We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
177
15
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
15
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews special of the day homemade preserves the cliff really enjoyed our stay here wonderful hosts brilliant stay minute walk from the centre our room was spacious across the road great place to stay great guest house received a warm welcome coastal path cooked breakfast common areas the location is perfect next morning
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Great location within walking distance of both the marina (where whale watching boats depart), and the town where the restaurants are. 50m from the coastline where we also saw whales! Hosts are very warm and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Madeline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

We only stayed in this guesthouse for one night, but wished it was for longer. The owners Stefan and Nikki were very welcoming, and even brought breakfast forward with our whale watching trip early the next morning. The location is perfect near to the ocean walk, and a short walk into town. The breakfast Stefan cooked for us was also superb and probably the best on our trip

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki O, Owner at Penguino Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you very much, for your kind words! Hope to see you guys again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Our room had a very modern interior and was perfectly clean. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They gave us some good tips for the surrounding area.

The highlight was the amazing breakfast. You can see that he is a very experienced cook.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank GunMit87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We found the accomodation excellent and the advice given by the owners very helpful. The breakfasts were exceptional. It was obvious that the owner was a highly experienced cook. We heard from him that he had trained in the UK

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dennisbB6789SI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

My husband and I recently visited Hermanus and were lucky enough to stay at the Penguino Guest house. Nikki and Stefan are extremely hospitable and helpful, providing us with advice and insight as to where we should make our stops ensuring our visit was a pleasant and memorable one. Nikki helped sort our booking with the whale charter making sure we are able to secure our spot. The room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. Stefan's cooking is brilliant!!!! If you looking for a clean, friendly, awesome place to stay at on your visit to Hermanus... Penguino guesthouse is the place. Thanks to both Nikki and Stephan for the great hospitality, Jacky and Johan.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank johan984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki O, Owner at Penguino Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews