We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
17
55
63
28
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
55
63
28
16
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Alkazar for three nights. The hotel is in a great location, one block from Plaza 25 de Mayo and the pedestrian streets of downtown San Juan. Lots of shops and restaurants in the area. The building, in general, is very nice. The lobby is spacious and clean. Check-in and out was a breeze. Breakfast (included in the rate) was good, with croissants, toasts, ham and cheese, fruits, cereal, coffee, tea and juices. We saw scrambled eggs only one day. The rest of the hotel is dated and needs updating. Carpets are old and musty. Elevators (two) are old and slow and some buttons seem to be inoperative. The third floor has a large conference room which seemed to closed. So was the restaurant in the third floor. In summary, it is a clean 3 star hotel, in a great location and in line with the rate. With some investment, it could be 5 star. Parking is not included (we paid 150 pesos per night, about 8 dollars) and is in the basement. There is no ramp to drive down so cars are lowered and lifted in an elevator by hotel staff, equivalent to valet parking).

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank CanadaTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2015 via mobile

We went with a big group (about 38 rooms). Most of us saw roaches within the 1st few minutes of entering the room. Imagine the amount of roaches they must have!!!
Some of my co-workers tried the food at the restaurant and told me it was pretty bad.
My room also smelled like cat-pee.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
Thank Gabriel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2014

We stayed in two different rooms. The hotel needs urgent investment to refurbish its rooms. No wifi access in the rooms, except in corridors? And the lobby.
Breakfast is poor and staff working there needs training regarding service and cleaning of tables.
Staff working in Reception was kind and friendly.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MarianaPuerta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Let me begin by stating I'm not unhappy with this hotel. It's an old fashioned hotel with a few modern conveniences added - flat screen tv and free wifi on every floor. AC works just about, luckily it wasn't the warmest season. King sized bed is a king sized bed, pillows seem clean and sponge rather than feather. Everything seems clean, but could do with a proper scrub. Especially the aging bathroom. Only one power outlet was accessible, and as I had a bulky converter it took a little playing with to make it work at all.

Overall the hotel is dated and old. It appears that management is gradually updating things, bathmat and hand towels are thread bare and shredding while the bath towels are relatively plush and new. Pool is good for a quick dunk after sun bathing but not large enough for exercise, and there is a gym - haven't looked yet. Internet/business center has been closed since I arrived yesterday afternoon.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Britrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is a average business hotel. We didn't take the 'standard room' (cheaper) but the executive, 5 floor on front of hotel. With a view over the town and mountain range. The room had a table and two good chairs so we both could sit instead of hanging on the bed.
It was hot, around 43 Celcius, so we needed the airco but it made a lot of noise. The window could open so it was possible to have so warm but fresh airo in the room. That have a small swimming pool but we didn't try that one.
Bathroom was standaard. Some reviewers mentioned smell but we did't have that problem.
We could park our two motorbikes in the subterranean garage for an extra fee. At least, they were parked safely.
Breakfast was mediocre, the breakfast room a dark and gloomy place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederique V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews