We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
17
13
8
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
13
8
6
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Spent 4 days of the Buenos Aires leg of our Argentine tour at Los Patios de Montserrat. It was a good find as the location is practically dead center and close to everything but the good news was the rooms and even the open outdoor patios were quiet. The outside of the building is very non-descript but the hidden interior looks a bit like something you might find in Morocco – large and open.
My folks met us and they took a room with private bathroom but we opted to save a bit and go for one with the shared bathroom. Our room was large with high ceilings and the beds were comfortable. The separate shower areas for men and women were clean and never busy and the breakfast salon was large and beautiful.
The owners are super pleasant and full of helpful tips. If we ever find ourselves back again (and I hope we do ) we will certainly be back at Los Patios.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are super quiet and have a patio
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LoriPalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Mosquitos bit my friend and I ALL night, including on both of my eyelids! The room was barely furnished, there wasn't even a mirror in the room. Then when it rained we had to use an umbrella and run to the outside bathrooms. Also you have to buzz the manager every time you go in and out. A few of the suites looked nice, but our room had nothing more but 2 beds, and some thin inadequate blanket. I would NOT every stay here again in my life! Anticipate at least 15 dollars more from the base fare after taxes and credit card fees! Staff is very nice. Owner speaks English and is helpful.

Room Tip: See your room first
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PenguinMoon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PatiosMontserrat, Manager at Los Patios de Montserrat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2011

Thanks for your review. Sorry to learn about your friend, our daily cleaning regime at Los Patios includes anti-insect fumigation. Our photos clearly REPRESENT the quality of the rooms – but you are referring to photos of our Suite and Standard Queen rooms and: not the Budget Twin you chose.
Budget Twin has two extra sized comfy beds, a desk, shelves, heating, a fan and though it was hot the night you stayed, if anyone needs, we always have plenty of extra blankets and duvets free for the asking.
The on line reservation website you chose lists before making the reservation the room rate as well as a clear notice to customers about the tax rate.
Lastly, there's absolutely no need to buzz the office to go out of the building. We hope you change your mind and next time reserve the room you really wanted. The staff who attended you await your return with open arms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

I stayed two times in 2010, in May and December 2010 at this really marvelous bed and breakfast. It is a beautiful restored building with inside a great touch of art. Each room, and I slept in five of them has its own charm. The whole building is feeling open and airy and the rooms are comfortable. And if you have a problem somewhere or with something, it will be solved immediately. It at the centre of Buenos Aires.
But the best of the Bed and Breakfast are the owners, Brenda and Graham. They are great persons, they are friendly, they now the best places to go and they now the best places to eat. And nothing seems a problem for them.
Will we come back, yes! I recommend everybody this place but..........stay away from it if you like air conditioned rooms which seems everywhere in the world the same.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JurgenandLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

I really liked this little place which became our home base for two weeks in Buenos Aires. The hosts were exceptionally gracious and helpful. The location was conveniently central to most of the places and sites in the city we wanted to visit. The price was super affordable and included a really lovely continental breakfast … with tables along floor length windows which open to balconies above the street in a textile district. It was a charming start to every day.
The rooms were spacious and very clean. The wines available from their room service were very good and incredibly inexpensive.
I particularly enjoyed the open air courtyard patios. We visited during the hottest part of Summer so they were particularly appreciated in the evenings as a place to relax while we waited for our rooms to cool off from the heat of the day.
The young couple who own and operate this bed and breakfast are the biggest asset of all however. They are always working on making physical improvements in the place and yet their hospitality could hardly be improved. When we were robbed by pickpockets on our way to San Telmo they spent a lot of time helping us navigate through contacting credit card companies and contacting friends to wire us money. We will always be grateful to them for going beyond the call of duty.
There is still room for improvement in the hotel’s physical details as of this writing. There is no air conditioning, some rooms have no armoire or closet, some have no windows. While the beds were very comfortable the pillows were very flat. Neither of the rooms we stayed in had a table, desk or chair. Also be aware there is a surcharge here for using your credit card so if you want to save money plan to pay for your room in cash. None of these things would keep me from returning however, because it was overall a comfortable and enjoyable home during our trip to Argentina.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seattlesleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

Our first encounter with Argentinian hospitality came through Graham and Brenda. They did a marvelous job with this rerto building creating a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. The high cielings, the hip colours and the cozy corners make it modern yet classic. Very clean,absolutelly quiet, and beutiful in its simplicity made our stay a lovely experience!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Demian8376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews