We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blossoms to Billows to Breathtaking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kelapa Mas Homestay
Ranked #7 of 18 Candidasa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 May 2015

Pristine white sheets, fancied with a blue terry cloth towel roll adorned with a beautiful tropical flower dressed the large bed in the cottage duplex of Kelapa Mas. The expansive room, ample closet space, dresser with drawers and large mirror make for a comfortable stay. Stepping outside of your cozy room becomes your own comfortable portico with chairs, small table, reclining divan, and drying rack. A choice to stay at Kelapa Mas would not be for the so-called amenities, though they include a restaurant on site, wireless internet, air conditioned rooms upon request, and non-satellite television. A reason for being at this memorable hermitage is to gaze out of the the lovely french wooden doors at one of the most beautiful encompassing gardens imaginable, with banana trees, tropical flowers, an azure sky and the most amazing birdseye view of a cerulean Bali Sea. Breathtaking is an understatement. When you stroll down the walkway a half a minute or so, there lies the "ocean blue" as overwhelming as the sapphire-shades of the Mediterranean . The shore line is on a higher cemented but sandy embankment with relaxing beach chairs and umbrellas where you can be served from the restaurant's kitchen for cooling drinks through the day, or wonderful meals from breakfast through a late dinner. The snack bar on the beach makes mealtime very convenient. The hot continental breakfast has a menu from which everyone has a choice. I recommend the Black Rice Pudding, but you must order the day before. If an 'imperative' demands a swimming pool, you will not get one here. If you must have the confines of a swimming pool you can go to one of the hotels down the street, buy lunch and swim in their pool. On the other hand, what you have available to you are boatmen who will take you way out on the beautiful blue colors of the sea with waves and wonders to "Ooh and Ahhh." Make an engagement to go snorkeling or just savor an unforgettable moment. Kelapa Mas rests right in the small borough of Candidasa. A main thoroughfare runs through the town with copious traffic of motor scooters, cars, and trucks. Street taxis are readily available, though the hotel can provide a driver or make transportation suggestions, which may be more reliable. There are Balinese 'masseuse' and 'masseurs' that work at the hotel and will provide a most amazing massage right on the beach or your veranda for convenience. If you are looking to "count the stars" of your accommodation, you may be able to find a state-of-the-art resort somewhere in the area. For me this was the perfect place with all of its affordable shopping, nominal to high-end eateries, post office nearby and a 'convenience store' right across the street. Without a doubt, what I loved most about Kelapa Mas was the gentle kindness of the staff and the graciousness of the owners. The culture inside and outside of the hotel is awe-inspiring with the spiritual ceremonies, serene temples, and yes...the monkeys near the larger temple a few miles away. I look forward to rearranging my future travel plans simply because Bali was much more than I ever dreamed of, and yes.... Kelapa Mas will be my home stay.

Room Tip: Since they are in the process of remodeling, be sure to tell them you want air conditioning if you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 57Ta_Seti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2014

The homestay is centrally located, close to restaurants and shops and stretches from the main road to the beach. I heard no road noise while I was there. I walked in off the street and was shown two rooms - the cheaper one was fan cooled so I rejected it in favour of the more expensive airconditioned room. This room had plenty of hot water but the facilities were basic. It is the only place I stayed in Bali where they refused to give me soap and sent me to the shop across the road to buy it. I paid 500,000 IDR for the room which is at the top of the "budget" category so I expected a bit better. There is really no beach to speak of in Candi Dasa but it is close to White Sand Beach and Padang Bai by car. I used the homestay as a starting point, not a destination, so was satisfied on balance.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2014

The more expensive cottages nearer the seaside are the ones to go for. Very traditionally furnished and built - the verandas are spacious with comfortable outside furniture to sit ,relax and admire the stunningly lush verdure. Even the rather elaborate shrine, centrepiece of the garden, is photogenic. You can have breakfast served to you by friendly staff at the seafront cafe or on your terrace. The swimming is negligible really, except for high tide - but generally I found the shorelines around these picturesque coasts in need of regular clean ups due to the garbage strewn about. Perhaps the local Banjars can instigate this. Kelapamas is well located with good connections for day trips and snorkelling and apart from the now too noisy motorbike traffic blighting this once peaceful hamlet, is a much preferable place to chill out here than the southern resorts. Come here for a classic Balinese seaside holiday that retains some of the charms and pleasures of a more elegant and bygone era. Just put in earplugs when walking on the main road.

Room Tip: Choose cottages by the shore
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archangelosSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

If you can resign yourself to spending as much time outside as possible then you are fortunate as these grounds are stunning. By S.E Asia standards the room is average though I find it difficult to psych up to take a shower in purely cold water. (The only other time I do this is when I have found out too late that the pilot light on my hot water tank went out the night before when taking my morning shower! ; ) The staff are accommodating and friendly and we were treated to a dinner performance by children learning to do a traditional Balinese dance. When we saw the genuine article later done by adults we were impressed at how well these youngsters did. Everyone we knew got out into the community for massage and manicures/pedicures. Good value!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Codiak!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for 1 nights, and the rooms and garden are superb. Very nice looking cottages, very green and big garden with trees and plants everywhere.
But the hotel has no pool!
Breakfast was average, not bad, but not wow.
Room was big, clean, but basic. Airco worked well. Bathroom was ok, but shower and toilet in the same place which makes that the toilet gets wet when you use the shower.
Good value for the money we paid (400000 for 1 night).

Room Tip: No swimming pool, nice garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
2.2 km away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
860 reviews
1.6 km away
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa
0.9 km away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
#4 of 20 in Candidasa
355 reviews
0.2 km away
Amarta Beach Cottages
Amarta Beach Cottages
#13 of 20 in Candidasa
160 reviews
0.6 km away
Arco Iris Resort
Arco Iris Resort
#5 of 18 in Candidasa
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelapa Mas Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelapa Mas Homestay

Address: Candidasa, Karangasem, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Candidasa
Price Range: $35 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Kelapa Mas Homestay Hotel Candidasa
Kelapa Mas Homestay Bali/Candidasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing