We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Wine Estate”
Review of Ernie Els Wines

Ernie Els Wines
Ranked #30 of 158 things to do in Stellenbosch
Attraction details
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

The Impressive entrance and delightful welcome drink, were a great start to this fabulous establishment. We enjoyed the tour to the wine cellar and obviously the spectacular views. Tom took excellent care of us and was very knowledgeable with regards to the wine. Will definitely be back to enjoy the estate and have lunch!

Thank Kimmysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErnieElsWines, Manager at Ernie Els Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Good Day,

Thank you for visiting Ernie Els Wines and taking the time to write a review regarding your experience.

It's special to hear that you enjoyed your visit at the winery. We will make sure that we pass on the compliment to Tom as well.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kindest Regards
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"trophy room"
in 33 reviews
"putting green"
in 4 reviews
"cheese platter"
in 14 reviews
"complimentary glass of wine"
in 3 reviews
"chipping area"
in 2 reviews
"golf swing"
in 2 reviews
"impressive entrance"
in 2 reviews
"burger"
in 13 reviews
"easy drinking"
in 4 reviews
"stunning views"
in 8 reviews
"welcome drink"
in 3 reviews
"amazing setting"
in 3 reviews
"winery experience"
in 2 reviews
"lunch menu"
in 2 reviews
"worth a stop"
in 2 reviews
"surrounding mountains"
in 3 reviews
"favorite wine"
in 3 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2018

Drawn to Ernie Els wines because of our admiration for Els as a great golfer and great professional in that field. The wines were not spectacular, nor was the fellow who gave the background for each tasting, but the setting and the place itself make time spent there very enjoyable and worth it. And nice touch with the chipping tee onto a mini green.

Thank lgf2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErnieElsWines, Manager at Ernie Els Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Good Day,

Hope you are well.

Thank you for visiting our winery and taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your visits.

It's good to know that you enjoyed the view and chipping element, that this made your visit enjoyable.

Kindest Regards
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Ernie Els Winery has breathtaking views on the porch. The wine is an ok but worth a stop because of the property!

Thank MonikaBaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErnieElsWines, Manager at Ernie Els Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Monika,

Thank you for visiting Ernie Els Wines.

We appreciate your positive feedback regarding your visit at the winery.

Hope you will visit again in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

We toured and tasted at several wineries in Stellenbosch, Franschhoeck, and Paarl. Ernie Els was our least favorite. Not because of the views, which were stunning, but because the service was underwhelming and the wines we tasted were not to our liking. At the other wineries, we were warmly greeted by staff, and had detailed descriptions of the wines, sometimes served with small snacks. Here, the server seemed rushed and descriptions were rote and brief, and he was difficult to find to get additional wines to taste. A disappointment overall.

Thank Susan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErnieElsWines, Manager at Ernie Els Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear Susan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.

We were disappointed to learn of the shortcomings you experienced, as this is really not the normal guest service that we deliver.Our sincere apologies for all the disappointments of your visits.

Especially that you did not receive a warm welcome as we are known for our staff welcoming guest at the door with a nice glass of white wine. The feedback provided will definitely helps us to know were we need to improve and we will therefore use this information to improve our shortcomings.

We trust that you would perhaps visit us in the future again so that we can show you the full experience at the winery.

Kindest Regards
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

This is a beautiful vineyard and from the moment we arrived there was a sense of high standard and quality.

We were warmly welcomed by staff who were knowledgeable, professional and attentive, without being intrusive.

If you can, request an outside table. The views are stunning and if you like golf, there's a chipping area for you to have a play with.

Wine was lovely and although we arrived too late for the lunch menu, we did enjoy a platter which was delicious and plenty for the two of us.

Only disappointment was that we drove and couldn't enjoy more of the wine!

Thank cegreen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErnieElsWines, Manager at Ernie Els Wines, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Good Day,

Thank you for vising Ernie Els Wines.

We appreciate your positive feedback about our winery. We do take pride in catering to our guests’ needs the best way we can.

Looking forward to your next visit at the winery and would love for you to join us for lunch as well on this next visit.

Kindest Regards
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ernie Els Wines also viewed

 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Ernie Els Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing