We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveller rating
239
57
5
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
57
5
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ostrich steak highgate ostrich farm personal charm jack russell delicious homemade warm welcome our room was spotlessly clean one night off the beaten track home from home guest house car wash distant mountains attention to detail south african hospitality course meal nice swimming pool
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 308 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We were greeted by a sign on the door telling us which room we were in - the owner was playing golf at the time. The room was OK but not quite what I was expecting. The professional photos make the hotel look much better than what's there in reality. And the pool is absolutely tiny. The sun loungers looked a little worse for wear and it did not look like an inviting place to lounge around. Overall, I think Thylitshia Villa is a bit over-rated on Tripadvisor.

The hosts were very friendly and accommodating hough.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Touring from Cape Town, along the Garden Route then upto JoBurg with a couple of stops on the way. This stop was just what we wanted, quite secluded but central from lots. Ideal place to relax or make a few outings to local attractions (we went to Highgate Ostrich Farm just down the road and Buffelsdrift Game Lodge). If you want central accommodation or a quiet getaway, this place is perfect. The owner and staff go out of their way to satisfy and are keen to pass on their local knowledge. To put it in a couple of words; clean, friendly, warm, comfortable, with a 'very' in front of all those. Great stopover and we can highly recommend it for any occasion.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Honeymoon suite, lovely nice
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank garyhawkins2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lolliesv, Owner at Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear Guests.
Many thanks for the great review!
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Your compliments motivate us to go the extra mile!
We appreciate your support and look forward seeing you again!
Kind Regards
Lollies & Elriza Janse van Rensburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

If you want to be greeted by flower petals on your bed, this is the place for you. Proprietor Llolis rolls out the red carpet and then some for guests at this cozy inn. Rooms have wifi and air conditioning, which is quite welcome in this part of the world. We even had our car washed overnight without asking. Llolis is a font of local knowledge and the property is within easy reach of many area attractions. We joined them one night for dinner, which was well worth it.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank MCPetrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

We didn't stay at Thylitshia but we joined our friends who were staying there, and loved it, for a superb dinner and drinks. Lollies is an amazingly friendly and welcoming host and the food was wonderful, homely and traditional but definitely of restaurant quality. Special mention must go to Lollies wife, who sadly we didn't get to thank personally, for her excellent cooking. I must admit that when I'm told that I'm going to be served soup as a starter it doesn't generally excite me but the butternut squash soup, an old family recipe, was flavour packed and seasoned to perfection and would not have been out of place in a michelin starred restaurant. After the excellent dinner, which also included Lollies wonderfully cooked ostrich fillet we enjoyed drinks with some of the other guests on the lovely veranda and at the end of the evening Lollies dropped us back to our guest house 5km away and wouldn't accept any payment. So this, Lollies, is my thanks to you and your family for a really special evening and next time you won't be needing to drive us anywhere as we'll be in one of your rooms.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrit J, Owner at Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Dear Guests.
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and compliments! Your special appreciation for our efforts motivate us, to go the extra mile.
In you we really have met 2 special people, with a zest for life. You have enriched our lives.
We appreciate your kind support and look forward to seeing you again! Have a wonderful trip further, and enjoy the rest of 2016.
Many Thanks,
Kind Regards
Lollies & Elriza Janse van Rensburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

Great location with fabulous views. Made to feel very welcome. Family run so very homely. Accommodation was immaculate and wonderful decor in the room. Look forward to returning :) should have had booked more time!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrit J, Owner at Thylitshia Villa Country Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Dear Guests.
Many thanks for the great review.
We appreciate your support and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
We look forward seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Lollies & Elriza Janse van Rensburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews