We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$285
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Blu(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AmaKhosi Guesthouse(Sandbaai)(Great Value!)
US$62
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$64/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

6 Stemmet Lodge(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whale Coast Hotel(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$105
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Selkirk House(Hermanus)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$228
US$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$240/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$621
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
168
15
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
15
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexperienced cookthe beautiful coastal paththe cliffreally enjoyed our stay herebrilliant stayminute walk from the centrefantastic hostsgreat guest houserooms are cleanamazing breakfastacross the roadgreat place to stayreceived a warm welcomecooked breakfastcommon areasthe location is perfectroom was large
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Our room had a very modern interior and was perfectly clean. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They gave us some good tips for the surrounding area.

The highlight was the amazing breakfast. You can see that he is a very experienced cook.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank GunMit87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We found the accomodation excellent and the advice given by the owners very helpful. The breakfasts were exceptional. It was obvious that the owner was a highly experienced cook. We heard from him that he had trained in the UK

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dennisbB6789SI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

My husband and I recently visited Hermanus and were lucky enough to stay at the Penguino Guest house. Nikki and Stefan are extremely hospitable and helpful, providing us with advice and insight as to where we should make our stops ensuring our visit was a pleasant and memorable one. Nikki helped sort our booking with the whale charter making sure we are able to secure our spot. The room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. Stefan's cooking is brilliant!!!! If you looking for a clean, friendly, awesome place to stay at on your visit to Hermanus... Penguino guesthouse is the place. Thanks to both Nikki and Stephan for the great hospitality, Jacky and Johan.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johan984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki O, Owner at Penguino Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Great hospitality .

We were recommended by a friend to stay at Penguino House and I am telling you we were thrilled. We received a warm welcome by Stefan who showed us around the facilities and our room. It was well decorated, clean and had all the equipments you may need. We recently got engaged and they opened up a bottle of bubble to celebrate the occasion. Stefan and Nikki cooked the most wonderful braai for us served with some great wine from the region. They even made the effort to create a vegan grilled dishe for my fiance. It was a beautiful evening. They told us great stories and they know how to make you feel home. Stefan also made the effort to call the Shark Diving company to ensure the weather condition were good enough. There is a beautiful path on the cliff located 5 min walking distance.
I would highly recommend the Penguino guesthouse !

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvainflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We spent a relaxing two nights with Nikki and Stephan. Penguino is the perfect base for wine tasting in the Hemel En Arde valley: safe, quiet, and within walking distance of Hermanus' beautiful cliff walk. Our hosts made great recommendations for both restaraunts and wineries. We will look forward to visiting with them on our next trip. And we will DEFINITELY be looking forward to the best breakfast in town!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews