We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Nearby Hotels
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$100
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sugar Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$135
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$196
US$143
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$228
US$201
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,923)
Filter reviews
1,923 results
Traveller rating
1,071
569
165
62
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,071
569
165
62
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa business class roomsea facing roominfinity poolhourly shuttletable mountainstandard roomrobben islandamazing locationbusiness tripshuttle servicebreakfast buffetconcierge deskwater frontour honeymoonthe hotel offerssouth africafour nights
Filter
Updating list...
1,339 - 1,344 of 1,923 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This hotel is my favourite. The setting is great, the breakfast's are great. Get a sea facing room, it's worth it. The food is really good, they have a good chef. The refurbished rooms are great. Ive stayed at better hotels, but the setting for me is what does it for me. The best positioned hotel to get to the Waterfront restaurants and shops. The weather in Cape Town is great in summer.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
Thank Hiqual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Hiqual,

We feel very priviledged to have received such an appraisal, so thank you very much for taking the time to deliver and share your repeated positive experience.

We look to forward to welcoming you back when your travels next brings you to Cape Town!!

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We stayed here for four nights at the end of our South Africa trip
It was fantastic
Service staff food and location excellent
Great location as only a ten minute walk to the waterfront - they run a shuttle service wish is very efficient
The spa ladies are lovely
The gym was great if a little hot.
The pool area is very good with excellent food and beverage service and the dolphins are a plus!
Our only problem was a mix up over a table one evening which was corrected very quickly - thank you to the duty manger Peter Thomas
We hope to return in 2014
A big thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 47mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear 47mini,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments and sharing your positive experience with us and other viewers.

Thank you also for the positive comments about our hotel, location, service and spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014!!!

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Ok...So over the last 12 years I have stayed at this hotel 16 times and probably is the most familiar hotel in the world to me

First of all, the location is great as every review will say so....right on the sea front, crashing waves, great views regardless of which room you are in. Very much a nautical themed hotel and a great mix of business and pleasure guests. Great outdoors area, infinity pool, and patio for dinner drinks

There are a few downsides of course...

They have 'refurbished' their standard and superior rooms. If you stayed here before you may be familiar with the gold/yellow/brown decor of the rooms before. They have gone more towards a grey/blue/white theme. However its not a refurbishment, more a lick of paint, new light fittings and painted the old furniture white...yup...the old woodwork is just plastered with a lick of white paint, the desk, the tv cabinet/minibar unit and the skirting boards, all the same, just given a coat of white paint....still not enough power outlets in the room....as usual..if you have more than one appliance you have to get on your hands and knees unplugging the minibar/tv/bedside lamps just to use your ipods/blackberry/ipads/strawberries/hairdryers/laptops etc.... when will hotels start to realise that us travellers need power sockets...not just one on the desk....but 3 or 4??

The bathroom also had a refurbishment and boasts a new shower, bath and tiles, but they decided to stop there and keep the old sink, taps and marble worktops/inset sink units..how odd?! 90% done and not bothered with the rest

As usual, the staff are friendly and polite, but like to huddle in their groups chatting and laughing loudly whilst ignoring guests....something you get used to in SA...seems a lot of employees come to work to hang out with their friends. At dinner tonight in the restaurant there is certainly no shortage of staff, but they are so busy chatting amongst themselves they seem to forget they are at work and guests need serving...I had to order my drinks from the bar as in the restaurant I got fed up of waiting 10 mins to get served.....no wonder the restaurant is always empty here...but the food is good.....service here is just like the rest of SA , slow, and unattentive, but polite and friendly..you do get a balance...choose whats important to you though

I am a gold member and despite the Carlson Club promises, I still cant get a late checkout without checking in the morning (why?? surely hotels know how many people are leaving and arriving on a set date?) Overall I like this hotel, and have stayed here many times and will continue to do so....I just think and feel for the R3500 a night they ask on the website, well....its not worth that anymore...not now... but its a good hotel....

Room Tip: Superior room face the sea, small rooms no balcony Standard rooms face mountain (larger) Business rooms face sea, large and have balcony
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Good day PierP,

Thank you for taking the time to deliver your comments, we also further appreciate your detailed feedback about your experience.

The points mentioned has been noted and will be constructively dealt with.

We trust that this will not deter you from visiting our property again in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back when your next travels bring you to Cape Town, and that we will be granted the opportunity of meeting and even exceeding your expectations.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I was on a business trip to Cape Town and booked into Radisson for 3 nights. Due to some mess up from my Travel agent the rooms were not covered with breakfast. However it took them about 1 hour to sort this out internally and my questions went unanswered for most of the time. Until one person came up to me and reassured that it would be sorted and requested for me to wait in the room, I was left hanging at the lobby with an inept check in person
The rooms are quite big, cleaned and serviced every day. Try getting the sea view room as they have a spectacular view of the V&A waterfront
The breakfast was not really filing, twice I visted the buffet and found the eggs and beans cold.
Service was good however
Overall, I think location wise the hotel is amazing but I wish you better luck than me at the reception

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnjuPurushot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Anju Ashish,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other viewers.

We trust that on your return we will be granted the opportunity of meeting and even exceeding your expectations.

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I went to SA in month of November and stayed at Radisson Blu for 3 nights. The Experience in the Suite, The View, The service was great. It did provide Shuttle service between key points and the concierge was very helpful in planning our stay.
Overall a wonderfull experience.

Room Tip: The Sea facing rooms will definitely pep up your stay
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EktaTejwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Ekta Tejwani,

Thank you for your taking the time to share your experience and positive comments with us and other viewers.

We look forward to welcoming you back when next your travels bring you to Cape Town!

Best regards
Michael Rathgeb
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews