We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Romney Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Romney Lodge
Ranked #123 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 May 2013

What a hidden gem Romney Lodge is! Not only is the actual lodge beautifully put together, super comfortable and inviting, but Eunice's great breakfasts and Phillip and Eunice's warm, caring hospitality goes way beyond the call of duty.

I would recommend Romney Lodge to anyone who is travelling, needs a local break or just wants to be nurtured.

Thank you Philip and Eunice for making me feel so comfortable and at home and for being so caring and attentive when I got sick!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

From the get-go, Romney Lodge was a spectacular sight. Located in Green Point, it is a fair 15-minute walk from V&A Waterfront, which was actually a relief because the area was very quiet with a breathtaking view of the sea and surrounding areas, and there was a lot to see en route to V&A.

Phillip was extremely helpful and swift to reply to our messages. He even arranged our airport transfers. As soon as we arrived, we were greeted by Phillip and his cute dogs. Simon helped us settle in our suite, and the wonderful Mama Eunice served us coffee and tea in a luxurious set-up tray on a coffee table in our suite.

The pictures online don't do Romney Lodge any justice --- the detail and overall feel was just incredible. Philip really took time and effort to make the lodge such a sight to behold. We almost didn't want to go out! Each morning we looked forward to breakfast because there was quite a lot to choose from, even though the selections were the same each day. We requested Mama Eunice to prepare the eggs in different ways for each day and she gladly obliged. Coffee and tea were free flowing, and you could tell Phillip and the staff went the extra mile to make guests forget they were actually paying for the accommodation. We got home one night and Philip hosted a barbecue by the pool for the guests. The pool area looked marvelous, both at night and at day.

Romney Lodge was so much more than accommodation during the trip; it was a destination in itself! I am so glad we chanced upon this place at Trip Advisor. Staying at Romney Lodge was truly the best decision we made for this trip, second only to choosing to visit Cape Town itself.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maeramirezmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed at Romney lasy August for 4 nights.
The guesthouse is very well located. Quiet street,close to center. Large,comfortable rooms and a great shower.
Phillip, the owner,is a wonderful host. He is very friendly and helpful, with lots of advice on touring Cape Town and the area.
We enjoyed our stay so much! Would happily visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed at Romney for 8 nights. Very well appointed and maintained. Staff and owner were very accommodating throughout my stay. Rooms are large with comfortable beds and good showers. Very nice pool and patio area. Great Location. Quiet street close to main roads. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed at Romney Lodge with my husband and it was what we needed for our long holiday in Cape Town. Philip , is a fantastic host and not forgetting mama Eunice and Simon whom looked after the guests. they are great and one felt like home. I recommend anyone looking into visiting Cape town and not wanting to stay in a hotel to give this place a chance. it accommodates families and couples.. we will be going back soon. We meet with good people and made friends during our visit . Irene and Tony (uk)

N.B The only problem I find is when guests arrive late at night and start making noise ... it is very annoying . Philip should enforce a rule of noise making after 11pm. Otherwise the place is great!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ire27_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,783 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#10 of 129 in Cape Town Central
536 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#44 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#61 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,047 reviews
A Sunflower Stop
#9 of 129 in Cape Town Central
345 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romney Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romney Lodge

Address: 10 Romney Street | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $205 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently undergone a complete upgrade and refurbishment. Romney Lodge is an elegant old Victorian manor, situated in the heart of Green Point. Offering 6 tastefully decorated rooms with wireless internet, Satellite TV. Safes. New sundeck and pool for relaxing after a long day sightseeing. Views of Robben Island. Within walking distance of Waterfront and City Centre. Secure parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Romney Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing