We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not our favorite wine tasting venue”
Review of Ernie Els Wines

Ernie Els Wines
Ranked #29 of 154 things to do in Stellenbosch
Attraction details
Reviewed 17 March 2018

We toured and tasted at several wineries in Stellenbosch, Franschhoeck, and Paarl. Ernie Els was our least favorite. Not because of the views, which were stunning, but because the service was underwhelming and the wines we tasted were not to our liking. At the other wineries, we were warmly greeted by staff, and had detailed descriptions of the wines, sometimes served with small snacks. Here, the server seemed rushed and descriptions were rote and brief, and he was difficult to find to get additional wines to taste. A disappointment overall.

Thank Susan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErnieElsWines, Manager at Ernie Els Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Susan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.

We were disappointed to learn of the shortcomings you experienced, as this is really not the normal guest service that we deliver.Our sincere apologies for all the disappointments of your visits.

Especially that you did not receive a warm welcome as we are known for our staff welcoming guest at the door with a nice glass of white wine. The feedback provided will definitely helps us to know were we need to improve and we will therefore use this information to improve our shortcomings.

We trust that you would perhaps visit us in the future again so that we can show you the full experience at the winery.

Kindest Regards
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"trophy room"
in 33 reviews
"putting green"
in 4 reviews
"cheese platter"
in 14 reviews
"complimentary glass of wine"
in 3 reviews
"chipping area"
in 2 reviews
"golf swing"
in 2 reviews
"impressive entrance"
in 2 reviews
"easy drinking"
in 4 reviews
"burger"
in 13 reviews
"stunning views"
in 8 reviews
"welcome drink"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful environment"
in 2 reviews
"winery experience"
in 2 reviews
"worth a stop"
in 2 reviews
"lunch menu"
in 2 reviews
"surrounding mountains"
in 3 reviews
"wedges"
in 2 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

This is a beautiful vineyard and from the moment we arrived there was a sense of high standard and quality.

We were warmly welcomed by staff who were knowledgeable, professional and attentive, without being intrusive.

If you can, request an outside table. The views are stunning and if you like golf, there's a chipping area for you to have a play with.

Wine was lovely and although we arrived too late for the lunch menu, we did enjoy a platter which was delicious and plenty for the two of us.

Only disappointment was that we drove and couldn't enjoy more of the wine!

Thank cegreen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErnieElsWines, Manager at Ernie Els Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Good Day,

Thank you for vising Ernie Els Wines.

We appreciate your positive feedback about our winery. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can.

Looking forward to your next visit at the winery and would love for you to join us for lunch as well on this next visit.

Kindest Regards
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Fresh out of a few days in Cape Town, this was the first winery we visited, selected as my partner is a former, now knee restricted, golfer.. While it is possibly no more attractive than neighbouring wineries, it did not disappoint at all. Arriving at a latish lunch hour, we quickly found a terrace table with great views back towards Cape Town. We were promptly served with a tasty cheese board accompanied by our wine choice, and prices were remarkable moderate. There was no sense of paying extra for the cachet of being at an international sports star's property. There were several guests trying - and failing - in the chip the ball into a single hole challenge down from the terrace in order to win a free bottle. My partner failed me too!! There was also no pressure to move on- so a good opportunity to relax and enjoy the view as well as people watch.

An excellent experience only just to the east of Stellenbosch. Very much worth trying.

Thank Elton_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErnieElsWines, Manager at Ernie Els Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit at our winery

We're very pleased to hear that you enjoy your experience at Ernie Els Wines.

Looking forward to your next visit and perhaps you might just get that hole in one.

Kindest Regards
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Nice wine tasting with good service and decor. In one of the best settings in the valley with a great view.

Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2018

We enjoyed the comfortable tasting room, since it was chilly we sat inside on the sofa. The view is spectacular. The wine was delicious, friendly informative service.
our purchases were well packed and easy to travel with.

Thank hermosamary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ernie Els Wines also viewed

 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Ernie Els Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing