Rooms are very well equipped also

A very nice experience with a fair budget

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Osama K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Osama K
Thank you so much for the very favourable review of our hotel. I am so pleased to read that you had a nice experience during your recent stay with us. Your kind comments relating to the team is much appreciated and will be shared with them as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre a leader in excellence.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Well it's a city centre hotel run by a chain.

If you want wifi that doesn't run out within 10 mins of arrival, become a member of the IHG group of hotels club. It will give you unlimited wifi and points against further stays.

While it seems unfair to give only 3, I'm harsh on these things.

The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast was ok too. Good selection of hot and cold.

It just lacked atmosphere and the location is downtown, where as the action and beauty is at the waterfront.

The waterfront is about 20-30 mins depending on how fast you can put one foot in front of the other. Try and find something down there.

Parking is a reasonable R40 a day.

Otherwise can't complain

Stayed: June 2017
2  Thank happysuffolkgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Dear happysuffolkgirl
Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. I am saddened to read that the hotel did not meet your expectations as we usually receive such good comments regarding our location and facilities of the hotel. Being part of a brand certainly ensures that you know before hand what you can expect when staying with us.
Many thanks for your kind comments relating to the friendly and helpful team.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

The good: Hotel is clean and safe. Breakfast is pretty good for a Holiday Inn Express. All staff are fantastic. Location in heart of city is convenient and central . The bad: The room is very basic if you are comparing it to Holiday Inn Express in North America. The mattresses are hard, insufficient plug points. You can hear street noise even on the 10 th floor. My room was cold even with heater on. Staff really were excellent in doing what they could to help with these issues! Once outside the hotel you need to be vigilant and street wise and hide valuables. Did not walk around at night, but felt safe driving in and out at night. parking really helps with that.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Dear Michele G
Many thanks for your review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. My apologies for the issues that you experienced such as the basic room and the lack of plug points. I am pleased to read that you found the staff to be fantastic and excellent in doing what they could you assist you with the issues that you experienced.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,355 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,033 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#46 of 110 in Cape Town Central
865 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#55 of 110 in Cape Town Central
376 reviews
Hotel on St Georges
#76 of 110 in Cape Town Central
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre

Address: 101 Saint Georges Mall Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $100 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. This hotel is ideally located in the centre of Cape Town, South Africa. The hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travellers with easy access to highways and being in close proximity from the world renowned Victoria & Alfred Waterfront Shopping Centre. The hotel overlooks the majestic Table Mountain. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre features 173 contemporary style bedrooms individually airconditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work stations, safety deposit boxes, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and televisions. WI FI in all rooms and public areas. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre is committed to offering guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Holiday Inn Cape Town
Cape Town Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing