We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Cape Town”
Review of twentytwo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
twentytwo
Ranked #20 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2008

Allan and Dominic were the most attentive hosts in a very stylish B&B with views over the city and table mountain. You will not get a better concierge service in a 5 star west end hotel. They made our short stay very special; organising trips to dive with the sharks in Gaansbai and touring the wineries with Hennie. They also know all the best places to eat and seem to be able to get tables at the best restaurants at the drop a hat.

If you go to Cape Town don't bother with a big hotel, get the personal touch at twentytwo and I guarantee you'll enjoy your holiday all the more.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sasmithuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 370 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2008

My husband & I traveled to S. Africa for a 3-week trip and stayed at the TwentyTwo bed & breakfast in Cape Town. The owners were great corresponding with me via email prior to our arrival, and were so accomodating to our every need once we arrived. I could not have asked for a better place, it was indeed one of the nicest accomodations we have stayed at (and we have traveled all over the world - Greece, Paris, London, throughout Italy, throughout the U.S.A). The premises was immacualtely maintained, and the breakfast in the morning was EXTREMELY good. A cook makes whatever you request and the also have a specific menu of options to choose from. It was so good. I decided to eat breakfast every morning - something I typically don't do - because I couldn't pass it up. The room we stayed in had a king size bed with down comforter and very, very comfortable mattress and pillows. It was very lush. The bathroom was extremely roomy, with both a large modern bathtub and a large glass enclosed standing shower (big enough for 2-3 people). We also had a flat-screen TV in our room, and large deck off of our room with a great view of downtown Cape Town (the city). Looking directly out front of the hotel, you see the colassal Table Mountain straight ahead. The owners, Dominic & Allan, arranged a private guide (named Jamie) to guide us on a hike up Table Mountain. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS. It was great. The hike took less than 2 hours time, and was a great workout with amazing scenery along the way. The owners of TwentyTwo also made phenomenal restaurant recommendations (Gainsbourgh Restarurant was superb, as well as a good Indian Cusine restaurant where you can see the food as it's being prepared behind a glass wall). We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay at this location. We rented a car upon arrival at Cape Town Int'l Airport. So we also took a day-trip to Simonstown (just south) where we saw the penguin colony and then continued further south to Cape of Good Hope. Two must-see destinations. Truly beautiful. Dominic & Allan (the owners of TwentyTwo) were exteremely accomodating and great conversationalists. The stay is worth the cost (which is very fair) & I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelissaDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

My wife, daughter, son-in-law and I spent two nights with Allan and Dominic at the end of August. Our stay couldn't have been more enjoyable. Great rooms; impeccable service; charming and personable hosts, with perfect advice about restaurants, sights, routes, you name it.

We travel widely, and stay in a mix of hotels and apartments. Our stay at twentytwo was by far the best value we can remember. It would been worth it at twice the price.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ADRMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

We have just returned from a 3 week trip to South Africa during which we were lucky enough to spend 4 nights at TwentyTwo. From the initial welcome - to the spectacularly furnished rooms - to the thoughtful and well laid out lounge and dining area - to the luxourious and relaxing pool area - ending with the individual and tailor made service provided by Allan and Dom and their wonderful staff - every minute spent there was "divine" and a place we will return to sooner rather than later.
Allan and Dom- thank you for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank oleeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

We stayed at Twentytwo for 5 nights in July (a little late in getting our review written - sorry Allan & Dominic) and cannot recommend it highly enough. Allan, Dominic and Monty the cat made us feel so much at home we didn't want to leave, and would not consider staying anywhere else if we were lucky enough to be back in Cape Town. There are so many excellent reviews of this guesthouse that we dont feel there is anything more to say except that you will not make a mistake by booking in. We hope the fish have survived Monty's attention.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank Sam013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,441 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
651 reviews
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#16 of 156 in Cape Town Central
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Liberty Lodge
Liberty Lodge
#24 of 156 in Cape Town Central
388 reviews
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
330 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to twentytwo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about twentytwo

Address: 22 Montrose Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $202 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Twentytwo Hotel Cape Town Central
Twentytwo Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing