We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Dinner”
Review of The Conservatory

The Conservatory
Ranked #8 of 55 Restaurants in Constantia
Price range: US$25 - US$40
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Conservatory, situated adjacent to the historic Cellars-Hohenort cellar, offers diners unparalleled garden vistas from both the sun-drenched terrace and the indoor tables. Carefully constructed around a giant 300-year-old oak tree, The Conservatory is one of Constantia's finest daily breakfast, lunch and dinner venues. Here the head chef creates hotel classics alongside modern and seasonally influenced dishes. The Conservatory menu places a great emphasis on fresh produce from both The Cellars-Hohenort gardens and local green-friendly suppliers, and this gives it the unique ability to showcase a true taste of the Constantia Valley. Friendly service and an award-winning wine list ensure that The Conservatory offers guests and locals an exceptional everyday dining experience.
Reviewed 6 June 2018

Awesome menu and service. The food was amazing. i would definitely go back again. Don't forget the Continental breakfast, great variety and delicious treat to go with your morning coffee and the view of the garden.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank DavidP14079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2018

Recently I went with a group of 10 to the Conservatory and then again with some friends. At our first visit we did not expect such a beautiful restaurant with a great menu at reasonable prices. That's why we went again and the food was beyond expectations.
First we've got an Amuse bouche, an Indian Ocean tuna, made in three different ways, Malay tuna Titaki, Tuna Ceviche and an Octopus Terrine. Just wonderful.
My main course was a signature dish (one of the favourite dishes from the late owner, LizMcGrath), the Cheese Soufflé with gin sauce. The second course I've chosen was the East Coast Sole with braisded fennel risotto (wow) & grapefruit, followed by the third course, a chocolate fondant with strawberries. So yummy!
A hand crafted petite four and coffee rounded off our experience in the Conservatory.
I highly recommend the Conservatory with its beautiful settings. The chef definately knows how to spoil his guests. We definately will return.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Napanangka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

It was my first time at The conservatory and to be honest I felt a little let down. Although the food was tasty it was quite what I was expecting. The cheese soufflé was sublime and my hubby enjoyed his calamari starter despite some foreign crispy things we weren’t quite sure of. We both had the pork belly and found it some what dry and were surprised that it was the same portion size as the starter. Dessert was delicious. We didn’t get out petit fours as indicated on the menu not the amuse bouche (unless the bread was it which would be the first time ever I have experienced that) The drinks are quite pricey but they have a large selection of wines. Our waiter was friendly and although he seems a little distracted, generally attentive

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank P5261TXmeganc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely high tea (low carb). It was scrumptious and just enough for 2 people. We also ordered scones separately which were fluffy and delicious served with jam, cream and butter. We went quite late in the afternoon about 30 mins before the high tea service ended so we had the garden seating area all to ourselves. Lovely service from our waitress on the day. Recommend a walk through the beautiful gardens after tea.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Merelou_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Dear Merelou,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We have since made a few tweeks to our High Tea offering- which is absolutely delicious- so looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

Enjoyed being here, very relaxing atmosphere. Staff are friendly and efficient. The grilled goats cheese and bacon easily beat the calamari which was not very interesting.
The bobotie was the best one I have had in a long time. Piping hot and nice level of spice. We will return

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank HudsonS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngieSwail, Manager at The Conservatory, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Dear Hudson,

Thank you for sharing your feedback- it is much appreciated. Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Conservatory also viewed

 
Constantia, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to The Conservatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing