We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Les Baleines
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Hermanus
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baleens(Hermanus)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
86
57
23
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
57
23
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnooker tablewhale watching triphonesty barblue whalewet roomspeed dialguest housemonkey rooman exceptionally high standardtaxi companyno obligationlounge breakfast roomtaxi into townhouse phoneamazing showergarden routeb b
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Sadly we were only there one night, great place in a great setting. The room was very good, spotlessly clean with all the facilities you require, lounges and dining room were stunning and well set out. Nearby Hermanus offered good restaurant's and shops as well as small galleries to explore. Breakfast was fantastic with food served by friendly and helpful staff. Very peaceful setting and my wife used the pool. Overall we had a great stay and I would not hesitate in recommending anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We spent 2 nights here and it was sheer luxury!! The room was beautiful with an enormous bathroom and was spotlessly clean .The communal areas were comfortable and very tastefully decorated and welcoming .The outside pool was lovely.
Breakfast was delicious and the owner came in each morning to say 'Hello' and to see if she could help in any way.
It was a short walk to the lovely Grotto Beach. If you don't have a car its quite a way from the village ... but worth taking a taxi!!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 828victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

Stayed as a couple, 4 nights at Les Baleines after a busy time in cosmopolitan Cape Town and wineland Franshhoek. What a contrast. This place is a very stylish and high quality, peaceful retreat. It's on the fringes of Hermanus and at night you can hear the ocean pounding the endless beach. Our room was exceptional. Lots of thoughtful decoration all put together very well. The huge patio doors opening onto the sun/pool deck was nice for us and the room above ours also had a spacious veranda. I'd recommend this hotel to couples. The owners and staff are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. I particularly liked the honesty-bar where you could help yourself and then square the bill later. The main communal area has loads of space and a great seating area for relaxing with a cold drink and maybe a classic game of snooker too. Loved this place.

Room Tip: Ask for the Blue Whale Suite
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimEdinburghNewTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

The house was a bit "old style" for us. It is a great place though to disconnect. It has very unique common areas to sit and relax. It is quite far from the village but has a nice pool with views to the ocean. The service was great!

Stayed: October 2016
Thank CristinaBM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

There is absolutely no fault to find in this establishment,rooms are excellent with large en-suites,comfortable beds and air con.The food at breakfast superb with great staff,views from the patio pool and the library magnificent,sit back and view the sea and stern watch at night.
Special thank you to our host who went more than the extra mile to make our stay brilliant.This is the best B/B we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Views from the front bedrooms look over the sea.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chazzer124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews