We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Headlands House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$84/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Candlewood Lodge(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brenton On The Rocks Guesthouse(Brenton-on-Sea)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Knysna River Club(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$75
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
US$124
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Knysna Manor House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$53
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayside Inn(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$48
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Overmeer Guest House(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$62
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Teniqua Treetops(Sedgefield)
US$88
US$85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
134
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful gardenstorms rivera wonderful staybraaiwildernesshostwaterfront
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Actualy stayed there for eight nights in March 2012 - so a bit late with the review - sorry.

Mine hosts David & Marion went beyond helpful in providing a really wonderful place to stay with great facilities - almost better than home - and entertained us with just the right level of friendliness.

Incredibly helpful in planning a three night excursion to Ado Elephant reserve, and also our trip back to Cape town via Oudtshoorn, advising things to see and helping us to find places to stay.

Cannot wait to rake up enough money to go back again.

Room Tip: we had a look around all the accomodation on offer and would recommend it all
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom2another
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Our family stayed at Armadillo Studios in September. This is an excellent place to stay in Knysna. Clean, well equipped apartments. Lovely garden, which contributes to the relaxing atmosphere. Caters for family, couples or individuals. Centrally situated in Knysna. Friendly hosts, Marion and David, who goes the extra mile to make you feel comfortable and at home. We will definately stay at Armadillo again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammadillo, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thanks a million for your super review - it made our day! We so enjoyed meeting you all - especially your sons, who are perfect gentlemen & restored our faith in the youth of today! We very much hope to welcome you back as true 'Armadillo Amigos' one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

we stayed 3 nights in the studio 2 and had an excellent stay and a beautiful view into the garden.
David and Marion are very nice and helpful , perfect hosts .
we enjoy every minute with them and say, thanks a lot for the hospitality.
we can't await to come again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norbert1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammadillo, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

What a wonderful review - thank you so much! We're so pleased that you liked the Armadillo & we certainly enjoyed getting to know you & having some really interesting conversations. We look forward to welcoming you both back to Knysna in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at Armadillo Studios for just 2 nights this April. The house is purpose built with the studios being set beneath the main house, within the privacy and quiet of the gardens.Our studio was large and comfortable with sofa, a fully equipped kitchenette and separate shower room and toilet. There was free wifi connection and all of the studios overlook the beautifully kept gardens and pool. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious and set us up perfectly for the day! Unfortunately the weather was quite cool during our visit and there was quite an obvious smell of damp in the studio with condensation on the windows in the morning. This certainly did not detract from a wonderful stay though and we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank okeydokeIOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
armadillostudios, Owner at Armadillo Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Thanks you so much for your great review, we really appreciate it. So sorry if the condensation on the windows was a nuisance but, unfortunately, the nights were unseasonably cold during your stay! When the warmth of the room combines with the cold of the glass, condensation just happens & there's not much we can do about it. We don't have this problem at all during the warmer months!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed two nights at the Armadillo Studios in December 2012, and received a warm welcome from our hosts Marion and David. Our studio overlooked a beautiful, interestingly-planted garden which allowed each studio privacy. The sparkling, clean pool was inviting. The studio was comfortable and spacious with an African flavour. It was clean and had good facilities and wifi connection.

Hearty breakfasts and helpful, friendly hosts contributed to this being a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mohud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews