We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a good choice!”
Review of twentytwo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
twentytwo
Ranked #22 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2013

They say people make places and how true this is in the case of Twentytwo. Allan and Dominic have that rare gift of knowing how well to treat people, probably how they would like to be treated themselves. I'm not sure there wasn't anything they would not have organised for you, had you asked. But aside from our enjoyable chats and soaking up more Cape Town knowledge, we were left to our own devices quietly enjoying a glorious Sunday afternoon in their garden. Their expertise obviously stretches to interior design as their house is beautifully decorated. Modern, fresh colours, quite quirky with some amusing touches but comfortable and 'homely'. To have the views of the Cape Town central bowl in front (amazing at 5 am) and the majestic Table Mountain behind is quite stunning. Walking into town is quite safe in the daytime but taxis will transport you day and night to the Waterfront, the beaches and the many great restuarants. Another talent of Allan's is his wicked scrambled eggs! It is rare to come away from a hotel/guest house with that lovely warm feeling but that's what happened to us. Not only had we found a super place to stay in Cape Town, but had made some friends as well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemmaFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 192 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stayed at TwentyTwo a couple of years ago and were keen to go back – and were certainly not disappointed.

The House is rather lovely (as are the rooms). They’d made a few changes since we last stayed (funky numbers on the doors, lovely soaps and toiletries in the bathrooms – all very tasteful) but again it was Allan and Dominic that made the stay so special. Allan made us tea just about any time we wanted it - including sending some to (just outside) our room (or bringing it himself) in the morning. Also, one evening when we going out our taxi didn’t arrive so Dominic went above and beyond and drove us himself. Of course they also gave us great recommendations of things to do, places to eat etc again to make the stay special – and Allan & Dominic think about what might suit you rather than just trotting out the same to everyone.

I took advantage of the pool again – and enjoyed it even more this time round, despite the fact that on one of the days it was a little on the chilly side – it’s quite something to have a good swim, especially in such a small place.

I’m already looking forward to our next trip – it really is an absolute gem. Don't hesitate if you're unsure (as long as we can get in when we want to go!)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aylesburytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twentytwocapetown, Owner at twentytwo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Having decoded Aylesbury Traveller as the people behind the review - many thanks B&M! Also, thank you for coming back to twentytwo - we remember you told us that you seldom return to places - so we're rather chuffed that you made that choice, and noticed all the changes that have been done to the place after your first visit!

Looking forward to your third visit some time in the near future - we hope!

Very best wishes

Allan & Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

If we could give Allan and Dominic six stars instead of five then we would. We cannot speak highly enough of our hosts and the fabulous accomodation, decor and atmosphere that they have created. It was an absolute privilege to spend ten nights here and we would go back time and time again above anywhere else in Cape Town like a shot. Breakfasts were wonderful, views magnificent and they have one of the nicest pools in Cape Town. They are well deserving of their consistent Trip Advisor winner awards. A truly special place with truly special owners.


Sent from my iPad

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gil303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twentytwocapetown, Owner at twentytwo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Wow - what a fulsome review you gave us! Greatly appreciated particularly as you stayed for a 10 day period and could see how we fared over a longer period (most people stay for an average 3-4 night period). We were glad to rescue you both from the ghastly accommodation you found yourselves initially here in Cape Town - no demolition works being carried out here in Oranjezicht!

Do come back the next time you're in Cape Town - you'll be very welcome as returnees to Bedroom 4!

Very best wishes

Dominic & Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This was my second stay at Twentytwo. I was blown away the first time I stayed a few years ago and I was a little concerned that it might not be quite as good as I remembered it. I shouldn't have worried - absolutely everything about my stay exceeded my already high expectations. The room, decor, cleanliness, garden, breakfast, staff; honestly, even trying hard, I can't think of one criticism. It is an idyllic home from home and I cannot wait to stay again. As per other reviews, Dom & Allan are wonderful hosts and Twentytwo is a very special place. Don't hesitate to book - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twentytwocapetown, Owner at twentytwo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Four years on from your last visit to twentytwo and delighted that we still pass muster!!

Great to have you back at twentytwo and we look forward to welcoming you again before another four years are up!

Best wishes

Allan & Dominic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 6 days over Xmas. If they had room vacancies we would have stayed longer. Alan and Dominick made us feel at home the moment we arrived. They went out of their way to ensure we had a relaxing stay at their property and also provided us fantastic tips on what to do and see while in Cape Town. A special thanks to Alan who was able to organize a rental car for us at the last minute, that was just awesome considering just about every car in Cape Town is rented over Xmas and NY. Breakfasts each morning were great and it was really pleasant sitting outside overlooking the pool - we miss the fresh fruit salad and strawberry, mango juice's. we look to our next trip to CPT and will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank denton1814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,460 reviews
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
#8 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,108 reviews
City Bowl
Liberty Lodge
Liberty Lodge
#25 of 156 in Cape Town Central
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,051 reviews
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
282 reviews
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to twentytwo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about twentytwo

Address: 22 Montrose Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $198 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Twentytwo Hotel Cape Town Central
Twentytwo Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing