We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Thabile Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thabile Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2016

We found this place from the Information Centre in Oudtshoorn. What a find this was. A great welcome from the owner with a drink in our hands within minutes of arriving. The accommodation is in purpose built units in the grounds with amazing views of the nearby mountains. Each unit is a double unit with its own sitting area. Very fast Internet WIFI connection was available in and around the main Building. A full size pool and a gym with sauna is also near the main building. The best was to come with an exceptional evening three course meal. Len, the owner also recommended and booked us into another great place near Addo for our last two nights. An excellent stay and we will certainly go back.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BopLindfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2016

This was our second stay at Thabile lodge and we once again stayed for 3 days. If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place for you; however, if you are looking for comfortable, clean, unique accomodations, friendly staff, and fun times with Len, then we would definitely recommend Thabile Lodge. As it is a bit of a drive to town, it is so nice that they offer dinner. The Ostrich was delicious as were the appetizers and dessert. It is very good value for your money. Thank you Len, Ma, Vilhelm and Henny.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed in Thabile Lodge for one night but wish we'd booked for longer. Such a warm welcome from Len, ma and Vilhelm. The food was amazing, views by the pool were stunning and the room was perfect. The 4 dogs were so friendly and added to the homely atmosphere that this places oozes. A true haven full of smiles! Hope to return!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Aimee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

Within seconds of us arriving Len and Ma made us feel at home. We stayed for two nights and throughly enjoyed the Thabile lodge hospitality. Dinner is a communal affair, where all the guests eat together and as Len says, drink grappe until you all speak the same language! The ostrich fillet is not to be missed. Basil is the new kid of the dog team and loves a good cuddle so be prepared to give him plenty of love!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Hk218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Except for the fact its a rather more classy and sassy little establishment (and therefore the last thing you would therefore expect given where it is) Thabile Lodge was a home from home for me, made so by Len's helpfulness and wicked sense of humour together with his team's good spirits.

The food was exceptional and dinner was the highlight of the stay; breakfast was delicious too. Rooms are comfortable and well thought out - for example, bug spray was easily at hand (foreign guests note - this is the African bush, so do expect to encounter things that fly and crawl around without assuming its the hotel's fault!).

The solitude of the place, its views, the stars at night and location make for the perfect place if touring around the area beyond just Oudtshoorn (make sure you drive the Swartberg Pass!).

One of the best guest houses I have stayed at anywhere. OK, its not exactly Huka Lodge luxury, but that's not the experience one wants here - and given the relative value for money, authentic feel and blending into the environment its in together with a genuine commitment to giving one a quality stay its perfect for what it sets out to achieve. My family was a bizarre grouping of different types from a 6 year old girl to two pensioners, my fastidious sister and laid back me - but we all enjoyed our stay and felt equally at home given our differing expectations and needs.

Room Tip: Thoughtfully designed so all rooms have unobstructed views over the hills - but those in the front r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank markw0rldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
19.4 km away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
536 reviews
20.1 km away
Riverside Guest Lodge
Riverside Guest Lodge
#1 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
367 reviews
14.9 km away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#4 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.1 km away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
987 reviews
15.7 km away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#10 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
193 reviews
2 km away
Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thabile Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thabile Lodge

Address: Thabile Lodge | Vergelegen Road, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: S$161 - S$170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thabile Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thabile Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing