We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penguino is only 15 mins walk to Hermanus Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Penguino Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 88 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2016

My wife and I stayed over for 1 night at this quaint 80's style guesthouse. Very nice and clean place with exceptionally friendly hosts Stefan and and his wife Nikki. Stefan is a chef so the nearly-all home made breakfast was superb. Location is great too - close to the sea and only 15mins stroll to the town centre. Great place and reasonably priced. Worth a visit.

Room Tip: Great place to stay for two or three nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank krisj539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2016

Very comfy bed - spotless clean room. A great place. Nicki and Stefan are wonderful host and are very helpful with Tipps, restaurant reservations , ... The breakfast is wonderful - best breakfast we had in South Afrika. Go for it!

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stone_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We enjoyed our stay at the Penguino Guesthouse with Stephan and Nikki. They were the perfect hosts, very warm and welcoming. They gave us excellent recommendations for restaurants and things to do in the area. The breakfast in the morning was delicious including their homemade Compotes and Jams. We bought some to take back with us as well. I would highly recommend experiencing the hospitality of Stephan and Niikki

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank roopac2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We recently stayed for 6 nights in the Emperor Penguin room which really is as lovely as their website's pictures suggest. It's a bright & spacious room with plenty of cupboards, an empty bar fridge, electronic safe, hairdryer etc & the in room tea/ coffee making facilities is the best I've ever encountered at a guesthouse. The upstairs location coupled with the separate entrance renders this room very private & the balcony is completely secure so that you can sleep with the glass sliding door open, which is quite nice on balmy evenings.

The courtyard pool was sparkling & very inviting with plenty of towels provided for pool & beach use. The property is located right across the road from the well maintained cliff path & it's a very easy stroll into town. Parking is located on the property, off the street & there is security beams that are activated at night for added peace of mind.

As for our hosts, Stefan & Nikki have been unbelievably hospitable & both seem to take honest pleasure in hosting their guests in their home. They really made our stay exceptional & every request was immediately attended to. Nikki provided excellent email support prior to our stay in answering my questions promptly & even facilitating a special request. Stefan is a magnificent chef & his breakfasts are fabulous with his professional training showing in the beautiful presentation of every plate. It was never a problem for him to work around some special dietary requirements, which I really appreciated! He's also a wealth of information on everything local or food related... he gave us some really great tips!

In the end we left feeling as though we have spent the week with good friends & we wouldn't hesitate staying here again next time we're in the area... thanks so much again, Stefan & Nikki! Warm regards, Kobus & Rhona

Room Tip: Loved the privacy of the Emperor Penguin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PicassoJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016

Very nice, clean, well equipped guesthouse. The owners are so hospitable and friendly. Breakfast was outstanding. Convenient to walk to local attractions. Rooms are of ample size, excellent linens. Would absolutely return there.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sizemorehousehold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
0.2 km away
One Marine Drive Boutique Hotel
3.9 km away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
On the Cliff Guest House
On the Cliff Guest House
#23 of 88 in Hermanus
291 reviews
0.6 km away
The Potting Shed Accommodation
4.6 km away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#15 of 88 in Hermanus
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penguino Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguino Guesthouse

Address: 16 Westcliff Road, Hermanus, Overstrand 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Overstrand > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $114 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Penguino Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penguino guesthouse's 4 rooms are tastefully and individually decorated with high quality finishes, each with en-suite bathrooms. We are a small family run guesthouse we pride ourselves to give warm, friendly personal style of hospitality. As we are just 40 m from the famous cliff paths and a 7 minute walk to the center of town. Stefan and Nikki Otto are looking forward to welcoming you to Penguino... come and breath our Champagne air! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Penguino Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing