We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Les Baleines
Nearby Hotels
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$114/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whale Coast Hotel(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Villa Blu(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
6 Stemmet Lodge(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour House Hotel(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Baleens(Hermanus)(Great Value!)
US$43
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
88
57
23
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
57
23
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnooker tablewhale watching triphonesty barwet roomspeed dialguest housean exceptionally high standardshown roundtaxi companyno obligationlounge breakfast roomtaxi into townhouse phonegarden routeresidential areaburgundy restaurantsheer luxury
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

We spent one night in Les Baleines this week as part of our honeymoon. It became a hub for us to do Whale Watching & Shark Diving.

Leaving Capetown on Thursday I read some of the most recent reviews on this place and I was a little apprehensive of what to expect when we arrived.

I needn't have been worried though as what we got was a lovely homely feel country style boutique guest house with absolute stunning views and an exceptional room. (See pictures).

We were greeted by the lady in reception. I can see why people are frustrated with having to be buzzed in but for me I liked the added security.

The lady in reception who's name I cannot remember advised she had booked us Whale watching and dinner at the Burgundy restaurant down at the harbour. We canceled the whale watching as we were booked on our own tour at 3pm.

While it might be a little frustrating them booking both of these without us asking, I can see why small businesses needed to do this to increase their revenue (I'm guessing they receive referral fees.

As I say a lovely little spot for us to stay not too far from town. We didn't get to experience the breakfast as we had to leave at 5am the following morning for our shark diving tour.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

This guest house felt very impersonal. We arrived after a 4 hour drive to be greeted by a locked gate. After ringing the bell 3 times we were eventually spoken to by a lady over the intercom and the gate lock remotely released. We then had to wait for her to come snd unlock the front door before we could get in to the building. Not a great start as it was pouring with rain. Not much of a welcome.
It was then explained that a dinner booking had been made for us at a local restaurant for that evening and a whale boat trip booked for us for the following day neither of which we had requested and we were told that if we wanted to cancel them we would have to phone and cancel them ourselves within half an hour which seemed a bit much.
However we then realised that this is because with the exception of arrival and breakfast times the building is unmanned.
The hotel itself has a strange assortment of art currios personal belongings and furniture that gives it a very cluttered old fashioned appearance, and because it is largely unmanned an erie atmosphere which made us feel quite uncomfortable, as though we were trespassing into someones home.
We stayed in the Blue Whale Suite which is on the ground floor directly off the large communal room that serves as a lounge/bar/breakfast room. The bed room is poorly soundproofed so we felt we had no privacy and could clearly hear any conversation taking place on the other side of the door, and presumably anyone in the main room could hear ours. The proximity of the bedroom to the bar also meant that on our second night we were kept awake by a group of fellow guests who were loudly enjoying the honesty bar completely unaware that we were there listening everything that they were saying.
I am sure that Les Balienes will appeal to some travellers but although we usually appreciate quirky it wasn't for us.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We stayed in this hotel for two nights on our honeymoon. The house is lovely and the girls who run the house are very helpful and friendly. We stayed in the Blue whale suite which is on the ground floor. This was nicely decorated room however it is just off the dining room so it didnt feel very private, luckily it wasnt too busy in the morning but we could still hear clinking of spoons in bowls, not ideal on your honeymoon. I also found the room to feel quite damp with damp visible on the roof and it felt quite cold, we needed the air conditioning on. The bathroom and bath were great though, I think we had like three baths in the two days we were there!!

Breakfast was lovely, no shortage of food :) Very quite in the evenings though with no one around and it is quite far out of town. I know some people got taxis but we drove in and out of Hermanus.

The wifi was very poor and kept coming and going all the time, we couldnt get it in our room which was very frustrating. It was raining for the two days we spent in Hermanus and all boat tours were cancelled, with no internet it wasnt much fun!

Overall it was nice but I dont think I would stay there again, maybe in another room.

Room Tip: Dont stay in the room downstairs
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Máire Shóna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

A great place to stay. Mountain views from the front door, coastal views from every room in the large house. We were very welcomed by the lady of the house and her staff, we were booked into Burgundy Restaurant for when we arrived, which was a lovely place, although Les Baleines out of town, a cab was only £5 each way. The large house consisted of under floor heating in the bathroom, binoculars in most rooms, a library, very comfy bedroom, breakfast was great as was the room we ate it in, over looking the sea, out door swimming pool, a very comfy place to stay, great attention to detail for everything you could need. We saw 6 Whales on our 5 mile coastal walk.
We would come back.

Room Tip: Upper floors are good for sea views from library
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShazzerO1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Property - modern building in suburban area - 3 stars
Location - 10 minutes drive or 1 hour walk to town centre with very little, other than houses, in between - 1 star
Public rooms - 2 - lounge/breakfast room at ground level with ¾ size snooker table ( with very small balls) and a seating area overlooking a small pool and sea views; a library at 1st floor with comfortable seating area with sea views - 3 stars
Bedroom - nicely appointed with comfortable bed and quality bedding - 4 stars
Breakfast - weird - table preset with muesli, ¼ banana, yoghurt and a muffin. Cooked choice limited to basics. Butter, jam and cheese is mini catering packs - 1 star
Staff - even more weird - not at all visible other than check in or breakfast. Otherwise can only be contacted via the house phone. No other presence. - 1 star
Bar - honesty - no service - 2 stars
Wifi - almost non existent - very very slow - 1 star

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GriffoHorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews