We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Penguino Guesthouse
Ranked #17 of 88 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

We only stayed in this guesthouse for one night, but wished it was for longer. The owners Stefan and Nikki were very welcoming, and even brought breakfast forward with our whale watching trip early the next morning. The location is perfect near to the ocean walk, and a short walk into town. The breakfast Stefan cooked for us was also superb and probably the best on our trip

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki O, Owner at Penguino Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you very much, for your kind words! Hope to see you guys again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Our room had a very modern interior and was perfectly clean. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They gave us some good tips for the surrounding area.

The highlight was the amazing breakfast. You can see that he is a very experienced cook.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank GunMit87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We found the accomodation excellent and the advice given by the owners very helpful. The breakfasts were exceptional. It was obvious that the owner was a highly experienced cook. We heard from him that he had trained in the UK

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dennisbB6789SI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

My husband and I recently visited Hermanus and were lucky enough to stay at the Penguino Guest house. Nikki and Stefan are extremely hospitable and helpful, providing us with advice and insight as to where we should make our stops ensuring our visit was a pleasant and memorable one. Nikki helped sort our booking with the whale charter making sure we are able to secure our spot. The room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. Stefan's cooking is brilliant!!!! If you looking for a clean, friendly, awesome place to stay at on your visit to Hermanus... Penguino guesthouse is the place. Thanks to both Nikki and Stephan for the great hospitality, Jacky and Johan.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johan984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki O, Owner at Penguino Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Great hospitality .

We were recommended by a friend to stay at Penguino House and I am telling you we were thrilled. We received a warm welcome by Stefan who showed us around the facilities and our room. It was well decorated, clean and had all the equipments you may need. We recently got engaged and they opened up a bottle of bubble to celebrate the occasion. Stefan and Nikki cooked the most wonderful braai for us served with some great wine from the region. They even made the effort to create a vegan grilled dishe for my fiance. It was a beautiful evening. They told us great stories and they know how to make you feel home. Stefan also made the effort to call the Shark Diving company to ensure the weather condition were good enough. There is a beautiful path on the cliff located 5 min walking distance.
I would highly recommend the Penguino guesthouse !

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvainflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
3.9 km away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
0.4 km away
On the Cliff Guest House
On the Cliff Guest House
#22 of 88 in Hermanus
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#13 of 88 in Hermanus
352 reviews
1 km away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#23 of 88 in Hermanus
236 reviews
2.8 km away
Walker Bay Manor
Walker Bay Manor
#27 of 88 in Hermanus
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penguino Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguino Guesthouse

Address: 16 Westcliff Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $107 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Penguino Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penguino guesthouse's 4 rooms are tastefully and individually decorated with high quality finishes, each with en-suite bathrooms. We are a small family run guesthouse we pride ourselves to give warm, friendly personal style of hospitality. As we are just 40 m from the famous cliff paths and a 7 minute walk to the center of town. Stefan and Nikki Otto are looking forward to welcoming you to Penguino... come and breath our Champagne air! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing