We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay a while”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alluvia Wine Estate
Ranked #102 of 115 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 April 2012

All the self contained unist are arranged so that you have privacy, even the one we stayed in near the office. We had a small verandah overlooking a water feature (that was drained for a fair part of our stay). The driving range was a hit with my huband... I just enjoyed a glass of the Allivia wine while watching him before a spin on the lake. The scenery really was incredible.

The staff were lovely but ineffectual. We had constant problems with wifi & TV reception which were never addressed & the chimney needed cleaning - when we lit a fire the whole apartment filled with smoke! Still, we enjoyed our stay & would go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blackie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

We spent two nights at Alluvia in the Tukulu lodge which has an absolutely stunning outlook onto the mountains and vineyards. We also took the opportunity to book the 'Little Pink Chef' to cook a lovely meal for us in the lodge, which was a great suggestion from Alluvia. Excellent option for a short break and really handy for Stellenbosch and the winelands.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GHDownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed at Alluvia Boutique Hotel for 1 night for a recent visit to the winelands. Our stay at the establishment was a bit two-sided. We checked in at reception to be told that our room wasn’t ready yet – although we confirmed it prior the previous day. So we went to do wine tasting at the tasting room and waited for our room to be ready. The receptionist came and told us our room is ready and threw the keys on the table. We found this a bit peculiar.

Arrived at our room to find that they were still busy cleaning it. So we waited until they finished.
The room itself is very nice, and we were quite surprised but the room as it wasn’t what we expected. We had Oakleaf 2 and loved our view and also the stoep area. All the amenities were there, with complimentary wine and sherry and nougat. Nice touches throughout the whole room. We did however have a problem with the towels and robes which had marks on them, although they were washed. Also the duvet and pillow cases had marks on them, and the edges of the covers were starting to frizzle and wasn’t nice.

The breakfast picknick basket was not good at all. It only had store bought muesli, yoghurt, some apple, a old muffin and old croissant in. They really can make this better, and it won't even cost them anything more. Not good at all.

The hotel is very central and beautifully located in the Helshoogte pass, and the room is nice, but the other things made it a bit unpleasant.

Room Tip: Get Oakleaf no.2 - beautifully located
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mitxcoac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

What a superb visit we had - privacy is on top of the priority list and we rested like a King and his Queen! Beautiful setting with panoramic views - thank you to you all! We will be back..... oh and the wines were delish!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiezelDelport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed at Alluvia for one night in Feb 2012...we were greeted by two very friendly staff, Louise and Liezel. We arrived in a blistering 40 degree Stellies and weren't prepared for our stay there. They immediately offered us cold beer and showed us our room. We stayed in the Oakleaf No2 room with a lovely (clean) pool right in front. We got in the pool immediately and enjoyed the wine we got in the room. The views from the room and pool are absolutely breathtaking.

I also had a little "mishap" with my car the next day, and the two ladies organized their friends to come from town to help. In no time my car was fixed and ready to go...we quickly stopped for a wine tasting and bought some lovely wine to take home - what a treat !

Overall we had an amazing time at Alluvia and would recommend anyone else to go there.

Room Tip: Oakleaf No.2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roelof_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
15.8 km away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,981 reviews
0.4 km away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#2 of 115 in Stellenbosch
262 reviews
1.3 km away
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
#2 of 56 in Stellenbosch
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Lumley's Place
Lumley's Place
#1 of 1 in Pniel
88 reviews
12.1 km away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
917 reviews
7.2 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alluvia Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alluvia Wine Estate

Address: Glen Arum Road | Helshoogte Pass, Stellenbosch 8000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: $110 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alluvia Wine Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a working wine estate in the heart of the Stellenbosch Winelands, lies a unique cult wine producer called Alluvia Specialist Winery.Alluvia’s award winning wine estate and its luxury accommodation provides a match made in heaven, which we simply describe as “the vineyard lifestyle”. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alluvia Wine Estate Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing