We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & great people!”
Review of Play Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Play Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Play Hostel was perfect for my first week in Argentina, the location is amazing(close to bars, restaurants, museums, and beautiful parks!). The hostel is laid back with cheap beer for sale and bars close by, you can go out to party if you choose or head to sleep early if you want! I have already suggested this hostel to a number of other travelers!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kayla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro B, Gerente at Play Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Thank you very much for your comments , we are grateful for choosing us for your stay in Buenos Aires.
Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2017

At first, I was suppose to stay in Playhostel for a week, but since I was working in Bueno aires, I decided to extend my stay in this hostel for more than a month. Mainly because the appartements in this area weren't affordable and also because I felt at home there!

1) Well located;
2) Price is pretty cheap if you look at the prices in the area;
3) Really clean and well maintained;
4) Rooms are well designed with electric blugs and a individual mural light for each bed.
5) The beds and pillows are really confortables for hostel's norms.
6) The kitchen is big and furnished. I really enjoyed the commun areas, they are large, illuminated with either high ceillings or no ceilling (spanish architecture) and decorated without overdoing it like some hostels tend to do.
7) Alvaro and Pablo (the two managers of the place) are accommodating and work really hard to make this hostel a beautiful, secured and confortable place to stay.

The only down sides:
1) The showers can somethings be cold (about 1 out of 4 times)
2) The rules could be a little restrictives and conservatives, again, in terms of hostel's norms.

Room Tip: If you are looking for the cheapiest room: the 10 bedroom dorm is bigger, more ventilated, and more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro B, Gerente at Play Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Thank you very much for your comments , we are grateful for choosing us for your stay in Buenos Aires.
We have repaired the problem with showers and our rules are to guarantee that every guest sleeps at night!

Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017

Based on the good reviews and ratings i booked a private room with bathroom included for 3 nights. To start with the shower did not work as the cold tap was broken and without it it was very hard to take a shower.

I was given a room just next to the entrance and to the small patio downstairs where some people gather at night to talk and drink and in the morning before they start the day. As the walls/doors are very thin this means that I had to wake up with the first early birds (around 7a.m.) and stay awake until the last people decided to leave the patio (usually post 1a.m.). This was made even worse by the fact that the reception itself would play loud music until very late at night.

On one instance (which i had to wake up early the following day and could not sleep with the noise) i asked the girl in the reception if there was any other room and when she told me there was not if she could turn the music down and ask the people to move to the common area upstairs or somewhere else. Her answer was that they could not go upstairs because the neighbors would complain with the noise (I would have very much appreciated the same concern for me) and so that she would just ask the people to do less noise (but not to move). As it is normal with large groups this had no effect and so the music + a lot of noise stayed well into the night...

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dgvs2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro B, Gerente at Play Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Dear guest, thanks for taking time to rate us, all reviews are appreciated to improve our service.

I´m sorry if you had a bad experience during your stay at Play Hostel, we work every day to give our guest the best value for money and more.

Regarding your complaint, this might happen when a group is large, to avoid this type of problems our rules regarding noises are more strict now.

We appologize again and hope you give us a chance to show you the improvements.

Thank you very much and I will appriciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

A relaxed enviremont with nice staff and great travellers. It is not the cleanest hostel i stayed in, but it is worth the stay. The bathroom facilities are not enough, especially when the hostel is full. The kitchen is good and well equiped. The beds are comfy. And i just loved the paintings on the walls of the hostel. I would definitely recommend this hostel because of the location, the vibe and the great staff!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank Sabiha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro B, Gerente at Play Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Dear guest, thanks for taking time to rate us, all reviews are appreciated to improve our service.

We appologize for the inconvinient and hope you give us a chance to show you the improvements.

Thank you very much and I will appriciate your feedback.

Hope to see you soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

During my South America journey Play Hostel was my first hostel. I'll also remember as one of the best out of 20 more hostels I stayed last 1 1/2 months. Staff are very friendly, supportive and generous. It's close to best night life you can get in BA. Certainly I'll stay again

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank Eric e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvaro B, Gerente at Play Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Thank you very much for your comments , we are grateful for choosing us for your stay in Buenos Aires.
Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Art Factory Palermo
Art Factory Palermo
#11 of 471 in Buenos Aires
375 reviews
Palermo
Caravan BA | Hostel Boutique
Caravan BA | Hostel Boutique
#1 of 471 in Buenos Aires
94 reviews
Palermo
Eco Pampa Hostel
Eco Pampa Hostel
#45 of 471 in Buenos Aires
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#6 of 471 in Buenos Aires
729 reviews
Palermo
Meridiano Hostel
Meridiano Hostel
#35 of 471 in Buenos Aires
220 reviews
Montserrat
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
Milhouse Hostel Avenue
#4 of 471 in Buenos Aires
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Play Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Play Hostel

Address: Calle Guatemala 4636 | Palermo Soho, Buenos Aires C1425BUL, Argentina
Region: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 471 Speciality Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $18 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Play Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Play hostel is at the core of palermo soho, the fastest growing area in the city, and the coolest! Our house is a typical 19th-century buenos aires building, popularly known as "casa chorizo". The house was recycled but keeping its historical value, and we have rooms for two, four and six guests with private and shared bathrooms. The breakfast room and living room were specially designed for reading, listening to music, watching videos, and more! There is an open-air colonial patio to enjoy a cool morning, and a totally furnished kitchen to make you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Play Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing