We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
La Plume(Oudtshoorn)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hlangana Lodge(Oudtshoorn)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Earthbound B&B(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$49
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$54/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$60/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Turnberry Boutique Hotel(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queens Hotel(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$72/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

El Dorado Private Collection(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Miles B&B Guest House(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$48
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveller rating
442
35
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
442
35
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsostrich steakbobotieother gueststwo nightsswartberg passswartberg mountainsmoment you arrivethe main housegravel roadbreakfast and dinnerwarm welcomegreat place to staylovely poolcango cavesroad tripstayed longerfantastic stay
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 478 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2016

This was our second stay at Thabile lodge and we once again stayed for 3 days. If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place for you; however, if you are looking for comfortable, clean, unique accomodations, friendly staff, and fun times with Len, then we would definitely recommend Thabile Lodge. As it is a bit of a drive to town, it is so nice that they offer dinner. The Ostrich was delicious as were the appetizers and dessert. It is very good value for your money. Thank you Len, Ma, Vilhelm and Henny.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed in Thabile Lodge for one night but wish we'd booked for longer. Such a warm welcome from Len, ma and Vilhelm. The food was amazing, views by the pool were stunning and the room was perfect. The 4 dogs were so friendly and added to the homely atmosphere that this places oozes. A true haven full of smiles! Hope to return!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Aimee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

Within seconds of us arriving Len and Ma made us feel at home. We stayed for two nights and throughly enjoyed the Thabile lodge hospitality. Dinner is a communal affair, where all the guests eat together and as Len says, drink grappe until you all speak the same language! The ostrich fillet is not to be missed. Basil is the new kid of the dog team and loves a good cuddle so be prepared to give him plenty of love!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Hk218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Except for the fact its a rather more classy and sassy little establishment (and therefore the last thing you would therefore expect given where it is) Thabile Lodge was a home from home for me, made so by Len's helpfulness and wicked sense of humour together with his team's good spirits.

The food was exceptional and dinner was the highlight of the stay; breakfast was delicious too. Rooms are comfortable and well thought out - for example, bug spray was easily at hand (foreign guests note - this is the African bush, so do expect to encounter things that fly and crawl around without assuming its the hotel's fault!).

The solitude of the place, its views, the stars at night and location make for the perfect place if touring around the area beyond just Oudtshoorn (make sure you drive the Swartberg Pass!).

One of the best guest houses I have stayed at anywhere. OK, its not exactly Huka Lodge luxury, but that's not the experience one wants here - and given the relative value for money, authentic feel and blending into the environment its in together with a genuine commitment to giving one a quality stay its perfect for what it sets out to achieve. My family was a bizarre grouping of different types from a 6 year old girl to two pensioners, my fastidious sister and laid back me - but we all enjoyed our stay and felt equally at home given our differing expectations and needs.

Room Tip: Thoughtfully designed so all rooms have unobstructed views over the hills - but those in the front row probably have the nicest views.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank markw0rldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2015

The whole experience of our visit was fantastic. The rooms were clean and set out brilliantly. We met Len and thoroughly enjoyed his company. Great sense of humour. All the staff were so lovely and friendly. The food was of the highest quality. Congratulations Len and hope we can meet again and enjoy your great establishment.
Ian &Janice Phipps (uk)

Room Tip: Any chalet is good
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ianpNorthShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews