We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contrasts”
Review of Four Rosmead

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Rosmead
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Contrasts”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

It's always difficult to disagree with so much positive comment. The hotel itself is everything that is written about it - well thought out and very comfortable. We just found that it lacked what I would call soul. We saw three separate managers in four days, we were recommended to a particular restaurant on the waterfront that we actually walked out of it was so awful and no one asked how we had got on. We tend to be very independent and it may be that the hotel prefer to organise their guests a bit more than we wanted to be. We had never been to South Africa before and were devastated by the poverty that is so apparent on the trip from the airport and the huge contrasts. In fairness this probably affected our whole stay. We would be unlikely to go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Longcopse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourRosmead, General Manager at Four Rosmead, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Longcopse,

We are committed to giving our guests an authentic and soulful experience of Cape Town and we are really sorry that your experience was tainted by the levels of poverty you experienced. As you point out, many of our guests prefer close interaction to fine tune their plans which no doubt affects their experience.

Please could you let us know which Waterfront restaurant you did not enjoy as we do keep track of the levels of service at restaurants and if you had a bad experiences we would like to contact the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    42
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
387
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Different, with a huge " Ive been there - why havn`t you" . This lovely place will become a place of legend among`st the elite who have been there. You can keep your big flash showy places Four Rosemead is a refreshing experience. The other reviews say it all

Room Tip: any room is good. The rooms at the back have the best view of the mountains and the front of Cape To...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

It may not seem possible, but our experience at Four Rosmead actually exceeded the high ranking it enjoys on Trip Advisor. This is truly a world-class, top-notch hotel / guest house, located in a quiet residential Cape Town neighborhood not far from the city center. Jade, Nadine, Sonia and all the staff are simply wonderful. The house and grounds are stunning. The rooms and facilities are well-appointed, clean and comfortable. Breakfasts are the best we've ever had in our travels, with enough options to please anyone. As so many others have mentioned, the staff bend over backwards to make you feel welcome and work hard to satisfy your every wish. They have extensive knowledge of area restaurants, activities, and touring options. Do not hesitate to book here, you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddesalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

An excellent boutique hotel conveniently located in a quiet residential part yet close enough to walk safely to the city centre - the return walk is uphill. Excellent accommodation with comfortable bedrooms. Staff most attentive and knowledgeable who will arrange excursions, restaurant bookings, taxis etc. Breakfast has a comprehensive menu including healthy options as well as cooked choices. This was a return visit and we were delighted to be back in such a friendly atmosphere. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There is a garden suite which is particularly spacious, secluded and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Fabulous boutique hotel near Mount Nelson Hotel. Looking at previous reviews it is difficult to add different praise.
Between Sonja, Nadine and Jade they booked restaurants in advance for us, arranged a taxi to pick us up at the airport, booked lunch at The Mount Nelson Hotel ( don't miss this!) and arranged a tour of the Cape and a township visit through a recognised tour company.
Great breakfast on the terrace, lovely large rooms and comfortable beds.
Are there better places to stay in Cape Town? It's hard to believe

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raycam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 109 in Cape Town Central
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
643 reviews
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Rosmead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Rosmead

Property: Four Rosmead
Address: 4 Rosmead Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#13 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price range (per night): $222 - $416
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Rosmead 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Rosmead has all the characteristics of a boutique style hotel; its location, style, authenticity and our personal service all contribute to re-defining the Cape Town travel experience. Built in 1903, Four Rosmead is a classified monument that has been sensitively and stylishly re-modeled. The result is a Cape contemporary classic with a rich history. Interiors are chic with a subtle, yet distinctive African spirit enhanced by original South African artwork. Accommodation consists of eight bespoke en-suite bedrooms. Some rooms have a fireplace, private garden, balcony or courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Four Rosmead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Rosmead
Four Rosmead Hotel Cape Town Central
Four Rosmead Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing