We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lion's Head Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Rosmead(Cape Town Central)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rouge on Rose(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tree House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Backpackers in Green Point(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$44
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

MannaBay(Cape Town Central)
US$521
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$815
US$578
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
1
5
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
5
3
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2007

Don't bother staying here - the area is dangerous and the hotel has seen better days. Every room has been smoked in, leaving the non-smokers with the distinct smell of smoke on their clothing. The front desk staff are rude - requests for taxis, laundry, guidebooks,etc were all met with rudeness and laziness. The staff in the restaurant were rude and slow. The bar doesn't open much and the pool and billiards area needs a coat of paint, new furniture and a cleaning.

The area of the hotel is not as nice as the hotels 5-10 minutes away. The tour dropped the majority of our group off at the Backpackers, a few at the Big Blue and then 2 at the Lion's Head...we were definetly going downhill on service, safely, location and luxery the farther we went. This area is not safe at night and during the day, you should go in groups to the ATM, etc.

I stayed here for one week and unfortunately, had pre-paid, so I couldn't change the booking. It really soured the Capetown experience.

Stayed: December 2006
4  Thank SIngaporeLolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2007

We stayed at the Lion's Head Lodge for 2 nights as part of a 21 night overland tour through SA, Namibia, Botswana and Zimbabwe in May 2006.

This hotel was booked for us through the tour operator as part of our initial stay in Cape Town, although we had already stayed for 4 nights in a hostel.

The hotel is very nice, friendly reception staff, 2 bars, one is great and more for the backpacker scene, the other is a little stuffy and up market. Bear in mind if your trip does coincide with a tour group staying there it will be busy.

We were allocated a family room as the double rooms were sold out. This only cost us a couple of pounds more each night. It consisted of 2 double beds and a nice living area, a sort of budget suite room if you like. We found the room to be very clean, although the shower left a little to be desired...however it was a big step up from 4 nights in a hostel!!!

Location is good in a better part of Cape Town. The beaches are close by but as this was May, swimming or anything beachy was out of the question!!! There was a nice Italian restaurant across the road about 2-3mins walk away where our group ate one night...reasonable prices, although slightly slow service.

All in all we were pleased with our stay. It's not the best hotel in the world but for the vibe in the bar, and the reasonable rooms I would recommend it for a stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank ju123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2006

The Lion's Head Lodge is a great place to stay. From the moment we arrived we were impressed with how friendly and helpful the reception ladies were. After checking in, Grace showed us to our rooms and even pointed out where all the lodge facilities were along the way.

They also provided information on where it was safe to withdraw money from ATM's and also ensured we had a reliable taxi driver whenever we required one.

Patrick in the bar was great fun and we really enjoyed his sense of humour and wit.

The rooms were spacious and clean. The shower was wonderful - hot water and lots of water pressure!

The only down-side was that the girls in the restaurant weren't very friendly - something that we unfortunately found to be common in many eateries in South Africa. However, the English breakfasts at the lodge were wonderful and made our morning visits to the restaurant a pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2006

Well, i have stayed in Lions Head Lodge twice because its very convenient, in Sea Point! Its clean and has a great travel centre/ineternet cafe plus a bar and restaurant, pool etc. The staff know all the best places to visit and are organised. It is worth staying here because it is cheap and clean - massive rooms and bathrooms! Cape Town has such a buzz and theres so much to see in this great city that you wont be spending much time in the hotel anyways! It is a great place for couples/backpackers/travellers/families who want to see Cape Town and dont have the money for hotels (which are rediculously expensive in the summer season!) The location is perfect, just hire a car and drive yourself around - theres parking at Lions Head Lodge (or there is public transport!)

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LondonSAfrican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
111
Reviewed 27 April 2005

The Lion's Head Lodge in Cape Town is great value - a perfect location (in the middle of Sea Point, a few blocks walk to the beach) with great amenities - pool, restaurant, 2 bars, travel center. The staff were really helpful and friendly, and really took good care of us for our 9-day stay.
furnishings/bathrooms are basic, but certainly were sufficient, and bedding was clean (although the bathroom could have been slightly cleaner).
all in all, a great deal - I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there and it was all for an amazing price!

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews