We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor, expensive and low service”
Review of Divan Hotel

Divan Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Divan Hotel
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Antakya
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Hotel is situated in the center - this is the only one advantage. And breakfasts are quite nice, but everyday the same

And all the worse things there:
service do not speak in English at all
no maps, leaflets, brochures or basic information of the city
room, which I got was dirty,
whole in the doors just taped
air condition did not worked, after the short repair started
dryer did not work, had to asked for new one
TV only in Turkish or Arabic language
balcony totally dirty, cannot even sit on the chairs there

Do not advice for anyone. Better to pay little bit more and go to Antakya Buyuk Hotel.

Room Tip: Hotel does not have access for wheelchairs or anyone who have problems with walking - stairs only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Papudrakus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2015

If you like a hotel where you can speak to the staff, or at least one of the staff members, and you do not speak Turkish or Arabic, don't come here. No one speaks English well, or German for that matter.

But that aside, the location is good, close to the market/bazaar and the pedestrian mall with all the neat shops and bars and cafes (I liked Asia Terrace and The Corner especially).

Our AC worked well, the TV was OK but only had two channels in English (both news). The room lacked electrical plugs. The wi-fi worked well though. Our room was nice and in good repair, with comfortable beds and pillows.

The breakfast buffet was mediocre. The only coffee available was instant coffee, which for most people from North America or Europe is not even considered real coffee. My traveling companion and I stayed at this hotel for a week and after three mornings stopped even going for breakfast, preferring to pay for something better.

However, if you are on a budget and don't need real coffee in the morning, this place is affordable, clean, and has a good location.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Xphilosopherking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2014

On the main street about 300meters from the main bazaar area and bridge over the Orontes. Large comfortable room with balcony overlooking the street life including a taxi station. So not entirely quiet.

Excellent breakfast spread, and friendly staff - I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mco6215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I reviewed this as MsL of Tlell last winter when it was closed. The Turkish response below from the owner says that they have reopened in November. I have no idea what has changed, but it could be good! Someone stay and review it!

To be clear: I have not stayed there but the owner replied in Turkish and I am translating because it is no longer closed.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MsL_of_Tlell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

This hotel is currently not open, which is a shame. I have no other details, nor did we find another nice cheap place.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MsL_of_Tlell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bentahir, Owner at Divan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011
Google Translation

selamlar çok haklısınız otel uzun bir süre restorasyon görüyordu ve bu sebepten kapalı idi sizlerden özür diliyor ve bir dahaki konaklamada sizi ağırlamaktan memnuniyet duyarız saygılar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antakya hotels
7.8 km away
Ottoman Palace Antakya
Ottoman Palace Antakya
#1 of 21 in Antakya
425 reviews
2.6 km away
The Liwan Boutique Hotel
1.7 km away
Savon Hotel
Savon Hotel
#2 of 21 in Antakya
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Jasmin Konak
Jasmin Konak
#3 of 21 in Antakya
50 reviews
1.5 km away
Anemon Antakya Hotel
Anemon Antakya Hotel
#18 of 21 in Antakya
66 reviews
0.0 km away
Antik Beyazit Hotel
Antik Beyazit Hotel
#14 of 21 in Antakya
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divan Hotel

Address: Istiklal Cad. No:56 | Antakya Center, Antakya, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Hatay Province > Antakya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Antakya
Price Range: $76 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Divan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofa at the center of the upper-class boutique hotel with the comfort of the hotel of Antakya is proud to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Divan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing