We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Penguino Guesthouse
Ranked #18 of 88 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2017

I recently spent four nights at this lovely guesthouse. Everything was clean and fresh.
My room, common areas, and the grounds were immaculate. There was plenty of hot water and good WiFi.
The location is convenient to shops and restaurants; as well as the Cliff path, with stunning ocean views.
The cooked to order breakfasts were delicious, with many choices.
But, what really makes this place special is the hospitality and kindnesses of the owners, Nikki and Stefan. They treated me like family, not just another customer.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank FrankKirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed with Stefan and Nikki for two nights. Their guest house is located just outside the centre of town, just a minute’s walk from the cliff walkway, and ten minutes walk to some great restaurants.

Our room was clean, fresh and spacious. Stefan greeted us as if we were friends, had pre booked us a dinner reservation, where the food was great. He is sooooo passionate about Hermanus and generally everything in South Africa. He really made some great suggestions that led to us having a great holiday. Thank you.

Almost forgot, We had two great breakfasts too, where there were options beyond the standard cooked breakfast options. The French toast was amazing!

Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Great location within walking distance of both the marina (where whale watching boats depart), and the town where the restaurants are. 50m from the coastline where we also saw whales! Hosts are very warm and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Madeline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

We only stayed in this guesthouse for one night, but wished it was for longer. The owners Stefan and Nikki were very welcoming, and even brought breakfast forward with our whale watching trip early the next morning. The location is perfect near to the ocean walk, and a short walk into town. The breakfast Stefan cooked for us was also superb and probably the best on our trip

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki O, Owner at Penguino Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you very much, for your kind words! Hope to see you guys again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Our room had a very modern interior and was perfectly clean. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They gave us some good tips for the surrounding area.

The highlight was the amazing breakfast. You can see that he is a very experienced cook.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank GunMit87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hermanus hotels
0.4 km away
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
3.9 km away
138 Marine Beachfront Guesthouse
0.4 km away
On the Cliff Guest House
On the Cliff Guest House
#22 of 88 in Hermanus
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
78on5th in Hermanus
78on5th in Hermanus
#13 of 88 in Hermanus
352 reviews
1 km away
House on Westcliff
House on Westcliff
#23 of 88 in Hermanus
237 reviews
2.8 km away
Walker Bay Manor
Walker Bay Manor
#26 of 88 in Hermanus
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penguino Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penguino Guesthouse

Address: 16 Westcliff Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range: $107 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Penguino Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penguino guesthouse's 4 rooms are tastefully and individually decorated with high quality finishes, each with en-suite bathrooms. We are a small family run guesthouse we pride ourselves to give warm, friendly personal style of hospitality. As we are just 40 m from the famous cliff paths and a 7 minute walk to the center of town. Stefan and Nikki Otto are looking forward to welcoming you to Penguino... come and breath our Champagne air! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing