We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Infinito Hotel(Buenos Aires)(Great Value!)
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$325
US$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dazzler Recoleta(Buenos Aires)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bulnes Eco Suites(Buenos Aires)
US$150
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$189
US$154
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Argenta Tower Hotel and Suites(Buenos Aires)(Great Value!)
US$82
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$169
US$161
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$879
US$535
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
232
36
11
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
36
11
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsambassador suitefrette linenslarge marble bathroomboutique hotelrooftop poolseparate toiletrecoleta neighborhoodspecial hoteldinner reservationslighting systemcomplimentary winesmall hotelsdvd playerfour seasonsdouble sinksprior to our arrivalnespresso machine
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2016

With the exception of the breakfast service (more on that later) we loved our stay in the elegant Algodon. Let me say from the outset that if you enjoy a grandiose lobby, gorgeous public spaces and a generally lively lobby/bar scene, you will not be happy here, and you should look elsewhere. At the Algodon, the entry way and small lobby area are somewhat underwhelming, but that first impression will be replaced by absolute delight the minute you see your room.

We were upgraded to an Ambassador Suite, since the hotel was not full. These are larger than what we had booked - the Imperiale Suite - and differ in that they are just one enormous room, rather than two somewhat separated areas for sleeping and sitting. The website shows clearly the differences between these rooms. If the Ambassador Suite seems like a splurge, I think it is a reasonable strategy to book the cheaper room, hope for the upgrade (since upgrading when available seems to be a policy of theirs), but if you don't get it you will still be very happy in that elegant 600 sq.ft. room.

The bathroom is also quite spacious with fixtures that are about as luxe as it gets. Both the tub and separate shower are truly stunning, and the spa tub contains 4 different colored light settings if you want to enhance the atmosphere for your soak. I've never run into that feature in a tub before!

The only area that needs improvement is the included breakfast, and at this price point, the flaws are surprising, given the attention to detail reflected in everything else the hotel provides. For each of the 3 days of our stay there we experienced serious issues, mostly stemming from understaffing, as there seemed to be only one person responsible for all aspects of providing the breakfast. So if that person is filling a room service order, then you can end up waiting at least 10 minutes before you are acknowledged, and if any other complication arises you could wait up to 30 minutes before anyone even pops their head in (which is what happened on our last day). If more than one table arrives at the same time, this slows things down as well. On the positive side, each breakfast is made to order, and very good once you get it, but the overall experience needs some tweaking in order to preserve the otherwise 5-star atmosphere conveyed by everything else at the mansion. I would have tempered my criticism if I had been able to help myself to coffee or tea while waiting; it would take a lot of pressure off the staff if you could at least make your own,and maybe even pour your own juice. But there is no drink station whatsoever, so you really are at the mercy of that lone person, so be forewarned if you are someone who needs your morning caffeine right away. True, there is a Nespresso in your room, but rather stingily only one pod per day is included; you are charged for more than that.

The hotel in general is very quiet, and you will not be bothered by street noise or noise from other guests, since there are only 3 rooms per floor and they are well-separated from each other. You're in the heart of Recoleta and great shopping and eating is all within easy walking distance. We loved the location.

This hotel is a stunning addition to the hotel scene in BsAs: exclusive, intimate, and luxurious. We would absolutely return (but hope they improve upon the breakfast service before our next visit!).

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zorro_and_Gatinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hernan S, Gerente at Algodon Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear Zorro and Gatinha,

Thank you very much you took the time to convey your opinion to Us.

We are incredibly happy you have enjoyed staying at our house so much!

Regarding breakfast the issue was taken into consideration and we have taken the necessary steps to continuing our high quality service!

We are looking forward to seeing you again when you decide to visit our beautiful city next time!

Best regards.

Hernán Sosa
General Manager
Algodon Mansion Buenos Aires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

The Algodon Mansion is a cute and charming small hotel with caring service and helpful, professional staff.
We stayed five nights and our fourth level room was large, well equipped and very comfortable and quiet.
The hotel is conveniently located in the largely residential area of Recoleta. The area is with in easy walking distance of many excellent restaurants.
On some evenings dinner, with an uncomplicated menu is also served at the hotel.
We would certainly recommend this establishment to fellow travellers.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Garthri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hernan S, Gerente at Algodon Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear Garthri,

Thank you very much for leaving such a nice and sweet comment.

Our Mansion is prettier than ever and getting better and better.

Our 10 suites were specially designed to treat our guests with confort and to give them only one thing to think about: to enjoy.

We will love to have you back next time you decide to visit our amazing city!

Best regards.
General Manager
Algodon Mansion Buenos Aires

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Our suite is huge (#6) and the Italian-style marble bathroom is the biggest I have ever seen - you could fit a large family into the shower in one go! The decor is modern and tasteful and the room feels warm and cosy. We were welcomed with a complementary bottle of wine from the hotel's own estate! Check-in was absolutely smooth and Leonardo was at our complete disposal, giving us tips on what to see and how to move around the city. The service from all the staff is very friendly and personable. The hotel has a spa and a jacuzzi that can be used by guests as well as a roof-top swimming pool in summer months. The location is great and walking in the area is safe. We are located only 10-15 mins walk from the cemetery where Eva Perón is buried. I can highly recommend hotel - it is an absolute gem!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mariposa05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hernan S, General Manager at Algodon Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Hi mariposa05,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this amazing review and sharing your feedback on your experience at our Hotel! We too, believe that a truly five star experience hinges upon the staff’s unwavering commitment to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible! Hearing such a heartwarming review of our facilities and staff is extremely rewarding for the entire Algodon Team.

We are truly delighted to hear the great stay you had with us, and enjoyed your time in Buenos Aires! As the only Relais & Chateaux in Buenos Aires, we are dedicated to create amazing experiences and make every stay incredible.

We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Just returned from amongst other places a trip to Buenos Aires where we stayed at this cracking little place. We settled on the Algodon Mansion based on the reviews on TA, which were supplemented with further research using specialist South American brochures and were not disappointed.
We booked through a booking agency but immediately opened a line of communication with the hotel - as we wanted an airport pickup, taxi bookings for restaurants that we had already booked (must try 'Don Julio' in Palermo district for a delicious steak with the locals) and also some tickets to see Boca Juniors - many thanks indeed Leonardo for organising these!!
On arrival, after a very long direct flight from London, we were greeted with Leonardo's smiling face, a cup of tea, and a complimentary upgrade to their Ambassador Suite! - Fantastic and thankyou!
The room was big, with huge ceilings, massive king size bed (I don't remember having a bigger bed anywhere in the world!), sitting area (complete with complimentary bottle of wine from their own wine estate in Mendoza) and big Italian marble bathroom with the biggest Steam Jacuzzi shower I have ever seen - certainly big enough for two and probably a few more!
The hotel only has 12 suites and so is definitely in the boutique category and this helps the whole team at the Algodon give superb, personalised, very friendly but also professional service. Thanks indeed to all the members of staff who made our stay so enjoyable, from the Boca fan in the bar to the lady who gave us the recommendation for a local restaurant that was truly delicious and right up there with some of the best Michelin starred food that you can eat (for those taking notes - the restaurant was called 'La Pecora Nera' and was only 2 blocks away and was simply the best Italian meal that I've ever eaten, anywhere.)
We sampled the food in the Algodon, all very lovely....very small menu...but that gives you an excuse to get out in the local restaurants anyway, but did especially like the Charcuterie/Cheese board, with of course, a glass/bottle of their own wine which was delicious!
Breakfast was fab as well, with items cooked to order (eggs benedict etc.) together with all the usual suspects, beautifully presented a la carte style, and when you thought you couldn't get any more in, little jars of Dulche de Leche, just because you hadn't already had enough calories!
All in all, I must say that we thought that everything about the Algodon was perfect, right through from the staff, service and quality of the food and drink to the location and style of the hotel and I would certainly say that this is the place to go to in BA.

Room Tip: We would certainly recommend their Ambassador Suite, although from what we saw, I believe all the rooms would be Great!
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WolvesDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hernan S, General Manager at Algodon Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Hi WolvesDave,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this amazing review and sharing your feedback on your experience at our Hotel! We too, believe that a truly five star experience hinges upon the staff’s unwavering commitment to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible! Hearing such a heartwarming review of our facilities and staff is extremely rewarding for the entire Algodon Team.

We are truly delighted to hear the great stay you had with us, and enjoyed your time in Buenos Aires! As the only Relais & Chateaux in Buenos Aires, we are dedicated to create amazing experiences and make every stay incredible.

We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Totally remodelled old family mansion in the Recoleta district. We had room #7 which a good size sitting area, huge bedroom and a gigantic bathroom with a bath and shower. All of the fixtures are new and modern and tasteful. The decor is very tasteful while providing a cozy and warm feeling.......and you are initially greeted to a bottle of Malbec from the Algodon Winery. The staff is very helpful, speak excellent English and will assist you with what ever you need 24/7. There resturant sellections were excellent and they were able to book us seatings on very short notice. The location in prime and walking in the area is very safe with lots to see, shop and eat. It is without hesitation that highly recommend Algodon Mansion

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Msbrandin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hernan S, General Manager at Algodon Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Hi Msbrandin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this amazing review and sharing your feedback on your experience at our Hotel! We too, believe that a truly five star experience hinges upon the staff’s unwavering commitment to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible! Hearing such a heartwarming review of our facilities and staff is extremely rewarding for the entire Algodon Team.

We are truly delighted to hear the great stay you had with us, and enjoyed your time in Buenos Aires! As the only Relais & Chateaux in Buenos Aires, we are dedicated to create amazing experiences and make every stay incredible.

We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews